CUSTOMS STILL A GWAAN BAD

Look how much customs really a charge me fi one lil box way me send through post office dem too bbc wicked man this is what we need to talk about Jamaica is getting from bad to worse
Post it up fimi da and hide me id please dem need fi stop

9 thoughts on “CUSTOMS STILL A GWAAN BAD

1. Unno betta meck friends wid ppl who wuck a di post office. Dat is over $400 US in fees. I doubt anything in the box reach that value. Waste of money to ship parcels to Jamaica cause you end up paying too much. Even when I buy direct from China I don’t pay duties at this level, shyt, I have never even paid duty on anything I buy that comes through the government mail service, the only time I pay is when it is shipped through a courier service.

I feel your pain sender, best I can tell you is to ask to speak with the postmaster at that location to see if anything can be done. Back in the day when my relative worked at the post office they always had a postmaster who even lived on site, not sure how things work in these times, but I would think the position of postmaster still exists.

2. Good to say what was in the box for us to judge. A box of electronics and high end cellphones as opposed to a box of regular clothes

1. I was going to ask the same question. If electronics were in d box they r going to lick yuh fi 6. Three times I have send parcels, 1 with a jacket, 1 with cosmetics, bible ,& a photo album n d other time with bday party supplies. My family never got charge for the parcels. They went to the PO n pick up d packages & not even a dollar they didn’t pay.

3. @ Priti1, well you must full of luck cause bout 20yrs ago I got a parcel with two bikinis and a couple pieces of clothing and they were charging me fees for it. Is because someone I knew from I was a child who held it for me and I was able not to pay anything. I remember thinking it was pricey at the time too.

4. the other fees look ok(based on whatever you imported)but the gct is way off.the gct should be 16.5%-25% of the total of the other fees combined

5. In 2015 I I went to Jamaica a friend of mine gave me 3 cell phones and 1000 US to pay for it , me well feel happy inna me heart say me go get fi pocket the 1000 when me arrived at Montego Bay airport they charged me 20% of the phone value me end up paying them 700 and some change

1. Just a question. If you taking the phones with you, why would you declare them and pay for them? Couldn’t you have taken them as your personal phones?

6. @anon 11:10, maybe they searched the personal item or carry-on and they were still in the original box so it had to be declared. What excuse could you give for having four cell phones on you especially if three are still in their box. Even me with all my years of quick problem solving skills could not work myself out of that one on the spot. If the person gave the money to pay the duty then by right the phones should be kept in their original box and presented as they were delivered by the sender.

I took a phone for a cousin and they searched my tote and the co asked me about it I just quickly told him it was my separate work phone and it was to keep up with work. Many corporations give some employees a separate phone so it was a plausible excuse since it was not in a box.