CLARENDON SEH DEM PROUD A DAVINA

Mitchell Town, the normally quiet district in Clarendon, erupted in wild celebration Sunday night when their home-grown girl Davina Bennett placed third from a field of 92 contestants in this year’s Miss Universe pageant.

“There was a lot of pot cover beating. It was like when [Usain] Bolt win the 100-metre race and break a record!” Bennett’s aunt, Jennifer Chambers, told the Jamaica Observer yesterday.

Another aunt, Winsome Edwards, said, “It was a merrymaking last night. People were running up and down throwing water all over, can you imagine if she had won?”

Edwards, who was plucking a chicken in the family’s backyard, added that residents lined the streets while watching the pageant on their smartphones.

She said that residents were proud that the 21-year-old made the top three, being “a little girl from a small district like Mitchell Town that some people don’t even know where it is”.

According Social Development Commission data, Mitchell Town is home to just over 2,500 people.

“We were looking for number one, not number three, but we are still rejoicing, and we are waiting until she arrives because we will be having a big celebration,” Edwards said. “In everything Davina does she is a winner and will always be a winner.”

Another resident, Christopher Bryan, agreed. “She is a winner, and it doesn’t matter that she didn’t come first, she is a star same way,” he said.

Carol Stephens, who said she is the cousin of the beauty queen, was not too pleased with the outcome of the pageant, which saw Miss South Africa, 22-year-old Demi-Leigh Nel-Peters, being crowned Miss Universe, while first runner-up was Miss Colombia, Laura Gonzalez.

“Dem thief mi Davina, ennuh, and give it to South Africa, and mi vex and so,” she said while comforting her new-born granddaughter outside a shop near Bennett’s home.

Although Bennett exuded confidence during the pageant, Chambers, who was sporting shirt with her niece’s image, said “Davina was a shy person, and to see her on the world stage it was really good. I am really really proud of her.”

3 thoughts on “CLARENDON SEH DEM PROUD A DAVINA

1. So there were 92 contestants, and my girl come 3rd, then dat nuh good! Davina dat good!!! (singing Shabba’s song)

“Gal yu good, gal yu good, gal yu good.
    Gal yu good, gal yu good, gal yu good – oh!”
    Everyting yu do, mi say yu do dat good!”

Chocolate beauty, you did Jamaica well both locally and internationally, and I am damn proud of you!!!!!!!! Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!

2. “ Dem thief mi Davina ennuh,”
    One family member said,
    While another family member was deeply and proudly engaged in conversation with the press…WHILE PLUCKING A CHICKEN !!!

Wooouii I am weak! I just love love mi Caribbean home grown people !
    No no universe or high society cyan stop dem universe!
    Davina good job love, but take off dem high heels now and go in d back and pick some ackee!

I love how her family still proud of her but reminding the world where she’s born and come from .

What an absolutely gorgeous woman !
    She reminds me of a beautiful midnight’…with her eyes glowing like an unforgettable full moon.

Too bad she barely have “ followers “ like the enhanced women of social media… perhaps her hair is too strong of a reminder for those people and what they are really afraid of … their true self…bare

As a woman to another woman, I am not afraid to declare your beauty and surrender that glory you command when you walked unto that stage in your yellow dress and that bikini !

The heavens opened !

Loving you from Trinidad .