CAPLETON LAWYER SEH A ONLY STATEMENT DEM TEK NOTHING NEVA INVESTIGATE

ATTORNEY-AT-LAW Christopher Townsend, who is representing popular reggae artiste and reigning king of ‘fyah’ Capleton, is alleging that the rape charge laid against his client is a matter of extortion.

When the Jamaica Observer contacted Townsend yesterday, he said that the allegation was reported to the police, but investigators had no interest in hearing that defence.

“We made a report to the police and we have been in contact with the police that we are being extorted and I gather that what occured is that the young lady went and made a report also. We have heard several voice notes, there are several WhatsApp messages supporting our allegations of him being extorted. CISOCA (Centre for the Investigation of Sexual Offence and Child Abuse) didn’t seem to be interested in that at all though we have hard evidence contradicting what was complained of,” Townsend said.

Yesterday detectives attached to CISOCA arrested and charged Capleton, 51, with rape.

The artiste, whose real name is Clifton Bailey, allegedly raped a female hairdresser he hired to groom his hair.

According to the Corporate Communications Unit of the Jamaica Constabulary Force, on Saturday, April 28, around 11:20 am, Bailey hired a female hairdresser to groom his hair at a hotel in the New Kingston area.

The report further states that, while at the hotel, he forcibly had sexual intercouse with the woman.

The JCF communications unit added that the matter was reported to the police and an investigation launched, resulting in Capelton being charged after a question and answer interview was conducted in the presence of Townsend.

But Townsend has chided CISOCA for what he describes as an irresponsible way of conducting an investigation.

“Their inveatigation, we are saying, is not a fulsome investigation. All they did was take statements. Nobody investigated anything and we are now the victims of what seems to be an ill-conceived way of investigation and a backward way of approaching investigation by the police, in particular CISOCA,” Townsend said.

In the meantime, the attorney said he is awaiting his client’s first day in court, which he was promised would be tomorrow, to get the opportunity to apply for bail.

6 thoughts on “CAPLETON LAWYER SEH A ONLY STATEMENT DEM TEK NOTHING NEVA INVESTIGATE

1. I hope it’s not true, this man is 51 years old he should know better. Him bun fiah pan fake hair, battyman etc. Mi a bun fiah pon all RAPIST, my hopes is that the truth comes out in court. To the woman involved hold your head up high and pray your way though, God bless you.

1. My dear Opened eyes here’s wishing u a happy mother’s day. While I will go one step further to say I believe in the literal burning of Rapists/child Molesters…I’m cognizant that persons have been wrongfully accused out of pure spite n vindictiveness.

I do not hope he is innocent or guilty but rather the facts come out in court.Thus if we are awaiting the facts ,why would u hope the complainant lady hold her head up n pray her way through?? Unless of course u believe her story which is kool but u also can’t hope the accused rapist is not guilty AT THE SAME TIME by the same token enuh dear,you’re conflicted.

1. Women must stand together because the percentage of those who falsely bawl out rape is relatively small in comparison with those who are honest about it.

Why don’t you take that same position in the claims that big ass yanique has made towards Marlon Samuels? Why don’t you remain neutral until the facts are laid out in court once either side takes that action? I remained neutral until I realized miss fix a flat’s behaviour is generally inconsistent with that of a DV victim.

If Opened Eyes is conflicted, then what are you?! Imma keep it cute and cut.

2. Should Capleton be found guilty based on the evidence of facts presented,then he should burn in hell n melt.Should his accuser be lying n trying to extort him then she should get no less than 44years hard labour n rot in jail for such wickedness as falsely accusing a person of rape.

What you or I believe is neither here nor there cuz in the grand scheme of things,it’s what one can prove in Court.