PARENTING CRISIS IN JAMAICA

Dear Met,Metters and Peepers,

I think it’s full time we take our heads out the sand by recognizing the biggest crisis affecting Jamaica today. It’s not crime,high unemployment, inflation nor is it bleaching. Let’s look at the elephant in the our Jamaican home of fine china and figurines. I will give examples proving lack of proper Parenting is the#1 problem in Jamaica.

#1…I visited a popular Jamaican ghetto and chilling with drinks chatting up the barmaid. My back was turned but I did hear a very effeminate voice beg excuse and asking if you have cold Irish moss.Upon turning around there were 2 GUYS both kimbo ,one with hands on hip,the other with hands on bottom. I looked at the barmaid and the look in her eyes gave me the confidence to say “noooo we nuh sell it”
They pointed to Irish moss on the shelves and the barmaid countered “them nuh cold!”

Upon them leaving she told me they were cousins as their single mothers were sisters.About 10mins later this flaming raging shemale came in tapping his feet with arms folded in vextation.He demanded he be sold the hot Irish moss because they bought Ice!Met I was shocked to hear he was the brother of the girl voice guy prior.How does two women raise 3 young men 20s who all turned out gay in the heart of Jamaica’s top tier ghetto?Lack of a father figure and women without parenting skills that’s how!

#2 …I witnessed two brothers in a fight, luckily they were parted before the younger one chopped the older one with the cutlass. The mother comes on the scene and I would greatly appreciate if any of the bloggers can explain what manner of mother is this. The mother proceeded to trace,no one in particular but she was saying that the big son must go rise his gun for the little son.She expressed a preference that it’s better the little son dead because he “doesn’t have anything a live for nor can he mind her”.

#3….The little baby girl was no more than 3yo maybe 4.I stood smiling at the corner shop as she ran up to her mother and I thought what a angel. She opened her mouth and what came out made me instantly stop smiling.

“Daddy sey to tell yuh him nuh have no b@#$bo $#@cl $/#@aat $20000 ?

The mother smiled at me and picked up the little angel then she looked up the road 100yards and I saw she was looking at a man. She started to cuss badwords but the man fanned her off aggressively.

“You can hold mi baby?me a go up there fi the school fee from the duttyy bwoi”
What kind of behavior and type of messages is this for a baby girl to partake in?

So you see Met the lack of proper parenting skills impact all sections of our society. It leads to the self esteem issues that manifest itself in bleaching. It leads to the systematic thinking that breeds crime because we value those who can give us things with scant regards to how they are acquired. Morals are compromise be it through gay means or criminal means to keep our loved ones staying Gucci down to the socks!!

I weep for my country.

16 thoughts on “PARENTING CRISIS IN JAMAICA

1. Dont forget the parents beating their kids in public and cussing them. Also everybody watching a man beat his girlfriend and someone whisper “ah dat she fi get”. Sad but true

2. Senda wish I could shake your hand a tell you I concur with everything you said and then some sometimes mi just haffi shake mi head wid something’s mi hear an used to so back home

3. The next thing yuh know these kids are gonna grow up take a mic and mek a chune and become the biggest influence in your well parented children’s life yuh hear dat is because once they go to public school your influence is over.. it is whoever is the popular artist of the day plus whatever they can share pon di big broad phone weh even good parents a give them.

4. Very profound, growing up in poverty is not a crime but what some parents teach their children should be. I’ve heard stories of my mother walking barefoot to school but she didn’t let that stop her. She pursued her education and excelled, she put herself in a better position. My mother and her siblings grow up in poverty, gun men use to run in and out of their home. Seeing and hearing of murders was a common thing and none of my uncles turn gun man. They r not vulgar, nor aggressive u wouldn’t know that they came from the ghetto (1 of the worst parts of Jamaica). They found the Lord at an early age, God is Good. Sender u r so right

5. Is this news to ppl, that’s the core of all the problem, one a ladd lane kip tellin her son go look some pussy fi s…..my visiting family was appalled that a mother would tell her son to go do something like that, and we whether we live overseas as I said 5 years on a programm in FL, this whole heap a pickney a spring up like wild bush little girls body with this helluva bump some from incestual occurences is a MAJOR problem MOST OF them are waiting to pick our pocketbooks call it what oonu want all the scandal bag dem a tek wid dutty clothes, when the lady refuse to give up the phone she was looking in a gun barrel him say and gi mi the bag to, all blood suck out

6. MET THE HAMPTON BOARD MAN, BLAKE LOSE HIM JAB, JAB, MEMBA HIM DID A DEFEND THE PRINCIPAL WHEN SHE WAS TOLD TO GO ON LEAVE WELL HIM, GET THE FUSS LICK, AFTER APOLOGIZING TO THE MINISTER, HE DID SINTING WRANG WHEN U TEK STOCK THE PASTA WIFE DEH PON THE BOARD A SO DEM COME DUNG PON THE MINISTER, DEFENDING THE PASTA AND BRING DUNG THE SCHOOL REPITITION, CLIFF SAY ITS WAS ABOUT THEM FREN AND COMPANY, THE SCHOOL COME SECOND, AND SHE WHO BLOCK THE CAMERA CONTRACT END IN MARCH, U SEE HIM DEH TEK UP FI SHE, AND HIM FUSS GONE

7. Sender mi agreed with everything except the part bout the batty man, parents have no control over their children sexuality mi see people raise dem pickney and dem end up very successful but them still gay yuh can’t really change that. What parents in ja need to is teach their children not be greedy, envious, extreme jealous but instead love and respect one another ( as it relates to choices, opinions and way of life). Sometimes some of you guys comment and sometimes a lot of your responses displayed those very same negative qualities. I’m almost convinced that it’s a trait that a lot ja people have but don’t recognise it. Parents can raise their children right but we now live in a generation where children get influence quite easily so it’s not just parents, communities, teachers, peers and society on whole has a role to play. But it starts from home first.

1. Environment influences genes (nature and nurture). The head fag could have been genetically gay or groomed by rape/molestation, then he inturn conditioned the little brother and cousin. Carelessness is a catalyst.

2. Even some of the food cause hormone disruption, hair care products aimed at the black consumer carry a higher level of estrogenic chemicals, plastics and plastics getting hot in the heat release all sorts of chemicals, especially bagged and bottles water. One particular product that many poor and struggling ppl buy to feed their children cause it cheap is highly estrogenic. I not shocked by the greater numbers of gay and effeminate boys these days. Unfortunately, many poor ppl do not know these things they go off the ads and cheapness so the savings they get today come at a much greater price tomorrow.

8. Before it would puzzle me about how Jamaicans behaved in this way and then I went and did my own research. I realized that slavery had something to do with this and I know some will say that other ppl made it. Just imagine one day you told all the children in a city that they were now free. Age ranging from from 18 months to 11 years. You took care of them up to appoint and told them now they are responsible for food and shelter. You made them know only 5 percent of them could attend school. You also told them it was a crime for them to live with blood relatives. You only gave assistance when they killed each other but only responding to 10 percent of their social needs. You made it illegal for them to marry. You helped some and neglected the majority. These children grew up and became adults. How do you there grandchildren and great grands will behave?

9. A just ghetto living yah man she probably did raise di same way. A cause most a dem have mental prablems.

1. You are as right as rain.Dr.Umar Johnson says research has shown that in 95% of the cases of people who became gay,it stemmed from mental anguish brought on by traumatic experiences such as rape,molestation; abuse and abandonment.

No one was ever born gay.Nature vs nurture philosophy always at play and parenting is the key balance as to what PP saying.

1. People born gay, just like ppl born widdout womb, limbs, eyes, heart outside dem bodies, twelve fingers and twelve toes, tails, facial deformities, ppl born gay. Some kids you see the difference in dem from them a toddler. Nature make mistake every single day, nature is not perfect, but it aims for perfection.

One thing mi understand in this world is that the creative energy thrives on variety and difference, so all these things that seem like disabilities and mistakes to us may be the creative energy expressing itself in a different form. Everything has its value to the creator of it.

10. Excellent topic/observations Sender. But you must realize that poor parenting will result in poor socialization skills, hence high crime rate. Maybe we need to institute a one child policy in Jamaica, unless you can prove you can support more than one child. Runaway child birth is killing us, along with the absence of a strong father figure.