GET HORSE AN WAA SADDLE

Dear Met, Metters and Peepers,

Kindly allow me the privilege of your forum to address a matter that is getting out of hand especially in Jamaica. It all came to bear from a very simple experience I had recently and I end up saying no man we need as a people to nip this in the bud.

I was busy doing some yardwork and it wasn’t until the hunger lick me and start twist up mi tripe,that I had to stop and rushed go buy a box chicken food. Met the way I was hungry mi start walk and eat up the road. Around 5mins on my eating journey I saw ms.C struggling with two heavy bags and just like that my fate was sealed.I hailed her and she gave me a weary straining response,so being the gentleman I am, I offered to carry her bags.

Thus putting my hunger aside to do an act of kindness led to actually something negative. I had given her my box food to hold and Met the next thing I know I see Ms C a sniff sniffing and a smile. Within a split second she opened the lid
“Beg yuh piece a ur meat nuh” as she positioned her big finger for pick up of mi chicken breast.Obviously I was wrong for not saying no cuz I was silently staring at her thinking but this lady really can’t be serious. My hesitation was all she needed to dig in,she even took rice and peas too.

The point of it all is we live in a culture where many of you can relate to people taking your kindness for granted. WHY must we keep having the issue where you give people horse and them expect the saddle too. Met is like these people don’t have or use any conscience. People overseas will tell you how hard them sacrifice to pack a one or 2 barrels but we in Jamaica is like a ongle name brand we expecting. Yuh send skechers shoes but a red bottoms we want plus a matching suit too!

We can’t just a galang suh as a people because the worst thing you can be in life is ungrateful and not content to live within we means.Someone give you a helping hand then you ought to do the rest and stop looking and pressuring them to do more.Met the way me vex and hungry I had to buy a next box food so it literally cost me twice for being nice.The next time mi a guh do any act of kindness, mi a guh weigh the pros and cons. Ms.C if yuh reading this just know yuh nuh stand a next chance with me,memba mi tell yuh dat!

9 thoughts on “GET HORSE AN WAA SADDLE

1. I’VE DONE MANY ACTS OF KINDNESS AND NOTHING BUT NEGATIVITY HAS REACHED ME. NOW MY ACTS OF KINDNESS IS VERY LIMITED. PPL ARE VERY UNGRATEFUL. SENDER THAT WOMAN SHOULD OF NOT PUT HER HANDS IN YOUR FOOD. VERY DISRESPECTFUL. I KNOW THEY SAY AGE BEFORE BEAUTY BUT DAMN. WHAT HAPPEN TO HER MANNERS.

1. I am with you on that. I am always helping people and I always end up with the crappy end of the stick. Dem say sorry fi hungry dog, dem turn round bite yuh and that saying is very true. When you don’t want to help people now you hear how you this and that but they don’t remember when you helped them before and they turn around and be ungrateful or cause trouble for you or they simply don’t know what you have been through helping other people.

2. You too giving, Fren.
    From she start sniff you should of said “it can’t share”.

So a market things did inna de bag dem? Because that worst would mek she can’t open me plate. She too damn nuff fi a reach fi de most superior part a the meat! Me bex too, fi you :malu2

3. OMG I can relate to every part of this post. Next time don’t let anyone touch your food, keep doing your kindness some won’t be appreciative but it’s not for them.

4. Karma will repay you.. lol….me however, food in one hand….2 Heavy bag, I carry one and she carrying one. When I’m hungry, I’m different and I don’t even like people talking to me while I’m eating. I had a Philosophy professor and spittle used to collect in his mouth corner and fly out when he talked. Made me hyperaware.