DANCING FOR SHANGO

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68zJfDc_pGc
The young man in the red seems to have the spirit of Shango in him…watch..He is a very proud Orisha I hear…u see how him stand up!

0 thoughts on “DANCING FOR SHANGO

1. Okay Met, my cousin father was a pastor who also had a church, long story short one day as a boy he decided to stone his father church, when he went to bed he remained in bed for 40 days and 40 nights, until he himself became a bishop but my mum who now 60 yrs said that same cousin danced in fire yes fire move like snake speak in different languages you name it and if he knows your intentions while in his church he will talk it out and wet you up or beat u with a belt so my mum said she used to fraid of him, but she is confused as to how he got involved with Shango she is xonfused for i am the one who told her that he has a Shango staue and this man lives into a 6 storey house westmorland because he had helped many people, half of the house burnt out and the church was not touched money alot of money was burnt but not the church. Is Shango bad?

1. Mi jus a explain to someone in the other post..Mi not even sure how Jamaicans get into it because those orishas belong to the yoruba and they are nigerian……most jamaicans they are are of ghanian descent..Now in the yoruba religion their belief is that everyone is born with one of these orisha’s owning their heads..maybe his was shango a doe know…To say it is bad or good for me I don’t know enough about it I am still reading, watching the religion while being a christian…Christianity calls the practice occultic and most of the practices that being a part of the religion entails is against christianity where as worshipping a diety…some of these orishas are fed..the bible seh doe give food ..they use things for divination and the bible forbids it so if you are a christian u would not feel comfortable with that…

1. Not fed…most are given foods …There is a story I hear of a lady who left some bananas for one..I am not sure if it was for an orisha because dominicans use it too but dem mix it up..again..im not sure how they came into it because the slaves there were not from nigeria..i forgot the name of the african country they were from..anyhow the lady left the bananas…a little girl went n saw them..picked it up and ate them…dem seh she start roast with fever so bad no one knew how to bring it down or make her well…and the spirit went to the mother n told her to bring back the banana whey she tek up…that is how she got well

2. As I get older I have a deep interest in African mysticism and ancient religious practices. I feel that we cannot allow this part of our heritage to die out. I was never concerned or cared about it when I was younger, but I honestly thing it is important to keep alive.

3. But Met , what about involuntary possession, what was your experience like ehen they came to you,were you afraid, did you feel pressured, because some seek , but some are chosen, and this is a serious issue

4. Met Jamaicans got involved because remember slaves used to visit each other villages when there was some type of ceremony going on weddings, child naming ceremony, death and whatever else.Some clans had to go to other clans to find a partner..During the slave trade while most of the people from West Africa (Benin, Togo and southwestern Nigeria went to Cuba some ended up in Jamaica. When the slaves were unruly on the ships it doesn’t matter where they were from they dropped them off in Jamaica. So this is how we know of the orishas or in Haiti they call them the loas..During slavery slaves couldn’t practice their religion in the open so they chose the Catholic saints that had the same characteristics as the orishas..For example Santa Barbara was worshipped as Shango, St Anthony worshipped as Eleggua , St Peter as Ogun u get my point.

1. That a di dominican way oo and they did say it was done like that but I have seen the dominicans in action it is a whole different thing…The dominicans invoke the spirits and the spirit possesses the person..the medium tells whats going on etc..one orisha can be found in more than one saint but they are all mixed up and kept together…africa dont do it like that

1. They also do believe that a person is born with a certain saint. I have a friend who is a medium for that..I can go on and on about the dominicans……….dem say haiti love obeah and jamaica…they are first in line trust me…dem work obeah fi get man..fi fly..fi keep di man..fi calm di man..fi bring money..fi mek dem business boom……and dem may have all 3/4/5/6 saint one place…like shango a front…oggun round a back…ellegua ina di miggle …they love those three..they feed their spirits mostly with candy/cake/ hard expensive liquor…they give gifts of perfume…One day I saw a woman possess about 5 a dem saint in one shot she went from one saint to the next..people haffi run fi orange soda and gwaan wid a bag a tings..

1. When mi seh 5 saint mi mean 5..she started off with the divine child..that is elegua..she start act like a baby and ask fi sweetie den she ketch st peter …..dem do bad and good same place is like when u come in contact wid dem u really si seh di devil energy real…the medium voice changes to match the saint…some a dem use cards fi divination …some dont ..from di saint possess dem and mek dem drink all kinds a liquor they dont need to do anything to tell anyone about their life……….very scary

5. Not only that Met sometimes the loas that I have seen have eaten broken glass, chew it up swallow it and nothing happens to them.. They also have this drink called kleren that BRAV one of the loas drink it’s made from as much extremely hot peppers as possible cut up and soaked into the rum for as long as possible then the whole month of November is a celebration for the Gede’s or the dead in Haiti and when people are possessed they use that pepper rum and wash their eyes or the women when possessed use the rum and wash their pum pum an it doesn’t affect them after that spirit leaves them.. Met sometimes the female orishas possess the men and u see the men take on female characteristics .. Oshun the orisha loves to flirt with men and it doesn’t matter who she possesses she flirts. She loves expensive only pink champagne and expensive perfumes..

1. Its really different every where because in dominica is straight hard liquor for ever orisha who requests liquor

6. In Haiti Met to me the loas r more violent.. I have seen both and it’s different in the way they act.. The orishas Oshun, Yemoja or as the Cubans say Yemaya are milder to me when used in Santeria as opposed to how they act in Haitian voodoo.. I guess is how they are invoked and what they are invoked for.. Lenglensou is one of the Haitian loas who eats glass, razor blades anything that tear into the flesh..