JMG INTERVIEWS – Tata Nganga Sarabanda Saca Empeno Kota Lima Aka A Palo Priest

My intention here is to inform, educate, enlighten , bring awareness and try to drive out speculation.
You are what they call a Palo priest or Tata correct?
Yes I am Tata Nganga Sarabanda Saca Empeno Kota Lima.
What is Palo?
Palo started with Myombe, the word Myombe means the mysteries of the spirits. Palo basically people see it as a religion but it is more a way of life. It’s a tribal way of accepting the spirits/ the ancestors into your current life and allowing them to guide you while youre walking on the face of this earth. Then, when you die you become an ancestral spirit and guide the next generation.
Why do you think it is important for one to accept these spirits?
It is important to accept these spirits because, human beings can only see so far , we can only see so much while we are living because we are not bodies with souls we are souls trapped inside of bodies. Once we leave the trap that has us held back then we become souls we are mighty. We are elephants inside of little ants. When we become a soul we gain our foresight back we can see what’s coming, the spirits can see what’s coming and guide you in the correct way so you do not fail, so that you will always succeed . They can put you on the path that you want to be on.

Where is it from and what is it used for mainly today?
Palo nowadays is used mainly for bad. That is because the ancestral spirits do not care, they don’t have a concept of good or bad. Their concept of good or bad is whether they help the practitioner in all his everyday chores or not. So to them, if you ask them to help you destroy someone they will because in their comprehension, all they understand is if they helped you or not. If they helped you, that means they did good. They will not see that they destroyed someone else, someone else is someone else’s problem. It’s the other spirit’s problem to guide him or her in their life. Palo came originally from the Congo, from various different regions, no one really knows which region but in the Congo they call it Bola which means ancestral praise/ worship. It reminds me a lot of the movie The Avatar where the blue Avatar has a direct line of connection between them and the ancestors. That’s where it comes from , it comes from the heart of the Congo in Africa.

So, it is up to the practitioner to determine if they use the spirits to make the decision for their spirits to do good or bad?
Yes, it is definitely up to the practitioner; When you get initiated into Palo/ a rights of passage if you will; You swear to do good and you swear to do bad you swear to do both whenever necessary. If someone comes to me and they have a big black spot in their chest and the doctors don’t know how to get rid of it. I always send them to the doctors first, if the doctors don’t know how to get rid of it then it’s my turn. I could turn that around for them and make that black spot go away. Now here is the thing, that was a good thing now here is the thing, I could be living in a neighborhood with a known rapist but he is just too smart, the cops never catch up to him. I could turn around and break his leg so he could stop running. Now that was a bad thing; I hurt someone. But it all depends on the practitioner on how to use.

How did you get involved and how long have you been in it?
You get involved by communicating with the Palo priest or Tata. There are different levels of Tata, there a different levels of priesthood. As long as get you with one that is on the level of Tata, then you can get put on the road of getting involved. I have personally been born into the religion but I have only just recently become a Tata eight years ago. That is because sometimes your spirits don’t allow initiation sometimes from certain people. As I explained earlier, your spirits see further than you do you might think wow this Tata is great and he has all my best interest in mind but your spirits know better and can see further and they do not allow it. In that case you have to continue looking for a new Tata until your spirit actually agree with that one and that is when you can actually become a part of it.

If you had not become a Tata, what other religion would you have been in or religious way of life?
If I had not become a Tata, I would have been dead at the age of fifteen if I had been in any other religion.
Why would you have been dead?
In my lifetime, I have done a lot of things, made a lot of enemies. I have been a part of just about every religion under the sun and nothing ever calmed me down, nothing ever answered me. I prayed to a God He never answered me, I prayed to the devil he didn’t answer. I prayed to everyone, they did not answer. I found myself in the streets with guns in my pockets and I didn’t care who I was shooting that day and one day I found myself in a store with a revolver put to the back of my head. The person said I know you then pulled the trigger . The gun didn’t move, and for anyone who knows about revolvers knows that is purely impossible. That was one week after my initiation into Palo.

What do you use it to do?
I use Palo mainly to help people out, to do good but there are times where it is justified to do what I do. In my Munaso, which is my spiritual temple what I do and what I allow the people of my temple to do is to do good. Don’t get tired of doing good but if there is someone that needs to be dealt with , then they must be dealt with and that’s that. If I were to give it a percentage I would say 80-90% of my Ensada is for good things.
I know you cant get into too much details but what is the initiation like what does it feel like?
Initiation feels like someone’s running you over with a car and you die, then you come back to life and out of nowhere you have the strength of a thousand bulls.
What do you think is Palo’s place in the spiritual world?
I think Palo’s place in the spiritual world quite honestly I feel it is the forgotten father of all the spiritualities. Before all the spiritualities and before everyone started saying ‘’Im a Medium’’, four thousand years ago, there were gentlemen sitting in-front of an Enfumbe sitting in-front of an Nganga doing the same thing that we now do but give it another name. Four thousand years ago there were men telling people their fate before it happened. They weren’t called mediums and the world has forgotten about these men because they were from the Congo.
Do you have something against someone calling themselves a medium?
I don’t. I don’t have anything against anyone calling themselves a medium, it’s just that they have to understand what that implies. There is a larger scale of spirituality that they are not reaching, yet they are calling themselves mediums. Which,is claiming to be at the top of the largest scales of it. (the religion). There are different kinds of spiritually sensitive people; There are people that cannot see anything but they can feel everything, there are people who hear everything, there are people who see everything, there are people who can channel who actually can become possessed by the spirits. These are all different spectrums and the thing if you are one or the other is not necessarily true. At a certain point if one becomes initiated into Palo, you are all these things. You don’t have an option, you become a part of the living dead. You see smell hear everything the spirits are going through.

palo1

What is a palo pot and whats the significance?
The Nganga, ah Sarabanda. The Nganga is the connection of our world with the Unguru or Enfumbe. These entities are much too powerful for us to experience them, it is much too powerful so what we do is build an Enganga and assign an Enfumbe of deceased human beings. Because they were they are deceased they have the ability to reach the Efunguru they can be in their presence and comprehend them . Also because they were also human beings they they were also living creatures they can also relate to human beings. We need them, the Nganga as our mediator between the spirit world and ourselves as human beings.
What kind of spirits do you use and the one you are using where did it come from?
As a rule of thumb any Tata will tell you, the type of spirit you use doesn’t matter. As a Tata you are supposed to be able to use bad spirits for good things and good spirits for bad things. They all bend to your will, this is what they swore. The kind of spirit I use with my Nganga is Sarabanda. Sarabanda is in my opinion, the greatest thing that ever happened to me. It is an ancient spirit that wields the machete , it is very destructive but very fatherly and protective. Very fierce but very loving, very creative but very brutal. He has so many different facets , so many different characters so many different things you can do with him. Very few Paleros go to other Ngangas simply because if you have questions, he has the answers. If you have problems, he has the solutions.
Where did it come from?
My particular Nganga was built here in Miami where we used all the ancient traditions and ceremonies from the Congo.Sarabanda itself is an Enfumbe that came from the actual Congo. When the slave trade hit Cuba only two Enfungurus landed on the island. Ensaje and Barbanda , now the Ensaje for Cubans because Rayo and Barabanda became Sarabanda. These we now know as the father Nganga. The Sarabanda I have if you were to open it up you would find all the things in it that you would find in Barabanda in Congo Africa.

It is said that the spirit of the ancestors choose someone from a family to work them, how does that work and what is the purpose of that ?
Most people that don’t know too much about Palo think that a Bubla (ancestra altar) is needed to attend to your ancestors because in Palo, your direct ancestors your direct bloodline do not come from the Nganga. The more advanced priests will tell you differently. The Nganga embodies everything. You can go over to the Nganga and call your family member’s name and bang on the walking stick or raton as we call it three times and call your deceased family member and tell them you want to talk to them and the you pick up your Chamalungo and start asking questions. So yes, you can contact your ancestors , your direct bloodline through the Nganga. It just gets more complicated than what some people are used to. Its not like the Long Island medium that someone walks in and someone tells you what they are feeling.
Do these spirits sometimes choose a person from a family to work them or youre saying anyone can do it?
Yes anyone can do it, there is nothing in Palo that discounts anyone. Once you are chosen it doesn’t matter who you are you have the capacity to do it. Its just a matter of being chosen to be a part of the lifestyle. Also yes sometimes it is the family member that they call because this is what they relate to the most. When you are living so many things matter. Once you die all of the things that mattered doesn’t matter anymore. The only thing that matters is what or how. How can I help this family member, how can I get across to them. A lot of times they find themselves talking to a Tata trying to help the person in-front of him because that is their family member. That is their niece their nephew their grand daughther..

Does your spirit do everything you ask it to do?
Ah…Ngangas and Enfumbes are very touchy subjects you see. The Nganga does as its owner says but not always. Sometimes the Nganga is doing his own thing and at that particular time, the practitioner cannot work with the Nganga because the Enfumbe is not home. Then you have to call him home for you to start working. For the most part yes, they do what you say because that is what you agreed upon when you initiated.
Say for instance , someone consults a Palero , requesting they use their spirit to do something bad to an innocent person, what happens?
At that point, there are two different kinds of people, two different kinds of Palo priests, it’s a very common problem. Most Palo priests I would say are for hire, someone comes to them in that scenario saying ‘’I want you to mess someone up’’. They are not even going to think about it twice, they are going to use their Nganga to go ahead and mess that person up. Then there is the other kind of Palo priest like myself and the ones that top me, like my Padrino and his Padrino , what we do is what the Nganga says we should do. No matter how much money you throw in my face, if the Nganga says no we shouldn’t do this then we don’t. This goes back to sometimes the Nganga doesn’t do what you say, sometimes, they have something to tell you. For example if I go ahead and hurt someone or throw a blow that could always backfire on me. Someone somewhere else could avenge it and my Nganga would be trying to give me the message ‘’hey don’t do this because if you do this there will be vengeance ‘’ . Paleros for the most part they don’t listen to their Nganga , they try to command it blindly and they can but that is when you end up seeing Paleros on the side of the road and all sorts of crazy things.

How does a person uses a spirit to make someone ill? What happens to the person in that case?
There are millions of spiritual jobs that you could do, there is really no definitive answer no job would be done the same twice. There could be anything like lighting a candle with the person’s name under it all the way upwards of feeding the Nganga in turn for it to go mess up that person for you. There is so many things you can do , and the damage done varies from Ngangas. For example Sarabanda , he specializes in brutal deaths, If I were to come onto someone with my Sarabanda they wouldn’t find them dead in their sleep in a bed. What they would find is someone impaled by a tube or someone got into a car accident where their head flew off their body. If a person uses Siete Rayos you will see that person set on fire or they got struck by lightening . If they use Tiembla Tierra that person would have a heart attack. It varies by Nganga, each Nganga has its signature and that is how Paleros know if someone is doing something to them. We see these signatures and we could reverse them if given the opportunity.
In the case of my friend that I discussed with you that passed… and I will not call names, what do you feel happened there?
In the case of the friend of yours that you told me about, I can tell you with certainty with every finger off my own hands that someone did something terrible to her with a Sarabanda. That being said, Sarabanda is very brutal like that. But on top of that they included Calunga Madre Agua. She is every bit as brutal as Sarabanda is but she involves more bodily fluids than Sarabanda. Sarabanda doesn’t like to hurt with illness he likes to break you, not make you sick. Calunga Madre Agua will swell you up and turn you into a bullfrog because you looked into her pot without permission. These are the kinds of things that can lead to that so someone use Calunga to hurt your friend. May she smile down upon the person that did it to her.
What happens if someone uses Palo to only do bad, will the universe pay them back?
No, that’s a part of the initiation there is no universe paying us back. We are exactly what we are. The only pay back a Palero will get is if another Palero feels he was wronged. Then it becomes a Palo war between priests but as far as the universe goes in punishing us, it wont , simply because it’s the universe that gave us the authority to do what we did.
When someone uses Palo on another person, how can it be removed?
There are many different ways to remove Palo but first I will explain how someone uses Palo on someone else. If everything goes wrong, Palo is a very quick and dangerous tool to use on someone else, it is very nasty. Its not like any other religion. There is an old saying in Africa that goes ‘One goes to Ifa for blessings but they go to Palo for results’. It is very true that saying , Palo is very quick, very nasty and very dangerous. That’s what happens you hurt a person exactly how you want to hurt them. To remove it, there are many different ways depending on what was done certain lower level things can be removed by someone who is not a part of anything. They can be spiritual and pick up on what was done, certain mid-level things can be removed by a Babalaow but for the most part the best way you can remove something that was done to you is to fight Palo with Palo, go to the source of the problem, figure out what is going on and have someone take care of it at that level because there are certain ways a Palo priest can do things. Say for instance I did some black magic on Joe and the stuff I did to him was to make him get in a car accident and get his feet cut off but then he goes and he goes to another type of priest what he doesn’t know that in my black magic I made a sale trade, if he does not lose his legs one of his arms should be cut off. So saving himself from having his feet cut off now he lost his arm. Its always best to go to the root of the problem and always try to solve the problem at that level.
How does one know that Palo was used on them if they don’t know anything about the religion?
The simplest way to know if someone hit you with something from Palo, listen keenly this is a simple test you can do on yourself at any given time ; Grab a candle , turn the lights off, hold the candle and light it next to you if the flame is coming towards you, then you have a very big problem. That is one way. I would also ask them if there is anything in their life that has gone bad for no reason, are you experiencing health problems that even the doctors cant explain? If you are, you might as well go to a Palo priest and get a reading. In the reading it will tell you definitively , one million times if someone has done something to you with Palo or not. If it is Palo, he will know how to reverse it. Don’t waste time trying to figure out if it is Palo or not, go to a priest. If it is a not a Palo thing, most of the time he can tell you what the source of that problem is. For example if is an Ifa thing, the Palo priest will tell you to go to a Babalaow. If it’s a Palo thing he will start telling you then and there what he will need to do to get it fixed. When you waste time figuring out what it is , it will be too late. Certain Palo jobs you cant have on you for very long. Do not play a guessing game, it will take its toll and certain things are irreversible .
In the case of my friend, she was sick for about two years, why did that job take that long?
That job took that long because it was torture , they didn’t want to finish quick and easy. They wanted to torture her over and over and over again. Her going the way she went was someone offering her mercy. Someone saying okay she suffered for two years let’s just let her go now.
Part 2 coming soon

107 thoughts on “JMG INTERVIEWS – Tata Nganga Sarabanda Saca Empeno Kota Lima Aka A Palo Priest

1. DANG MET! You did well with posting this! Love It!

First, who is the R.I.P for-the practioner? Second was there a feed back on the post from the other day with the smell and eating in their dreams?

Lastly, question 4 & 8 great with great answers.

1. Very interesting read Met. I have a little 15 year old brother going on with some stuff and I said to myself he couldn’t be in his right mind. And then I remember I have a aunt which is my mom sis two different fathers, her father goes to this church not a regular church. They pray to a man who was their priest but dead now. And my aunt father don’t like my brother or mom none of that side of the family does. And I swear him set something on my brother even my mother. Since this year she was feeling a pain in one of her breast, went to the doctor they found a lump tested it and told her it wasn’t anything. So I don’t knw how to sum up that.

2. Wow, morning Metty, I read through the whole interview, it’s mind blowing, this African religion is too deep, i that’s the very reason why we are afraid to acknowledged it, my people perished because of lack of knowledge. I think I really want to get a good study on this.

3. Good afternoon Met these are always my favorite topics.. The information is wonderful.. Some of these paleros are not easy either especially when u don’t know anything and scared to ask.. It’s very money driven just like everything else so educate URSELVES beforehand and as questions.. I was extremely overwhelmed at first when I went to my Tata/.. After numerous times I learned by asking a lot of questions from other people that were more familiar and him..

4. If u dont educate yourselves and ask questions both tatas and followers of Ifa will take you for a serious ride. Palo scary to me

1. Dat mama water can mek smaddy blow up literally foh true..Di person go from 100 lbs to way over 200 lbs..more water dan their actual body weight

1. He is a very nice guy…knows a lot about Ifa etc thats how he grew up so I will have a more interesting part ii :thumbup…ppl need to know..out deh bad and dark and terrible…also we all have different roads in this life

1. Me honestly believe that if descendants of the African continent embrace their roots of ancestral practices we can be a force of success, harmony (the fear part is what the slave masters discovered 😀 :D); instead people use them for personal riches and destruction of others due to greed and malice.

Me cannot submit to the European belief system at all…it work against we ancestors and yet we de yah a huddle up inna it?…then again, to each his own nu?

See all if Trayvon and dem youth de was my belly pain- Palo, Ifa, Obeah and vodoo would be put to work 😀 me a laugh and serious bout it like sunshine at the same time *wink*

5. This couldn’t have been asked or answered in any other way!

“No, that’s a part of the initiation there is no universe paying us back. We are exactly what we are.”

6. In the african movies di wicked people dem do some dangerous tings wid palo and di pot.. a through that I learn bout the pot and how wicked it is.

7. Met it’s not just Mami Wata vicious the whole PRENDA that’s what it’s called vicious..They make PRENDA or pots for people and show u how to use it . I was going through a difficult time before and I had 3 pots or prendas made for my home to deal with our situation.. Again please make sure that they are not giving u a basket with just dirt, shell and bones.. Make sure the palo u use is semi_honest..MET U CAN’T GO AROUND THEM AND BE SCARED THATS THE WORST THING U CAN DO..

8. They did somewhat but he didn’t make them strong enough so that’s y I ended up doing Haitian voodoo which blew away all the problems.. Ask ur Tata about the ceremony of getting SCRATCH which I, my hubby and 1 son had to go through.. They cut ur forehead, chest and ankles with a razor blade during the ceremony.. DON’T BE AFRAID OF THEM BECAUSE SOME OF THEM ARE VERY UNSCRUPULOUS.. They smell fear and prey on it.. I have seen so much of these religions that nothing scares me anymore.. I have exposed my children to it also that God forbids if I’m not around no one can rob them and tell them foolishness.. I think PHANTOM PHOENIX was asking where these Palos are from most of them in Miami that I have met are Cubans..

1. I know how the scratching goes but who told you that you had to get scratched? Usually one gets scratched in order to work their spirits and for you all to get scratched ..dat very suspect..Mi nah use or go to dem fi nothing so mi will kept mi fear oo

9. No Met at the time were told that we had to get scratch by a palero..We didn’t know any better.The real reason I’m telling my business though Met is for people to have an idea what’s out there and how crookish some of these people are ..Going through the hell we did back then forced me to get into Demonology etc.. I was willing to do anything then to get help..I started off with Santeria because most of my friends were Santeros and babalowas.. My situation at the time forced me to go to stronger and stronger spirits until I started working with SATAN himself and his demons.. People force u to get into certain situations because u can’t sit down and allow people to destroy u and ur family.. WE R DOING GREAT NOW..

10. MET I was just responding to what u said when u said that Mami Wata can swell up a person.. That’s y I said it’s not only she alone vicious.. They all can be very dangerous if paid and directed a certain way based on what I have seen..Remember MET that There is bad spirit work and then there is EXTREMELY NASTY AND DANGEROUS that when u see the results ur like GODDAMN

1. oh ok mi doe know the right name dem yet either…bwaay mi doe understand how people can pay money fi do those things to people I dont get it

11. Met it’s a dog eat dog world out here and only the fittest of the fittest shall survive.. Ur friend must know that most of the Paleros, Santeros, Babalowas, Haitian Mambo and Voodoo priests r CROOKS AND TEEFS.. He shouldn’t be surprised about the 3 pots..

1. Him say WTF him couldnt believe it ..some people will be shocked yes when dem nah do dem tings deh..G.O.G if dem did a trick u dem shudda do it wid likkle dignity smh

1. A de thief, trickery and dirty hands that make tradition unappealing to those who should be embracing it. The practitioners are like police and doctors…the good suffer fi de bad.

12. GoG…you gwan have fi do a story post pon you situation cause it sound like is something worth sharing in order to teach one a lesson on life. Good to know yu and family good now. Poor me de yah stuck on the 4 (Obeah, Vodun, Santeria, Ifa) traditions not paying attention to this one because it wasn’t culturally related to me…I thought.

1. Yes she sure do and Tata will drop in a few words he says so if anyone has questions please post in english for him please

13. Metsy hi boy it’s good to know these things I’m gonna confess it’s scary very scary so mi will gwaan read

14. MET someone that we knew send up her child from Jamaica on summer holiday and send up tamarind balls and gizzada for us..She also send up destruction with the daughter and in the food. It ended up almost killing everybody in the house..U could see the spirits walking around in the house plain like ur looking at ur hands..He wasn’t tricking us Met because our situation was so bad especially with one of my son’s that he had to give us the Prendas and the scratch afterwards. He did what he knew was the strongest. I spoke to others and they suggested it before him..My husband would drive fall asleep and crash the 18 wheeler truck inna toll booth, mail box everything. Every single day him used to crash inna something. My straight A 2nd son couldn’t go to school because his entire body would just jump especially his arms like he had TICS from Tourette syndrome. ? Sometimes when u see people with certain sickness its not real..My son is now in college and he is fine now no more problems and he’s getting straight A’s..Its a long a nasty hellish time I went through with my family

15. PHANTOM PHOENIX this is not the worse one out there..Poor u my love u have to fight to stay afloat and question any and everything that don’t look right..Most of the time the people them that r destroying u r who u know and have helped.

1. My battle begin from inna my mother’s womb de wickedest way, but I gravitated towards tradition so me can see and understand my battle and that of some people.

But any day you feel like sharing go for it. Me love read good life stories with bless outcomes.

16. Hi Met, didn’t know my comment post was showing on my phone this morning when I sent it off. Let me give you a quick summary of what’s going on,since he turned around 13 he starts disrespecting his mother, following other boys from school disrespecting teachers,come home late. So I thought maybe it was just hormones, until things started to get worst. I must note I think my mom might have some demons coming back for her now in her old days, because I heard that she was a terrible person back in the days cuss a lot of bad words, gamble all kind of stuff,I’ve witnessed some growing up. Back to him, they cuss every minute I tried talking to them both and nothing seems to work. Early this year I don’t know where he was with some boys heard that drive by happened and he got shot in the foot (which I don’t believe) and ever since that from one thing to another pure chaos. He’s sleeping on people who he consider to be friend on their floor (he has his own bed) washing people pots and plates (don’t do that at his house),then late this year the man that she claimed was his father isn’t then he knows and it’s like he hate her more. to be honest I think something is controlling him. He even told her he dreamt of being in fire

1. As u have said sometimes the sins of the parents do visit the children…the fire can be good and bad at the same time…for some people it means confrontation…for others it means cleansing

17. Like Met, I wouldn’t personally seek out the Palero’s service because the industry has no regulation how you gwine know who to trust? Gooda di palero see you and waan sex you, next ting you unda trance a teck strange hood from here and beyond. No iyah mi nuh eena it cause the paleros are self serving ppl, and dem beings just di same, dem not anybody’s friend from di sound of tings.

Anywho, juss chu me nah dweet dat nuh mean mi gwine knock anyone weh use dem for a just cause, nuff ppl carrying generational and spiritual issues weh prayers and nutten else nah resolve, if dem can wash it off desso and go on to a fulfilled life den dat is wonderful. Like everything in dis world do your due diligence before you teck di step.

18. I’m not sure about the praying. I think it’s bad in his case. And I don’t think there’s a end for them both, and if he doesn’t stop he might end up in the wrong place.

19. Question for Tata:

1) Is Palo all male? If so, Why?

2) How can one identify Palo from Santeria, Obeah or Vodun?

3) How does one know if they have met a crooked Palo Priest with dirty hands, granted you said that bad or good is of no consideration to the practitioner. For instance, if I know a obeah man or Santeria practitioner client base are evil doers I won’t go to them.

4) What was your issue with Ifa/Santeria or were they just not of your spiritual calling? And does the tradition of calling signifies the ancestral region for us of the diaspora?

Thanks,

20. I dreamt of a white rat on my bed sniffing around as I slept. When I woke n saw him I was not afraid, I just wanted it off my bed, but was too tired to remove it, what’s the meaning?

21. Met I grew up in Jamacia I never see a spirit before but something used to always hold me down in my sleep for years. When I moved to the states and rented my first room on Jamacia ave … I saw a demon in my room for the first time my body could not move just like in JA I thought it was gonna kill me but it couldn’t touch me … I closed my eyes and started saying the 23 psalms and it went away … Another time I was chilling with my friend in his basement and both of us saw a big black spirit jump into the tv and when that happened all the lights went out in the house he had to turn the breaker on and I can hear and smell spirits now … I want to know what is going on with me???im not scared because I believe GOD is protecting me … But I have met a few ppl who told me I had generation stuff following me …

1. Night oo…if generational stuff bothering you then you need to pray for revelation as to what it is then you can work on how to right it…You have to always keep light on you..pray but sleep with light

22. God bless u met !!!! Thanks for the advice … Plz keep up the good work I’m not gonna lie I hated this site because it used to air out ppl like me … Dwl but I’m changing for the better I have learned sooooooo much from this site .. About life … Relationships and spiritualism who ever u r I can tell ur a good person and I know u have opened up a lot of ppl eyes including me …

23. Hello! Nzambi L’kutare(God bless you).

Sorry it took so long for me to comment, I had someone come and need some serious help.

God of Grace, you were taken for a ride. The nganga can only be given to someone after their initiation, not before. Not everyone requires an nganga, so for your family to be given 3 was shocking news to me. Why? All three will compete to be the main nganga, and your nsara(jobs/tasks) will suffer from a great deal of weakness due to such a show down. There can only be one leader, there can only be one nganga that runs a house. Im not sure if you were told but you didnt have to go to demonology to talk to “satan” as you were initiated in palo and that makes you one of his closest friends. KADIAMPEMBA ARRIBA NTOTO TIENE VIOCO SON COSA MALA. In other words, “satan” on earth has many powers but they are bad powers. In your initiation you swear to him and you swear to nzambi “god” that you will do what you must in order to survive and succeed in life. Haitian voudoun came from palo so going there looking for stronger spirits was a mistake, and demonology came from the western mundele or “white man” which quite frankly is just the weakest spirituality the world has to offer. You went from one of the strongest to one of the weakest in your search and you could have solved it all if your tata had known how to guide you.

PhantomPhoenix

1) Palo is not all male, there are females but there are certain rules for females to follow. There are many old traditions where it was believed that the woman was the devil gender and so many old ngangas were given women as human sacrifices. The kimpungulu have not forgotten those times (upwards of 4,000 years ago), so women are not allowed near any nganga while on their menstruation because the nganga will take them as a human sacrifice.

2) Palo has only one necklace, no bracelets and for the most part a palo practitioner can stand next to you and you will never know unless he or she tells you. The difference in these religions is that palo strictly adheres to the nganga and the munanso(religious house or temple).

3) Crooked palo priests have been known for trying to use palo to make women have sex with them, charge excessive amounts for simple tasks, and even recommending initiations to people who dont need or shouldnt have them. I’ve even seen someone with an nganga that there own nganga hated them because the nganga was not built correctly.

4) In Santeria I am omo Ogun, and Ogun never did call to me and say that I must cross the boundary because he is with me in palo as Sarabanda. My issue with Ifa is simple, i’m a palo priest and everything about Ifa defines palo as the sworn enemies. Sometimes when you are called upon it is due to your own lineage yes, but the calling is mainly due to your spirituality.

24. Nzambi l’kutare.

In regards to the palo priest being a self-serving person you are mistaken. A palo priest serves his munanso(spiritual house/temple). There are certain rules in palo, some of which are broken by crooked paleros and they pay the price at the hands of their very own nganga. Yes it is true, the kimpungulu don’t care for everyone in the whole world the same way, but they do care. Whether we choose to accept it or not, the kimpungulu are spiritual fathers and mothers of everyone. Now when you accept them, they have certain obligations but not before then.

25. Good morning tata nganga, can you please help me with this dream please? It goes like this, I see an elderly woman in my dream right….. I look at her and told her I know it’s you that help this girl to rap up my child father. She did not say anything, she removes a black bag from a pipe. I walk behind her and ask her please to untied him I just have to free him from her… She said ok but you have to do it, I open my left hand ….and she the lady take two little piece of bones out the black bag and said I most repeat after her…. She startes to talk into a next language. When she is finish I said what happens now ? She told he is free and is sprite is back to God…… I KNOW FOR A FACT THAT THIS GIRL IS WORKING ON ME

26. That palero wasn’t strong enough to do the work.. The pots were extremely weak I don’t know if he deliberately made them weak.. I had 2 baskets and a baby one just the pot.. I threw them away because they weren’t doing what they were supposed to.. I went to him as a mother and a wife going through a hellish time and if he took me for a ride I hope it all turns back on him.. I’m not going to knock demonology because it cleared up some of the leftovers.. The Haitian houngan did what he was supposed to do and he was very straightforward with me.. Most people when they are going through a difficult time they are so desperate for help they don’t think that someone would mislead them at such a time.. People r wicked it doesn’t matter what profession they are in.

27. So unnu find out a who Palo your friend met? Mi a assume is Toya yah talk bout. Unnu check off ishawana off di list… it obvious a she deh wid har husband yah now

28. Anonymous: Your dreams are very vivid with the elderly lady and they do seem like someone is working on you, but I cannot determine anything specific based on just that. If you would please forward Met some contact information so that we may further discuss this issue privately.

God of Grace: That’s the horrible part of palo, people see youtube videos and decide to pretend to be priests so that they can take people’s money. Even worse then that is when real priests do things half hearted or as they say here in the states, half-ass. I do not underestimate any belief system, they all work. They just all have their things.

29. Good day, Tata Nganga Sarabanda Saca Empeno Kota Lima

Thanks for answering my questions, and without any doubt I feel that your energy in replying was pure and genuine. One of you answers is key to detecting false practitioners, for me as a female.

Throughout my search for answers to either get on the “right path” or “the path” for this lifetime (I’m a bit lost and confuse in this lifetime) I’ve only met TWO honest practitioners of tradition. Still yet…I’ve gotten directions, but can’t seem to grasp a proper footing because I believe they aren’t telling me something.

Does Palo practice on the principle of withholding in order to deter conflict for the client, or do you just tell it all as shown to you?

30. Palo holds secrets because of that very issue with fake priests. People see youtube videos or see a real tata working and they decide to play monkey see monkey do, and charge for their services. The issue is that they do not have the same spiritual authority as a true tata. Our real power does not lie in ourselves, but in our initiations, our ceremonies, our munanso’s.. This is the fountain of all strength given to us.

31. Questions for the Palo Priest:

1. How is Palo properly pronounced is it Paylow or Pahlow?

2. What is Palo’s view on the creation of the universe and the earth, and humanity?

3. Most people were christened as a baby in a church or at home by a pastor or priest, others got baptized at a young age, either of their own volition of through parental pressure, how does this impact that person going to a Palo priest? Is there some conflict or possible harm that could come to such a person?

4. What is Palo’s view on Christianity?

5. You stated that women are not priests in Palo as there is some conflict, as they may be seen as a sacrifice, does this mean male Palo priests cannot marry as their wives could be seen as a sacrifice since she would be in his presence most of the time?
    5(b) Have there been instances where a woman has gotten romantically involved with a Palo priest unbeknownst to her and she lost her life?

6. Is there any job too small or large for Palo to solve? For example, I am dealing with thin hair that is not growing thick and long, could Palo deal with this mundane task? Could Palo help someone struggling with a big belly or weight issues? Is Palo limited to only the big life threatening issues?

7. I am sure by the time many ppl get to Palo they have tried many other things. They are likely tired, worn, and feeling defeated. I assume many clients first come to Palo when they are at the end of their rope, how can such a person who is so desperate and weak truly have the strength to reach into their inner being to determine if the Palo priest is good or bad? A drowning man will clutch at a straw.

8. What is your ethnicity?

9. What is Palo’s view on sexuality in general?

10. What is Palo’s limitation? What can it not do?

32. What does Tata’s ethnicity have to do with anything?

Tata thanks for the honest and straight forward answers, we all look forward to part 2.

1. The question is completely innocuous. No hidden agenda behind it. If you find it offensive nothing I can do about that, but I know under what spirit is was asked, and I know it was simply out of curiosity and nothing else.

33. All power belongs unto God.

No man can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon. St.Matthew 6:24

Now the Spirit speaketh expressly, that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils. 1 Timothy 4:1

People do not depart from the precepts of God to seek aid from the enemies of God. In the end all power is by him and through him. Nothing gained from that world hasn’t had its coil wrapped around a snake. Noting is for free! Everything gained, something greater is taken! There is always a price. Only God Give good gifts and he adds no sorrows to it!

1. KMT… “In the end all power is by him and through him.” “Only God Give good gifts and he adds no sorrows to it!”

Onu love quote the white man pages and excrete pon the black man own which is far older than the white mans. The same one that enslaved the generations before you and look like it about to slaughter the present generations of now and later.

1. If you find comfort in worshiping and seeking help from malevolent beings then go ahead. No one is stopping you from worshipping Satan and his demons. Express your free will..

34. 1. Palo is pronounce Pahlow.
    2. Palo’s view on creation is simple. Nzambi created all things before mankind. Mankind was last, and when we were created he left the earth to us. The universe is his home.
    3. I myself was baptised in a catholic church, christianity has nothing to do with palo. Not good not bad.. it’s nothing.
    4. Palo’s view on christianity depends on which branch and which munanso you are talking about. Each munanso has it’s tata and he decides the munanso’s views/rules/practices. In mine, we see christianity as a faith that was partially responsible for the slave trade. A faith that put my brother and sisters in chains, women raped, men killed and children enslaved. But this was in the past… Now christianity has little to do with us anymore, they are forgiven but their ways remain as overbearing as ever. In some munanso’s people even put a crucifix on their nganga to show that god has nothing against it…. It will be a cold day before I put a symbol of that god on my sacred nganga.
    5. Women can be priestesses in palo, they just have to stay away from the nganga when they’re menstruating. They have priesthood too. There is no consequence to what a man and woman do behind closed doors.
    6. Palo is all that is nature and all that is nature is palo. There is no big or small to palo. What I would see as small can be life-threatening to you. This is why palo has almost no limitations.
    7. They cannot. If someone is at the end of their rope, their is nothing you can do to convince them that they are not. The most you can do is help them and hope that they will remain the path and do well in life.
    8. I am Cuban with African ancestors.
    9. Palo’s view on sexuality is simple. You are what you were born as. A gay man can be saved using palo, but there are rules to it. If he stands in front of nganga he has to be dressed a man. His sexual preference means nothing to nganga. He was born a man he will come to me as a man. Same with women. There is another rule though that depends on the munanso. Certain munanso’s initiate gay people, mine specifically does not. There are several very big and important reasons why, and homophobia is not one.
    10. Palo can do everything under the moon and sun, except attend to someone called to ifa. Once you belong to Orunmila, you are no longer within the grasp of palo.

1. Thank you for answering all of my questions. I appreciated that you truly took the effort to answer the questions and not just gloss things over.

If I may ask two other question please. What is Palo’s view on reincarnation? In most early schools of thought reincarnation is a reality, does Palo have anything to add to this?

2. What is the status of African spirituality as it stands today in your opinion? Are there enough members to continue in these sacred African traditions, or do you think there is a possibility that they could be wiped out completely? I know in Brazil presently the evangelical church is on a mission to wipe out the African spiritual practices, spirit houses are being destroyed and practitioners threatened or even driven out of the community, just the same in Africa with the push of Islam and Christianity. How can African spirituality stand up when it is being attacked on every corner?

2. Thanks You For this interesting read and some good questions cleared up in comments. is it possible to contact Tata for a reading?

35. Ms met I know you did it in the first article but can you put meaning of the different words again please. You can cut and paste from the first article please.

36. 1. Reincarnation is possible, but there are a great deal of things that must happen before one reincarnates. It is not you die and then instantly come back.

2. African spirituality will survive and thrive because the world needs it. There may be many enemies, but there are many who need the spirituality to boost them into their path in life.

37. Anon @ 2:45 regarding “How can African spirituality stand up when it is being attacked on every corner?”

YOU have to stand with it, but rest assure it shall and can NEVER die. It older than any other belief system on planet earth.

Tata, you missed my second batch of question up to. Thanks

38. So sorry Phoenix, I am looking but don’t understand which questions it is you want answered. I think I answered them all.

1. No problem…here it is again, lol

“Does Palo practice on the principle of withholding in order to deter conflict for the client, or do you just tell it all as shown to you?”

39. Phoenix that depends on the practitioner. I do leave out information given to me that can cause certain issues or alter the persons free will. It is because my goal in a reading isn’t to tell you everything, it is to put you on the right path and tell you what you need to know. Some things are told to me that are not relevant to that path, just so that I may know what exactly is going on with you. This is more for me than for you.

40. Tata I have had two dreams that has disturb me peace. The first one is of me being pregnant and feeling the baby moving and pushing it`s fist up in my belly. The secon dream is me feeling something in my eye only to be taking pieces of glass of my eye. Each time I take a piece of glass of their would be more coming out my eye.

41. Hi Tata,

Here’s my question I hope you get to it. Over 2 years ago one night I was sitting alone in my bathroom smoking a cigarette and having a drink, it’s cold outside and the bathroom has a windo so from time to time I would go in there and smoke. As I was doing that o felt something strange and I can’t explain it, I rushed out and fell on the ground in panic, I then went outside started pacing and called my then husband I was separated from. Told him I needed to go to the hospital… He came and I went back inside the house and went to bed, I felt physically drained and confused as to what happened. To cut a long story short my life has not been the same since, I just could t function and at one point I could not eat nor sleep, (not because I didn’t feel hungry, it was like it was physically impossible for about a week) I would feel like I’m out of this world, I could not rest properly and even ended up having to leave my job, because I couldn’t function at all. I am very spiritual so through all of it I would pray and pray and one of my friends even gave me a bath at my home to see if that would help. Oh by the way, the doctors said it was anxiety due to stress and tried medicating me but I didn’t take the meds because I know how those things can make things worst. Plus I wasn’t feeling anymore stres than the normal person until that happened.

Deep inside me everyday for the past two and a half years I’ve felt something is wrong and not medically, and induced anxiety but did not just come about normally.

The more logical part of me is saying it’s nothing and that I am overthinking… That side of me has ruled and so I have not sought any help outside of naturopathic doctors, and my regular doctor when I needed to go. I’ve pretty much been self helping. Now I still am not out the woods, and I have all sorts of dreams.

One dream I keep having every so often is that I’m eating, and I can taste the food, texture, flavour, smell, in my dreams. Odd for me because before that never happened to me… I was never able to taste food in my dreams.

I know this is very long, I do hope you find time to read this and anyone else with an I put feel free to comment.

Thank you

.d

42. Hi Tata,

Here’s my question I hope you get to it. Over 2 years ago one night I was sitting alone in my bathroom smoking a cigarette and having a drink, it’s cold outside and the bathroom has a windo so from time to time I would go in there and smoke. As I was doing that o felt something strange and I can’t explain it, I rushed out and fell on the ground in panic, I then went outside started pacing and called my then husband I was separated from. Told him I needed to go to the hospital… He came and I went back inside the house and went to bed, I felt physically drained and confused as to what happened. To cut a long story short my life has not been the same since, I just could t function and at one point I could not eat nor sleep, (not because I didn’t feel hungry, it was like it was physically impossible for about a week) I would feel like I’m out of this world, I could not rest properly and even ended up having to leave my job, because I couldn’t function at all. I am very spiritual so through all of it I would pray and pray and one of my friends even gave me a bath at my home to see if that would help. Oh by the way, the doctors said it was anxiety due to stress and tried medicating me but I didn’t take the meds because I know how those things can make things worst. Plus I wasn’t feeling anymore stres than the normal person until that happened.

Deep inside me everyday for the past two and a half years I’ve felt something is wrong and not medically, and induced anxiety but did not just come about normally.

The more logical part of me is saying it’s nothing and that I am overthinking… That side of me has ruled and so I have not sought any help outside of naturopathic doctors, and my regular doctor when I needed to go. I’ve pretty much been self helping. Now I still am not out the woods, and I have all sorts of dreams.

One dream I keep having every so often is that I’m eating, and I can taste the food, texture, flavour, smell, in my dreams. Odd for me because before that never happened to me… I was never able to taste food in my dreams.

I know this is very long, I do hope you find time to read this and anyone else with an I put feel free to comment.

Thank you

.d

43. Sorry I forgot to add my question…

Do you think this is normal?

and is there anything I can do to find this out by myself?

44. me deh yah: Dream interpretation is very complex, but from the sounds of those 2 dreams I would say something big is coming to your life and not in a good way. This sounds like something is trying to warn you before time.

Lew: Sounds like you had an experience with a spirit manifesting in or around you that caused you to stress to a breaking point. If you would like to look into it, there are doctors who treat anxiety without medicine, using just therapy.

As for the spirit manifestation, I would say you became afraid of the unknown. There is nothing to fear, you should just educate yourself more on what they are and do and your fear will go away. Actually I have come to accept my spirits and when I see them I get a warm feeling of comfort.

45. Thank you, yes I do have a lot of fear but I’m trying to now open up to understanding more. I have been doing a whole lot better considering where I’m coming from. I do meditation and yoga.

Thanks again Tata

46. Hi can you help me in finding a priest to help my situation.
    I am in a serious situation for about a year.
    Please help