JMG INTERVIEWS SHAUN LAWSON A REVIVALIST

Revival

Can you introduce yourself, who are you and what is your name?

My name is Shaun Lawson i am twenty one (21) years of age. 

What position do you hold in your Revival church?

I currently hold the position of a leader within my church .

How long have you been a Revivalist?

Well i have been revivalist for over 7 years .

What brought you into the religion?

I did not  choose the religion it chose me ,so basically its a calling from God .

How long have you been in it and how would you describe the movement?

I have been a revivalist for over 7 years , and i would say revivalism is nothing far from any other religion . We are just spiritual based ,upfront and forward about or religion and worship 

What in your opinion is Revival?

Revival is an improvement in condition , strength or fortunes of someone or something and that the church as been doing ,impacting lives because of our spiritual base . 

What are the biggest misconceptions about your religion?

The biggest misconception about revival is that is a ‘”Obeah” church as what a lot of people have  to say or the famous its a “poco” church . and other things have been said which is far from the truth . 

Is it like an ordinary church?

Yes it like a normal church we read from the same Bible , we sings the same songs , we worship the same . Its just our music would be different , people would say “a set up music ” 

What do you do and how do you worship?

Worshiping is something very important to the church we as revivalist we worship a little different from other religions you may ask, What makes the difference ? firstly our music and we dance with each other as that is apart of worshiping and celebrating God 

What happens when one is overcome by the ancestral spirits?

I would not call it overcome, it is  basically  the manifestation of the spirit in an unusual way .

What is the true purpose of the Revival church and how is it used to benefit lives?

The true purpose of the revival church is like any other church being establish , revivalism is coming from way back and we have impacted  lives in may ways , as we look to God for healing ,deliverance and break through as we are spiritually grounded . 

What do the colors represent?

People will ask what does the colors means each color has  a meaning for example RED – stands for passion and love also strength

Why are fruits used in the various ceremonies?

Fruits are used in these services because its represents thanksgiving and fruits are blessings they are normally used in our fasting service and thanksgiving table 

What are done with the fruits after the ceremony?

The fruits are being eaten by persons who attend the service everything is eaten on the table . 

Do you think that the powers of your church are used for the wrong things?

Well in a sense God gives us gifts and some people will not do accordingly 

What happens when there is a cleansing?

Well a cleansing is done in many different way but the most popular ones are water and cream soda its either consumed or used to wash off 

Why is there so much confusion within the church in terms of fallen angels and spiritual possession?

I am not sure where that comes from but within my church i am not seeing that

What have you seen with your own two eyes that the spirits can do?

Well  spirits are real for sure and can do things 

Is your family a part of the religion?

No my family is not apart of the religion

What do you want people to know about your religion?

Well I want people to know that  Revival  is a normal religion we worship and we look to the same God and not because  we might worship  a little different . What ever you do not know ask .

4 thoughts on “JMG INTERVIEWS SHAUN LAWSON A REVIVALIST

1. I love revival church til mi weak. I would love to attend Bishop Raleigh church in St.Thomas one day. I watch their services on YouTube all the time

2. Great questions, Met.

Shawn Lawson, your answers were ridiculous. Patronizing and contradicting at best.

How you in this high energy spiritual institution from 14 with zero relatives involvement? You an orphan?

So what if it’s associated with Obeah and Poco? Slaveey over so there’s no need to hide and use the European belief aystem as cova. Wha de seal dem fah if you is just bible and dance? The table is spiritual…Sanatria and de rest dem sacrifice and eat after. So why be ashame of the table?

Why you belief system have such a high turn-out of sadomites?

3. I support all African based spiritual practices that are not involved in any negativity. I find it fascinating that so many black ppl are quick to convert to all kinds of religions that originated outside of Africa, but consider African spirituality and mythicism to be less than ideal in their eyes. Some don’t even know that many African cultures have their own creation stories, some even far more interesting than the Adam and Eve story.

Shaun, you should get proper instruction and learn about the history of your religion, especially since you are a leader. If that means you have to travel out for training then please do. There is much more you could have said, but whether through age, lack of education or just general misunderstanding I have no clue, but please try and get educated in your faith and religion in general so you can fully express what your religion is about and how it feeds the soul of its adherents. You’re very young still and true study of the mysteries is a lifelong pursuit. So it is OK to seek more knowledge if Revivalism is important to you.