JMG INTERVIEWS ROMEICH MAJOR, CEO OF ROMEICH ENTERTAINMENT

1.Hi how are you?

I’m great, its a blessing to be alive today.

2.Can you introduce yourself for the audience please?

My name is Romeich Major, I am one of the hardest working individuals you will ever meet. My work is living proof.

3.You are the CEO of Romeich entertainment yes?

Yes I’m the CEO of Romeich Entertainment, Romeich Wear and Romeich Ent. TV. The umbrella company is now called Romeich group of companies.

4.How long have you been in the business?

I’ve been in business for almost 15 years. The first company I established was Romeich Wear Ltd.

5.What made you choose to manage artistes, particularly dancehall artistes?

I have an undying love for music, especially Dancehall and Reggae music. Im Jamaican and I appreciate our most powerful aspect of our culture, our music.

6.In total how many artists do you manage?

I manage a total of three artistes , one DJ/artiste and three DJ’S and one host.

7.What does your brand include?

My brand includes many aspects. My brand includes talents, brand ambassadors and dancers

8.On what basis do you choose the artists you manage,  what drew you to their talent?

What drew me to their talent was their hunger and all my talents have a unique style. Shenseea is for the ladies, Ding Dong is for the dancers and all age groups. TeeJay is for the ghetto youths and sometimes ladies

9.What percentage of your time do you dedicate to their careers?

Lets say I work 12-18 hours of the day, reason being , my talents are getting bookings from across the world and different time zones and my brain is always working.

10.How do you find the industry and what changes do you wish to make if any?

The industry is a gamble . Just always ensure you have a good head in the game.

11.How long do you think an artist should give themselves to break into the business/buss?

It all depends on the talent and the people. Some talent take months to get a break while some have been trying for yours and still cant get the break they need.

12. All three of  the artists you manage are being booked, what is the method behind their career success?

Career success is putting of different style of music for various parts of the world. Marketing them like a brand itself (a product) and then just going forward no holding back as well as 3 of them are great writers and are easy to market.

13. How many producers do you work with?

I work with two main producers from the Romeich Entertainment Camp. They are Khalfani, and Slyda Di Wizard

14. Do your artists write their own music, if not , on what basis is the music that is performed and published by them chosen?

All the talents write their own music. The music performed by the talents is based mainly from the patrons of the event. For example, most songs with expletives cannot be performed or will be edited in-front of an an audience with persons below 18 years

15. Is dancehall’s spark still there and do you think the music is as good as it was in the earlier years?

Music changes as it does with the people who are listening to it. Also the producers are now different, using modern day technology to create beats. You wont have the same flow or texture of the riddim as it was ten years ago. And most dancehall artistes have included inspirations from the modern day world we live in.

16. What do you think of afrobeats and the fact that its another genre built off of dancehall?

Afrobeats is trending across the globe. Just as how we are evolving , I too expect the music to evolve. What I like about Afrobeats is how smooth some of the beats are.

17. There was a situation with Sumfest last year where you wanted your team to get paid and perform at the show over the Summer, how did your time feel and do you think it could have been handled in a different way? 

As a manager of some of the most trending and most talented artistes in Jamaica and the Caribbean. I understand why I had to do it. I will not let anyone at all undervalue my talents. But that’s in the past, if the opportunity arises, I will think about it because not only the talents never got to perform for their fans. The fans were highly disappointed. The fans are the ones who made the talents who they are, they are the ones who have been supporting their careers during their tenure as artistes.

18. If given that opportunity again in 2020 will you make the same choice?

Yes, if the opportunity presents itself and the promoter and myself have come to an agreement on all terms why not?

19.  What overseas artist would you want to collaborate with your artists and why?

My talents can collaborate with any overseas artistes that will impact their career positively and also help their music reach foreign soil and also increase their fan base

20. Is there anything you want people to know about you that they dont already know?

My life is an open book, as in I post most aspect of my life on my instagfram, I do it in a way to allow people to see who I am as a person and how loving I am with my team.

5 thoughts on “JMG INTERVIEWS ROMEICH MAJOR, CEO OF ROMEICH ENTERTAINMENT

1. Good interview Met i thought he would shun Jmg interview because people always a bun bad lamp fi my second home.