YOUR FOOD

food

I have been asked to open a discussion about organic foods, GMO foods, herbs and growing your own food. I thought it best to make it an open forum, with everyone discussing what they know, ideas, and what herbs or foods have impacted your life etc..JMG has slacked off a bit in regards to these kinds of discussions, so we will have one about food every Friday at 5 PM. At 8 there will be a discussion about ”Obeah” where I will share something I know about the supernatual.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUd9rRSLY4A

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_jW9qo66Qkg

10 Reasons to Avoid GMOs

1. GMOs are unhealthy.
The American Academy of Environmental Medicine (AAEM) urges doctors to prescribe non-GMO diets for all patients. They cite animal studies showing organ damage, gastrointestinal and immune system disorders, accelerated aging, and infertility. Human studies show how genetically modified (GM) food can leave material behind inside us, possibly causing long-term problems. Genes inserted into GM soy, for example, can transfer into the DNA of bacteria living inside us, and that the toxic insecticide produced by GM corn was found in the blood of pregnant women and their unborn fetuses.

Numerous health problems increased after GMOs were introduced in 1996. The percentage of Americans with three or more chronic illnesses jumped from 7% to 13% in just 9 years; food allergies skyrocketed, and disorders such as autism, reproductive disorders, digestive problems, and others are on the rise. Although there is not sufficient research to confirm that GMOs are a contributing factor, doctors groups such as the AAEM tell us not to wait before we start protecting ourselves, and especially our children who are most at risk.

The American Public Health Association and American Nurses Association are among many medical groups that condemn the use of GM bovine growth hormone, because the milk from treated cows has more of the hormone IGF-1 (insulin-like growth factor 1)―which is linked to cancer.

2. GMOs contaminate―forever.
GMOs cross pollinate and their seeds can travel. It is impossible to fully clean up our contaminated gene pool. Self-propagating GMO pollution will outlast the effects of global warming and nuclear waste. The potential impact is huge, threatening the health of future generations. GMO contamination has also caused economic losses for organic and non-GMO farmers who often struggle to keep their crops pure.

3. GMOs increase herbicide use.
Most GM crops are engineered to be “herbicide tolerant”―they deadly weed killer. Monsanto, for example, sells Roundup Ready crops, designed to survive applications of their Roundup herbicide.

Between 1996 and 2008, US farmers sprayed an extra 383 million pounds of herbicide on GMOs. Overuse of Roundup results in “superweeds,” resistant to the herbicide. This is causing farmers to use even more toxic herbicides every year. Not only does this create environmental harm, GM foods contain higher residues of toxic herbicides. Roundup, for example, is linked with sterility, hormone disruption, birth defects, and cancer.

4. Genetic engineering creates dangerous side effects.
By mixing genes from totally unrelated species, genetic engineering unleashes a host of unpredictable side effects. Moreover, irrespective of the type of genes that are inserted, the very process of creating a GM plant can result in massive collateral damage that produces new toxins, allergens, carcinogens, and nutritional deficiencies.

5. Government oversight is dangerously lax.
Most of the health and environmental risks of GMOs are ignored by governments’ superficial regulations and safety assessments. The reason for this tragedy is largely political. The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), for example, doesn’t require a single safety study, does not mandate labeling of GMOs, and allows companies to put their GM foods onto the market without even notifying the agency. Their justification was the claim that they had no information showing that GM foods were substantially different. But this was a lie. Secret agency memos made public by a lawsuit show that the overwhelming consensus even among the FDA’s own scientists was that GMOs can create unpredictable, hard-to-detect side effects. They urged long-term safety studies. But the White House had instructed the FDA to promote biotechnology, and the agency official in charge of policy was Michael Taylor, Monsanto’s former attorney, later their vice president. He’s now the US Food Safety Czar.

6. The biotech industry uses “tobacco science” to claim product safety.
Biotech companies like Monsanto told us that Agent Orange, PCBs, and DDT were safe. They are now using the same type of superficial, rigged research to try and convince us that GMOs are safe. Independent scientists, however, have caught the spin-masters red-handed, demonstrating without doubt how industry-funded research is designed to avoid finding problems, and how adverse findings are distorted or denied.

7. Independent research and reporting is attacked and suppressed.
Scientists who discover problems with GMOs have been attacked, gagged, fired, threatened, and denied funding. The journal Nature acknowledged that a “large block of scientists . . . denigrate research by other legitimate scientists in a knee-jerk, partisan, emotional way that is not helpful in advancing knowledge.” Attempts by media to expose problems are also often censored.

8. GMOs harm the environment.
GM crops and their associated herbicides can harm birds, insects, amphibians, marine ecosystems, and soil organisms. They reduce bio-diversity, pollute water resources, and are unsustainable. For example, GM crops are eliminating habitat for monarch butterflies, whose populations are down 50% in the US. Roundup herbicide has been shown to cause birth defects in amphibians, embryonic deaths and endocrine disruptions, and organ damage in animals even at very low doses. GM canola has been found growing wild in North Dakota and California, threatening to pass on its herbicide tolerant genes on to weeds.

9. GMOs do not increase yields, and work against feeding a hungry world.
Whereas sustainable non-GMO agricultural methods used in developing countries have conclusively resulted in yield increases of 79% and higher, GMOs do not, on average, increase yields at all. This was evident in the Union of Concerned Scientists’ 2009 report Failure to Yield―the definitive study to date on GM crops and yield.

The International Assessment of Agricultural Knowledge, Science and Technology for Development (IAASTD) report, authored by more than 400 scientists and backed by 58 governments, stated that GM crop yields were “highly variable” and in some cases, “yields declined.” The report noted, “Assessment of the technology lags behind its development, information is anecdotal and contradictory, and uncertainty about possible benefits and damage is unavoidable.” They determined that the current GMOs have nothing to offer the goals of reducing hunger and poverty, improving nutrition, health and rural livelihoods, and facilitating social and environmental sustainability.
On the contrary, GMOs divert money and resources that would otherwise be spent on more safe, reliable, and appropriate technologies.

10. By avoiding GMOs, you contribute to the coming tipping point of consumer rejection, forcing them out of our food supply.
Because GMOs give no consumer benefits, if even a small percentage of us start rejecting brands that contain them, GM ingredients will become a marketing liability. Food companies will kick them out. In Europe, for example, the tipping point was achieved in 1999, just after a high profile GMO safety scandal hit the papers and alerted citizens to the potential dangers. In the US, a consumer rebellion against GM bovine growth hormone has also reached a tipping point, kicked the cow drug out of dairy products by Wal-Mart, Starbucks, Dannon, Yoplait, and most of America’s dairies.

The Campaign for Healthier Eating in America is designed to achieve a tipping point against GMOs in the US. The number of non-GMO shoppers needed is probably just 5% of the population. The key is to educate consumers about the documented health dangers and provide a Non-GMO Shopping Guide to make avoiding GMOs much easier.

Please choose healthier non-GMO brands, tell others about GMOs so they can do the same, and join the Non-GMO Tipping Point Network. Together we can quickly reclaim a non-GMO food supply.

0 thoughts on “YOUR FOOD

1. well my body react to GMO food immediately, as soon as I eat it my skin break out and start scratch or my lip swell or small bumps appear and when I eat the same foods from Jamaica, from where I know where the source, /who grow it, I don’t have any of those reaction.

1. it is really difficult, because that mean say you have to grow your own food, make your own bread, juices, etc, you cannot eat out, have to cook everything from scratch.

2. Quite so…no wonder they are killing off the Natropathic *sp (Herbal) Doctors…sent you a link last week about a Florida Doctor that died mysteriously recently

3. For the first fifteen years of my life traveling to and from Jamaican, my great grandmother, and my grandparents taught me the value of herbal medicine/remedies and how to survive in the wilderness and become one with nature. If I had gas I was given pot water (pot liquor) which has lots of nutrients.Everything we ate was fresh from the vine, tree or freshly slaughtered. Noting was kept in the fridge except ice.

1. Yes the hot pot water my great granny used to drink and this other kinda mint leaf called pepper elder..I cant seem to locate it though

4. but met. . if everything have in gmo’s and gmo is impossible to eradicate,, how dies one gully cut it out of thier diet.. also. . I asked about the organic garlic on another post, but since we here.. where can I find these organic garlic because I didn’t even know there was a diffrent until u guys mentioned it. .again.. me nuh trust the fda..there regulations are lacking for me.. example. .water.. anyone can put some water inagain a bottle and sell.. i also saw that documentary once about seeds and how most of them were genetically modified. they spoke especially of the soy bean which later was found to change the hormones in men, giving them breast and boosting the estrogen in their Bodies..

1. buy from the farmers market and ask for spanish galic…i get the spanish one they are bigger and sometimes have a little purple in the covering of them..every processed food have gmo..everything u can think of the cereals anything made in america..u are better off sometimes with imported food from europe and your own home grown good….a good detox ever so often is good too

5. You can’t fully get rid of GMO unless you buy from a honest farmer or grow your own. You have fruits that’s rich in antioxidants, eat lots of em, drink plenty water and natural juices to help get rid of the free radicals.

1. Yes but if they have in GMO’s already…will they still have in the antioxidants they are supposed to have?

6. Love this! mi confused bout every damn ting where food is concerned right now.
    Mi just a cut out all kinda things outta my diet likkle by liikle.
    A while back dem come out with activia and claim how it was soooo good fi yuh and have sooo much health benefit…only fi find out sey di ingredient (carmine) inna di yougurt was bugs! yes di people dem have me a eat bugs :marah
    yup mi done wid yogurt from dat!
    yuh try to eat right by eating fruits and veggies…dem full dem up a pesticide.
    I am no conspiracy theorist but me know fi a fact seh dem a do something to the food…Some experimenting going on. I have a teenager, well behaved no health issues now I have a 3 yr old and OMG I swear the child is possessed,Di likkle girl wi just jump up outta har sleep and start run she goes from -0 to 1000. Now her Dr. wants to test her for autism..Nooobody in my family or dad family have any history of this and I don’t think it’s a coincedence that just about every child her age is autistic or has ADD and ADHD and all kinda behaviour issues.
    As for this GMO nonesense SMH no words

1. Cut down her gluten ASAP………knew someone was having the same issue as di gluten shorten everything calm right down..cut down gluten and stay on organics…try it for a month n u will see..is like the baby head couldnt stop…now everything is NORMAL

7. Papaya is another fruit that I stay away from since I found out it was one of the most genetically modified fruit

1. True, when I was growing up Papaw tree did long n mawga and d fruits did BIG, now di tree dem short and di fruit dem small.
      So all di likkle hood man dem nuh have nuh more tall papaw tree fi lick dem hood pon fi it grooooww *dwl*
      *Miss Smooches*

1. not to mention it did have flavor…I bought half a pawpaw in the supermarket this week for my smoothie..it nuh finish yet

1. If you are going to have Papaya make sure they are imported from Mexico. They are the only ones that are not genetically modified.

8. thanks met. . will make it a point of duty to start buying these.all I can do is try to do try he vest I can when it comes on try he food consumption..it’s really confusing and with the new organic craze, everyone is claiming organic and charging a arm and a leg.. lorks. it would be nice to have a big backyard that’s fertile.. me would a plant everything me can think of that’s plantable..lol.. manushka.. thanks..for the info.. u make some valid points. .

1. to begin the planting u haffi go get the organic seeds and would u believe is like u haffi hunt fi lemon seed that have no gmo..nuh jus plant..check the seeds before u plant

9. You have less fruits and veggies that’s a GMO. You gotta stay away from seedless things, baby carrots and potatoes

1. yes and di seedless melon……………….Mi eat the jamaican sweet potato more than anything ..nuff GMO tomato out there too

1. Taking about the sweet potato Met!, broke out my entire family. We had small patches on our backs and shoulders. We’ve never eaten it since.

1. Yes ma’am! That’s why it’s so important to know what we consume in order to be able to do professional of elimination.

10. I have no tips on how to cut it out fully from the diet.But i was raised in the Apostolic Church of God Seventh Day. So i grew up abstaining from eating certain things, and i carried it over into my adult life. My question for u met n metters. Do u think a person could be born just naturally hating meat. The reason for this question is because I have 5yr old son and he has milk protein allergies and gluten allergy also. So no dairy at all. He refuses to eat meat. No fish, chicken etc etc. But he eats every fruit and vegetable under the son.and its not a picky eater phase cuz when he was much younger and couldn’t talk he refused meat also. “Thoughts”

1. Yes u have many people like that who just dont like meat and born that way..Nothing nuh wrong his body will always function fast because of the fruit and veg..u have people whey dem call frutarian whey eat only fruits and vegs..gluten breaks down our colon…and nuff young people a develop colon cancer so be happy that his body want the right thing from early

2. yes i have family who from them born they hate meat, they are teenagers now and they still don’t eat meat, they taste it and spit back out and say yuckkkkkk. don;t force them to eat meat though, they are vegetarians.

11. Sorry! yes, they still have helpful vitamins but nothing like the real thing. Fruits and vegetables is composed of mostly water, fiber and nutrients. During the process of photosynthesis some things return to normal unless the altered it. It’s like how they alter the grapes to make them without seeds

12. Justmystyle, I was the way as your son, so yes they can born that way. What we fail to understand is that all the GMO stuff was created for the test tube and designer babies. Population control and supply and demand plays a part. Y’all cought me when I’m busy

13. Not coming off the topic Met but we must also invest in good pots and pans. High quality stainless steel pots and pans. These non-stick pots are no good. Non stick is simply a coating on the pot that comes off over the course of usage. It comes off directly into the food that is consumed. I love this thread Met! I’m vegetarian but it is still completely difficult for me to maintain a healthy diet due to all these unhealthy practices that these huge organizations conduct. I sometimes get so depressed an want to move to my own island sometimes. Lol. Thanks for posting.

1. Yuh know I change every pot this year here..I never liked non stick but I have a collection of stainless steel now and they were not expensive

1. They really aren’t. Even if they are pricey our lives are valued way more. These non-stick pots and pans contribute to dementia and alzheimers. Also toothpaste.

1. Not sure about the Dutch Pot. Would have to Research that one. If I were to guess I would guess cast iron.

14. I’ve heard about cutting out gluten and anything with red food dye from her diet MET but I couldn’t find anything out there concrete enough to say it works. I’m going to give it a try though cause every appointment her Dr wants to know if I made an appointment to get her tested. I’m not going to get her tested for a darn thing because I know the next thing they are going to come with is medication and that’s a big no no for me. Thanks 🙂

1. Trust me it does..within one month everything line up..fixations disappeared u name it..one thing though it is an expensive diet to maintain but try it for a month and u will see

1. Mi a go check the sea food because I dont like the shell fish but I am now addicted to wild salmon :nohope:

1. They have a list out there of all the fish and mercury ranking, it should be available onlie. I think the lowly Sardine scored the best for having the least amount of mercury.

15. Well, fi who believe in di Bible it did say God’s ppl fi move out of the cities. Cities are full of toxins and no matter how you protect what you eat you cannot protect what you inhale. Nuff nuff ppl who never smoked a day in dem life ending up wid lung cancer and lung cancer is one of the hardest to beat. Also, if you have a desire to plant you can hardly plant in the city, and if you have a house you have to get the soil tested first cause is not all soil good fi planting in the cities, some full of chemicals that are harmful. Obviously the country life is not for everyone, but just something else to thing about.

I am convinced that all the radio and microwaves signlas bouncing out in the atmosphere is affecting ppl. All this wifi practically everywhere and the cellphone signals are effing ppl up mentally. Our bodies are under attack from all angles, and it takes a lot to live natural these days. How many ppl even have water filters on their shower heads? Hot showers is another places where all the chlorine in the water enter your body through your pores. All plastics have chemicals and many estrogenic, but all our lotions and shampoos are in plastic bottles, folks prefer body washes than bar soaps these days. Is a whole heap a tings to consider, but if you can ongle manage fi do 2 or 3 it better than nutten. Just do what you can.

16. mi a watch di first video and di corn a look a way to me now. Mi soon nuh have nutten fi eat :sorry

17. They genetically modify the foods as a way to genetically modify humans and their behavior.Remember we are what we eat. Its all a part of the plan in the war of good and evil the devil and God. These things have been planning for years. the devil want to ruin God’s earth and people before his time is up. These high ranking Government officials most of them are Satanists. They know what they are doing.. Cancer,autism, ADD/ADHD etc.. are from vaccines, fluorinated water (they add fluoride to almost every food and drink) and GMO’S

1. Yes di food a fi program di brain…we haffi start eat good ourselves though because remember di food a alter dna tuh

18. when mi did likkle a think kellogs did a documentary about corn production saying sooner or later they will change the way corn is produced to keep up with the demand. Now I know its GMO they were talking about. Anyone notice how Kellogs flavor and aroma change?

1. I am more of a hot cereal person than cold. But my dad did buy a box some time ago, and is not the same we were eating 30 yrs ago. It tasted plasticky with no flavour.

19. I just watched a real horror movie. The blind eye of the FDA and the Monsanto corporation were the monsters.
    We are really on a very destructive path all because the last few generations need to have everything now and are all about instant gratification.

20. When selecting bar soaps it should be vegetable base soaps. I remember my grandmother showed me a plant with broad fuzzy leaves, she called it “plate bush”, when you put the leaves in water and rub them together it made soap.

21. this post has my head hurting….two things tho…both my kids hate any form of poultry, meat and fish. My 8 year old has started to try chicken. I’ve never met a child who does not eat burgers, chicken nuggets or hot dogs. Let’s just say meal time is a big headache everyday. My son who is a little over one year old is following in her footsteps. Any who the pediatrician told me that humans really are vegans by nature and we forced ourselves to adapt to eating meat. That is the reason why most children reject some form of meet if not all.

Second thing I would like to know is about the water debate. I have not drank tap water in over 17 years. I only drink bottled..Now they say bottled water is actually tap water but my issue is the taste of it and I sometimes can smell the chlorine and the cloudiness..I have tried boiling the water and using a Brita but I cannot get past the taste. We are a family of four and we easily go through 4 cases of water each week…we really do love water….so HELPPPP…is it really spring water or is it municipal water. I have heard so many different stories.

1. I drink Alkaline water. It has many great contributors to the body. One is the cleansing of the colon from toxic build up. There is also a machine that you can purchase. Trader Jones also sells it.

1. Me too Met, it mi use to, mi hab di chocolate-brown,pink(nuh membah wah dem call it and di vanila)..bwaai mi haffi guh back guh soap bush and water pan mi kin caz life it nuh eazy at all…

22. And that is why we have to pray (say our grace) b4 eating anything and everything!!!

1 Timothy 4:4-6Amplified Bible (AMP)
    4 For everything God has created is good, and nothing is to be thrown away or refused if it is received with thanksgiving.
    5 For it is hallowed and consecrated by the Word of God and by prayer.
    6 If you lay all these instructions before the brethren, you will be a worthy steward and a good minister of Christ Jesus, ever nourishing your own self on the truths of the faith and of the good [Christian] instruction which you have closely followed.

23. Tinan, what’s the correct name for the soap bush? I know it as soap bush and plate bush, but I can’t find it on the internet

24. I love this post very informative @none of these things that thought crossed my mind thank you for sharing that scripture
    Thanks Metsy great Friday night read 🙂

25. If we who are BELIEVERS follow the ways of the world we tapp eat food..Altogether!!!

1 Timothy 4:1-3 Amplified Bible (AMP)

4 But the [Holy] Spirit distinctly and expressly declares that in latter times some will turn away from the faith, giving attention to deluding and seducing spirits and doctrines that demons teach,
    2 Through the hypocrisy and pretensions of liars whose consciences are seared (cauterized),
    3 Who forbid people to marry and [teach them] to abstain from [certain kinds of] foods which God created to be received with thanksgiving by those who believe and have [an increasingly clear] knowledge of the truth.

GOD BLESS!!!

26. @Tawkchuet, your welcome my sister… And to God be all the GLORY!!! Blessings!!!

1. Yes Thanks be to God to him all glory belongs @none did u say ur a first timer I have not noticed u before if u r WELCOME and do visit more I’m most impressed when u declared that all glories is for God,
      Sometime last year I kept saying I’m searching for God and it dawned on me that I was ungrateful and wrong to say this has God has been there for me before my conception but now I realize that I was looking for more of him I want and need to be able to discern the things that are him so that I can’t be led by wolves in sheep’s clothing so im really happy that each point you make you back it with scripture and then proceeded to not take praise for your knowledge but declare it as God’s glory.

27. At Anon 808pm:Also check for vitamin/mineral deficiencies,especially iron,add natural omega3.Cut out all juice unless you squeeze youself,and all artificially sweetened foods.Dont be afraid to get her tested,at this age only behavioural therapy is indicated anyways.Dont let nobody tell you shit bout medicine.These kids do great also with a reward chart.I am struggling with this same issue also.Keep praying too.

28. @Tawkchuet, thanks much for welcoming me to JMG. Not my first time here but i tends to only comment on posts that will helped to build my spirit!

Don’t know if u are baptized but if not, u need to do so.
    You are looking for more of Him because u are one of His!

John 6:44 (AMP)
    No one is able to come to Me unless the Father Who sent Me attracts and draws him and gives him the desire to come to Me, and [then] I will raise him up [from the dead] at the last day.

Study GOD’S Word and you will know more about Him!!! Don’t just READ but STUDY.. For God and His Word are one!! When you are rooted in His Word,(HIM) you won’t be deceived by the wolves in sheep’s clothing!!

John 10:27 AMP
    The sheep that are My own hear and are listening to My voice; and I know them, and they follow Me.

God bless u my sister in Christ Jesus!!

Continue seeking His face!!! For when you do, you will have His HANDS also!!

Luke 11:9-10Amplified Bible (AMP)

9 So I say to you, Ask and [a]keep on asking and it shall be given you; seek and [b]keep on seeking and you shall find; knock and [c]keep on knocking and the door shall be opened to you.
    10 For everyone who asks and [d]keeps on asking receives; and he who seeks and [e]keeps on seeking finds; and to him who knocks and [f]keeps on knocking, the door shall be opened.

BLESSINGS!!!

29. I use baking soda to exfoliate once a week. Lemon juice to clear up any dark spot(s) I may create. I dilute the vinegar before

30. A friend was invited to have a falafel with me, after tasting it she began yelling in the restaurant ” yuh mek mi dash weh mi money pon palafla when mi tink ah did meat.” only God knows why I didn’t drop dead from shame. Never again