JAMAICAN WOMAN DIES AFTER BEING JUMPED

A Bronx woman died 10 days after she was jumped and beaten for not letting another woman into a bank ATM vestibule, police sources said Tuesday.

Tamara Sinclair told her sister she thought she was followed and set up when three women pummeled her on Feb. 11.

On Saturday, the 44-year-old nursing assistant and one-time Miss Jamaica contestant died, after saying, “I’m not afraid. I just hope we get through this,” and uttering her sister’s name one final time.

Tamara Sinclair filed a police report Feb. 17 indicating she was attacked six days earlier. She was taking cash out of a TD Bank on White Plains Road near Pelham Parkway South in Pelham Parkway when a woman started banging on the glass door asking Sinclair to let her in.
Tamara Sinclair filed a police report Feb. 17 indicating she was attacked six days earlier. She was taking cash out of a TD Bank on White Plains Road near Pelham Parkway South in Pelham Parkway when a woman started banging on the glass door asking Sinclair to let her in. (Getty Images)
“I spent the last night of her life with her. I watched her take her last breath,” her sister, Keshia Sinclair, 32, told the Daily News. “She was not eating or sleeping for the last four days. She was talking like she knew it was coming.”

She was heading into a TD Bank vestibule on White Plains Road near Pelham Parkway South in Pelham Parkway just before 10:15 p.m., when a woman started banging on the glass door asking Sinclair to let her so she could retrieve her debit card inside.

[More New York] ‘Mistakes were made’: NYPD apologizes for subpoenaing reporter’s Twitter data to combat leaks »
Rattled, Sinclair refused, then crossed the street to a Bank of America lobby.

Ads by Teads

ADVERTISEMENT
“She just wanted to walk away,” her sister said. “She said to the woman, ‘I don’t know you.’”

The woman followed her to the second bank, and they argued before the attacker, joined by two other women, threw Sinclair to the ground and punched her repeatedly in the face, police sources said.

[More New York] Brooklyn mother convicted of drowning 2-year-old daughter by ‘mistake’ gets 18 years in prison »
A security guard intervened, and the three women concocted a story that Sinclair had stolen the debit card, but when the police arrived later, no one was arrested, her sister said.

The Daily News Flash Newsletter
Weekdays
Catch up on the day’s top five stories every weekday afternoon.
ENTER YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS

Tamara Sinclair filed a police report six days after the attack, telling police what happened. Three days after the filing, Sinclair went to Montefiore Medical Center complaining of head and chest pains, police sources said. She had a fractured ankle and doctors told her they wanted to do more tests to deal with her other medical issues but she refused and left, sources said.

A doctor warned her that she had blood clots from the beating that could kill her, but she feared she being hit with a large hospital bill, her sister told The News.

[More New York] NYPD reviewing police response to Bronx ATM assault that left woman dead »
“She said Keshia, I can’t afford to stay. She was determined to go home,” Keshia Sinclair said.

Sinclair told her sister after the attack, she got the notion she was being followed.

31 thoughts on “JAMAICAN WOMAN DIES AFTER BEING JUMPED

1. I pray for her sister, seems like they were very close and had a strong relationship. I cannot imagine what she is going through right now.

2. That’s insane!! I hope they have their info from bank to charge them with her murder! People don’t realize that if you assault and that person dies from those injuries they will be charged for the death. I had a client that was shot by her boyfriend and died three years later due to complications caused by the shot. He was charged with her murder three years later. Smh SIP baby girl! Sad!

1. A DI JANKRO A PLAY GOD..ITS BEEN RUMORS THAT PEOPLE ARE DYING. FOR FEAR OF GOIN THE HOSPITALS FOR TREATMENT because of RECENT CHANGES IN THE SYSTEMS TOWARDS LEGALS NOT ILLEGALS ALONE. THE TING COMING AFTER SPONSORS TOO, THERE’S A QUIET PANIC JUS LISTEN OR PICK UP THE CARRIBBEAN PAPERS..

3. Should have walked with a can of mace, tear gas or pepper spray! though might be illegal to have in possession without a permit but its not a gun and I highly doubt that if found in your possession especially in NYC, police would treat it as such! it could’ve save her life!

1. RAMJAM ITS 3 OF THEM SHE COULDNT MANAGE..ONLY A GUN WOULD DETER THESE CRIMINAL..ITS OBVIOUS THEY WERENT FAR AWAY. Off topic. It’s 400 more years. Not 4 if Bloomberg no win. Dem want Dr Seuss Fi win to walk on his head… PLZZZ vote

4. My God…dis sound like dem do her bad..me feel bad say d girl get beat up so bad and caa afford fe go hospital..den no Govt hospital no up deh..bad to bad..if anything happen to u n u no got no $ u caa go Andrews or Nuttall but Public n UC nah refuse u..all when dem say u fe pay..a next ting if a Ja u deh n dem need fe pay hospital $$ or buy summen fe fix u up..me nah lie Ja ppl we chumps up ..all when casket fe buy n 9night dem we chumps up..me nah ge way Ja fe no way..poor girl..RIP mama

1. U unda Stone fuss ting stick to KPH.. UCH ask to x-ray an payment before Dem touch you..when Las u know anyone who go up there, THEY HAD MY MOM. ADMITTED .THE MOMENT THE CARD STOP.. THEY WANTED THEM BED MY MOTHER DIED AT KPH EVERY JACK MAN WANT MONEY. The doc said nurses don’t follow his orders clearly if u at a certain age they don’t care u can have to come feed u..they jus put down the food. If u unable to feed urself..or tip staff Dem jus come for the container when lunch time done

2. Lady stop talk fart..bout chump UP bodies on ICE till Dem get pauper burial NOBODY no got money Fi buy food. MUCH less..A MUST DANNA PROGRAM YA Talk

5. A mussi Hoods n Grips r wateva gang dem say it wa name..so if dem tink she grab dem card mek dem neva call d cops..a wa dem heng dem rass when dem ketch dem..

1. Lie DEM a tell they wanted to get INSIDE with her them WATCHING who goin on to use the machine standard CRIMINAL hood rats

2. U at 2:32 am..what a way u know say me a lady..a u a run d site r u have insider info? suppose me a battyman..a some real lowlife bottom a d barrel hungry belly white squawl ppl u know r got fe family..a muss cow bahind u come out a dat a bare grass u a nyam…since u live it u can talk bout it..u hear me say nutten bout donna programme. Me no want no pauper pitch pon me comment..go find some cowshit go nyam since u ca buy food..congo worm muss a work u bang gut ya now..Thos is a serious thing..A life has been lost Just put RIP n fuckoff this early morning..a d wrong smaddy dem jump..she can buy food. A ATM she did deh..Gweh!!

3. U at 2:26.. Dem treat u a KPH n UC according to how you treat uself..me have me own house..never lived under a rock..because of how u uncivilize n live inna cave..dem treat unnu accordingly..me no say nay dat u no have fe buy some things..but if u go deh bleach out n fava warewolf n a mek demands like most of ur types ike to do u or gwaan like d nurse dem fe bow to unnu or unnu mek unnu gunman go threaten dem..unnu gonna get fuck..

6. They will be charge and sorry the young lady pass lots of camera so trust me they won’t get away for being stupid
    25 years good for them bout dem a jump people and think it’s cute shit hit the fan now
    49 pct don’t play

7. Who do we blame..our health system or the 3 girls? U.S do better with your citizens! Be like Canada & give free health insurance

1. A DI JANKRO A PLAY GOD..ITS BEEN RUMORS THAT PEOPLE ARE DYING. FOR FEAR OF GOIN THE HOSPITALS FOR TREATMENT because of RECENT CHANGES IN THE SYSTEMS TOWARDS LEGALS NOT ILLEGALS ALONE. THE TING COMING AFTER SPONSORS TOO, THERE’S A QUIET PANIC JUS LISTEN OR PICK UP THE CARRIBBEAN PAPERS..

2. YES MAMGOD BLESS CANADA.. People have died for fear if goin to seek medical attention.. I KNO THAT AS A FACT..Out of STATUS and fearful of SEEKING help..even if u got papers filing. U UNDER THREAT

3. If she was Hispanic the hospital bill would’ve been taking care of, I keep telling everyone Black people fight are different from the Hispanic people. She died because crazy ass hooligans beat her up and the system is so expensive she risked her life and lost. Sad on all levels but it be your own people that rob and steal from you!!!!

1. She could’ve stayed for treatment then ask fi financial assistance to pay her bill, sad situation. Lack of knowledge and fear of deportation mek nuff a we perish…R.I.P

8. Metty where is my remarks?? Loll..u know say me like fe ansa ppl ca me saucy…me ansa 2:26 n 32 n me no see it pop up like it normally do.

9. This one touch mi heart, di woman loose her life fi nuting at all. Dem waste people yah fi Dead, man and women. They give too much unnecessary trouble, weh dem kill di girl fah? Two wrongs don’t make a right and I know that. I am still going to wish they meet it, dem fi wan dead and cah dead. Dem fi suffer more than how this women did. RIP Beautiful, my condolences to the family and love ones. May the lord continue to guide, protect and strengthen you all.

10. @10:22pm the news said she did go to the hospital and a few days later she was found dead in her apartment, sweety I don’t know where you live. This is America you can walk into any hospital and be seen, whether you are a criminal, dont have no papers ect…. the only they’ll do is bill you afterwards or some of them will help you qualify for Medicaid after you have been seen and treated. Sometimes we as people jump to conclusions if you don’t understand all you had to do was ask, better yet google. It doesn’t matter what trump or anyone says once you have a medical emergency and you go to the hospital they see you.

11. @nikkigoodaz what stage do you live in? Cause in my state NOBODY gets turned away when you have a medical emergency, especially if you are on the property already. And that’s a FACT. Let me get a little into my personal business. I use to work in a hospital. You go to the Er they’ll ask you if you have insurance, when you say no they say they’ll bill you at a later date and if you are paying cash most places give you a discount. YOU WILL STILL BE SEEN IN ANY HOSPITAL IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA WITHOUT INSURANCE. And I’m not asking you I’m telling you. ONCE THERE’S A MEDICAL EMERGENCY.

12. You do not need proof of insurance, just go to a reputable hospital,I go to NY Presbyterian ( not the ghetto one in the Bronx)
    you will be seen with or without papers or ID… the bill high nuh rass but you will be taken care of

13. @toothpick thank you! Sometimes some people say things and it baffles me cause I don’t know where they get their story from.