JAMAICAN IN BRITAIN FOR OVER YEARS ALMOST GET DEPORT

A Jamaican man living in Britain for 52 years has been threatened with deportation in what’s being described as the latest instance of heavy-handed treatment by the Home Office.

According to UK media reports, 60-year-old Anthony Bryan arrived in Britain when he was eight and has lived in the country ever since, going to primary and secondary schools, working and paying taxes as a painter and decorator, and helping to bring up his children and seven grandchildren.

Despite that, he was sent to an immigration detention centre and booked by Home Office staff on a flight back to Jamaica, where he hasn’t returned since leaving.

However, a last minute intervention by an immigration lawyer resulted in him missing the flight and he was released from the detention centre last week.

It was also reported that his situation remains uncertain and he’s been left dumbfounded by his treatment by the Home Office.

“I feel they could have treated me better than this after I’ve been here 52 years,” said Bryan in an interview with the Guardian newspaper.

The Home Office, however, said that Bryan was “not currently subject to removal action”, adding that he had failed so far to provide the necessary evidence to show a lawful right to remain there.

Bryan’s case is the latest in a series of people who have been threatened with deportation despite living in Britain for the best part of half a century.

Last month, Paulette Wilson, 61, also a Jamaican, was almost booted out the country despite living in the UK for nearly 50 years.

6 thoughts on “JAMAICAN IN BRITAIN FOR OVER YEARS ALMOST GET DEPORT

1. Ms Met! do you see the supreme court granted “dumpster” his way with the travel ban? I said it before that if any type of terrorist activity takes place on US soil between this past spring and this fall no matter how minor they would give him his way, and so said, I think the supreme court took into consideration what happened in new york and the incident in niger with the 4 army personnels because the supreme court is very sensitive, especially the 3 far right and the 2 center right judges, but that news is clouded by the big bangarang that will stink up the news this whole week, apparently paul manafort violated his bail, US intelligence intercept caught manafort in contact with a russian linked to russian intelligence services, this just happen recently while he was on bail, according to news sources his bail will be revoked, is that bold or what? or he is just that stupid? or something more sinister.

1. Im not surprised the supreme court did. Most a dem a republican nominated for one. The new thing is manafort was writing in favor of the russians as much as last week

2. siners weep an moan, what a rass, NOBODY HEARD OF THE MAN IN QUEENS WHO ICE WENT TO HIS HOUSE, HE MISSED IT. AND FLEW HOME ONLY TO HAVE AN HEART ATTACK 3 MONDAYS AGO HE WAS 62, PEOPLE NO MEK NO ONE TELL U NUTTEN JAMAICA NICE WHEN U CAN FLY OUT, FOR SOMEONE TO GET SENT HOME AN NO CONTACTS TO GET HUSTLE ITS FCKED UP, U CANT PUDDUNG U FONE 2 FOOT RAT DEM DRW IT WEY, U SHARE KITCHEN AN U FOOD MISSING IF U TALK U CAN LOSE U LIFE, H.W.T, FULL A HIIGGLERS EVERYBODY LEF TOWN, DEM BUN OUT MARKET TEEF MI FREN BARRELL ITS NOT THE FIRST DEM SUFFER SHE. HER TINGS FROM ENGLAND, SETA JANKRO DEM, HOW HIGGLA FI SLEEP AN FRET PON BARRELS OR FIRE DEM NO MUS SICK

3. ITS A YR NOW SINCE TATTY DROP DUNG ROUN DEH, A 2 TIME DEM TEEF HER TAUPALING, DEM WATCH WAT U HAVE LIKE A HAWK HER FAMILY SEND HER STUFF, IF U BARRELL COME NO GET EENA NO RASS TROUBLE, U SEE PONY KIP QUIET, AN SOUND BONE,

4. MET A TRUE THE BIBLE SAY A CHILD SHALL LEAD DEM, U NO C HIM ENDORSE THE PEDOPHILE RIGHT IN OUR FACES, THX FI DIS SITE METTY OOO