JAMAICAN FAMILY FACES DEPORTATION FROM CANADA

A Jamaican family in Canada is again facing the threat of deportation despite expressing fears that their lives will be jeopardy if they are sent back to Jamaica.

The widowed mother of three is worried she will soon be sent back to a country where her family will be at danger at the hands of the same criminals who killed her husband, Everton Jones, six years ago.

Despite applying for refugee status, Natasha Gordon-Jones has a hearing today with Canada Border Service Agency, and is facing deportation. The agency has not given her an explanation.

A report in the St. Catharines Standard newspaper says Mrs Gordon Jones has been working in Canada since obtaining a permit to do so.

Her son 17 year-old Jason-Lee spent the last five years attending local schools, making many friends in the process. He will graduate this week.

Michael, the youngest of her three children, who requires specialised medical care for sickle cell anaemia, will also graduate from an elementary school this week. Her oldest child, Sasha, is married to a Canadian.

At the last hearing with Canada Border Service Agency in February, the family was allowed to remain in the country until her children completed their education. But last week, Mrs. Gordon-Jones said she received a letter from the agency informing her about the new hearing.

If they are forced to leave the country, Mrs Gordon-Jones said there is nothing awaiting them in Jamaica, but fear. She said her husband, who owned a scrap metal business in Spanish Town, was murdered on July 29, 2011, after refusing to pay extortion money to a gang.

She said the family started getting death threats following his murder, and they fled Jamaica to stay with her sister in Mississauga. She believes the threat against her family still exists.

11 thoughts on “JAMAICAN FAMILY FACES DEPORTATION FROM CANADA

1. Oh gosh man! A das why more time Yuh wah stawt a ting dung deh enuh but a dem tings deh mek mi nuh badda. Dem muss can give dem a bly still dem ago be alright.

1. Mrs Gordon Jones are who over here reading, how far did you go in involving the law with what made you so fearful?

Canada and Jamaica work together and you really didn’t set grounds for “refugee” status…Jamaica no have civil war or famine so that nah say much.

Marie what’s your take?

1. PP lol…mek mi talk carefully…One scenario is that Canada will send a couple of deportation orders… stress out families while at the same time bleeding them dry only to turn around and grant permanent residency after years of limbo(every case is unique tho).. The route that she has taken is NOT unique. Its been overdone. I would be more optimistic had she married a citizen. She is at the mercy of the panel at her hearing. It can go either way. I wish her the best.

2. Canada should consider the circumstances in which they came, their lives was in danger, the father was murdered, sad. Father God please take over from here, father u r the judge and the jury, the most high. Mama keep praying

1. Canada does grant stays on humanitarian and compassionate grounds. Jamaica is not war ravished neither is there political uprising. Homosexuality is what I heard some PPL are now claiming.

1. A going to enquire about har…if the reply not of a sensitive nature me share it with you, Marie.