JAMAICAN ACCOUNTANT CHARGED FOR 3.4M TAX FRAUD

Screen Shot 2015-05-22 at 12.19.47 AM

Federal prosecutors say a Davie accountant used her income tax preparation business to file fraudulent claims, launder money and steal from her clients and Uncle Sam.

Pamella Watson, 60, of Davie, will remain locked up in the Broward County jail system at least until a bond hearing next week.

Pamella Watson, 60, of Davie. Federal prosecutors say the certified public accountant used her Miami tax return business to file false income tax returns and divert money from clients into her personal accounts.
Watson was arrested Wednesday on several federal charges, including mail fraud, wire fraud, money laundering, submitting false and fraudulent claims and aggravated identy theft. The most seroius charges carry a maximum punishment of 20 years in federal prison.

Prosecutors said Watson used her Miami tax preparation firm, Watson & Associates Business Services, Inc., to run a tax refund scheme that defrauded many of her long-term clients and the government.

Watson has not yet indicated if she will contest the allegations. Her lawyer, Michael Hursey, declined to comment after a brief court hearing Thursday in federal court in Fort Lauderdale.

Without the clients’ knowledge, Watson prepared two versions of their tax returns, according to the criminal complaint. She gave an accurate copy of the return to the clients but submitted a fraudulent version, seeking a higher refund amount, to the IRS, Assistant U.S. Attorney Neil Karadbil wrote.

When the IRS approved the fraudulent refund, Watson arranged for the expected amount to be deposited in her clients’ bank accounts and had the rest deposited into an account that Watson controlled, according to the allegations.

An IRS analysis of Watson’s bank accounts showed that more than $3.4 million in tax refunds — linked to 183 of her clients — were deposited into her accounts between January 2011 and September 2014. And 10 checks, totaling more than $222,500, that her clients wrote to the IRS were credited to Watson’s personal tax account, investigators wrote.

More than 70 percent of the 550 federal income tax returns Watson prepared for her clients for tax years 2010 through 2013 involved refunds that were fully or partially diverted into Watson’s account, prosecutors said.

Watson also transferred more than $1 million to an account in Jamaica, according to court records.

The investigation began in 2014 after at least one of Watson’s clients became suspicious and noticed something was awry with his return.

Investigators provided a cooperating witness with what looked like an IRS audit letter, and Watson agreed to represent the client. She later submitted what prosecutors said were fraudulent medical bills that appeared to show the client had undergone medical treatment in Jamaica.

The client later confirmed to investigators that the medical expenses were falsified by Watson and the client had received no such treatment.

0 thoughts on “JAMAICAN ACCOUNTANT CHARGED FOR 3.4M TAX FRAUD

1. As a CPA myself I don’t understand why she would throw it all away. She is close to retirement age and is now facing some serious time. She has a nice client base but greed overpower har common sense. That’s why most states forces us to take an ethics exam after passing the exam.

1. When you want to live the high life, like a lot of Jamaicans, which exceeds your incoming revenue, you have to resort to stealing. Desperate people do desperate things to keep up with appearance of success.
      The house in Davie, Florida that she paid US$1.55 million for back in 2005 is shown below. She had a 1,240,000.00 Mortgage, taxes and insurance, not to mention a high monthly HOA fee for that gated community.

That million dollar house went into foreclosure in 2010, so my guess is when she started ripping off the IRS and her Clients (Foreclosure case was cancelled 2.5 years later). She has been a CPA and Owner of her CPA Firm for over 20 years.

http://bcpa.net/Photographs.asp?Folio=504023091170

http://bcpa.net/RecInfo.asp?URL_Folio=504023091170

http://199.27.243.5/default.htm?cmd=ZOOMPARCEL&folio=504023091170

1. She did send $1 million to Jamaica, which the GOJ will gladly help themselves to when she is found guilty. I hope other family members in Jamaica don’t get caught up in her mess (Laundering part). She of all persons ought to have to have known better. With so much cash, why didn’t she quit when she was ahead and cut to Jamaica. I’m sure she has built a mansion there.

She is a very professional lady, but have a very mean streak to her, an intimating posture and come across as being a dyke.

1. When mi look pan har face and look pan di amount I wondered how and why………… if that man never caught on she woulda gone wid all that money she too damn greedy

2. That ethic exam don’t reach the core of the human heart. I had it out wid one who feel my money is her money fi add to the ranger and red bottom purchases- bitch had to cut me a next cheque.

Damn craven bitches! A rob dem own. Haitian and Jamaicans find this likkle niche and a take advantage. People you can go and check onu payout via the IRS website and if the preparer bank (3rd party) is listed on you papers you can check their amount on the 3rd party website.

IF dem rob you start spread the word so they don’t have customers next tax season.

2. Yep, she’s pretty well known and charges $200 just to file taxes which can be done for free on Turbo Tax. She knowingly files tax returns for people she knows has never held a job.
    Established tax preparers will make enough during the season to sit pretty on the rest of the year. I can never understand how they are so comfortable scheming the government and why it is she underestimated both the government as well as her clients.

1. $200! she cheap…my own try me fi $900! She file the taxes, put in the wrong bank # had the money routed through a 3rd party which subtract her fees and product fees…all that genialship is how I caught on to the scheme.

3. Dawg nyam fi har supper cause she ago serve some serious time and she suh close to retirement…not only dat di $1mill weh she transfer seized I’m sure..long run,short ketch

4. This is all greed. I can never understand why people would scam they own poor people. Couple years ago my tax preparer who was Nigerian did something similar to me. He was taking the preparation fee out of my return and yet when I get my return he will request the payment of $200.00. Which I paid. I did not find out what he was doing until one year I was audited and during my conversation with the agent I noticed all the discrepancies with my return. I did not say anything to the agent but I later called him and told him what I found out. That was the last time he ever filed my tax returns and I told him if I noticed anything suspicious with me or my children information I will be giving the IRS a call back.

5. After being convicted, look for the Jamaican Government to move quickly to seize all her funds and properties in Jamaican. What was greedy about her whole scheme is she did not share any of the illicit proceeds with the people’s names she used to make over $3.4 million. Her life as she knows it is over and she has lost standing in the Jamaican Community, plus a very long sentence ahead.

6. Wow, that house is expensive and the property tax is high of course. Over 20 years as a CPA and she make greed devour her and ruin the goodwill she built up. I wish I was practicing in FL and with so much experience under my belt. In addition to doing taxes, she could have been providing consulting and accounting services to supplement her income. Simply no excuse for this behaviour.

The reason why dishonest CPAs/enrolled agents/tax preparers focus on these low level tax fraud schemes is because it’s usually easier to get away with due to low figures involved.

1. In addition to doing taxes, she could have been providing consulting and accounting services to supplement her income.

She DID offer those services. I though the Personal Income Tax Preparation Services was just a small part of her business.

BTW, her monthly HOA Fee was close to $600 per month ($7,200 a year). Can’t imagine what her Insurance premium was like on that $2+ million house.

2. My thief she all file JET FUEL pon me and me nu own plane!

People, log on to the IRS site after you’ve file and read what may not show on paper.

7. Allegedly, the analysis further showed that 10 checks (totaling $222,676) that had been written by the defendant’s clients to the IRS were in fact posted as credits to Watson’s personal tax account history.

WOW!!! She stole $222,676 directly from her clients.
    ———————————————————————–

Prominent Jamaican Accountant in South Florida charged with fraudulently filing Income Tax Returns

Pamella Watson
    SOUTH FLORIDA – Pamella B. Watson, 60, a prominent Jamaican Accountant of Davie, was charged with criminal complaint for submitting false, factitious, or fraudulent claims punishable by up to ten years in prison; aggravated identity theft punishable by a mandatory consecutive term of two years in prison; mail fraud punishable by up to twenty years in prison; wire fraud punishable by up to twenty years in prison; money laundering concealment punishable by up to twenty years in prison; and money laundering punishable by up to ten years in prison.

According to the complaint, Watson operated Watson & Associates Business Services, Inc., a tax preparation business in Miami. Watson allegedly used various methods to fraudulently file federal income tax returns and receive unauthorized tax refunds on behalf of her clients. She allegedly prepared the tax returns and provided the respective client with a copy of the filing which showed a refund amount and/or an amount payable to the IRS.

The complaint alleges that without the client’s knowledge or authorization, the figures on the prepared return were changed and a tax return showing a higher refund amount was in fact filed with the IRS. It is further alleged that the client’s bank account received the refund amount reflected on the copy of the filing shown by Watson and the remainder of the inflated tax refund was deposited into an account controlled by the defendant. The complaint alleges that the client did not have any knowledge of the refund falsification and splitting.

The complaint further alleges that Watson prepared approximately 557 federal income tax returns for her clients, for tax years 2010 through 2013. Allegedly, 395 (71%) of the filings received refunds which were split into an account controlled by Watson or the entirety of the refund was diverted into the defendant’s bank account. It is further alleged that 5 of the 557 tax return filings showed an amount due to the IRS and 11 of the tax return filings did not claim a refund. Allegedly, the remaining 541 (97%) tax returns claimed a refund.

The complaint further alleges that an IRS analysis of Watson’s bank accounts, for the period from approximately January 2011 through September 2014, showed more than $3,405,479.20 in tax refund deposits related to 183 client taxpayers. Allegedly, the analysis further showed that 10 checks (totaling $222,676) that had been written by the defendant’s clients to the IRS were in fact posted as credits to Watson’s personal tax account history.

Watson was ordered held in custody following her initial appearance on the complaint. A pre-trial detention hearing before United States Magistrate Judge Lurana S. Snow is scheduled for May 22, 2015 in Fort Lauderdale.

http://sflcn.com/prominent-jamaican-accountant-in-south-florida-charged-with-fraudulently-filing-income-tax-returns/

1. mek mi go read again and investigate…das y i mek sure sign up with florida news oo…nuff jamaicans going dere now with the foolery

1. All I see is stolen coins, lol dam thief and cockity pon top a de “thiefTness”.

Me don’t partial young or ole fi tell dem bout dem self cause I DON’T grudge a soul fi dem things.

1. sorry for the victims at the hands of this savage but no man she a one a Charlie’s Angels…oh what a bam bam lololol

8. She couldn’t use some a the tiefing money do a chemical peel and patch out har face? somebody come fi unuh hype tiefing auntie.

9. When Uncle Sam dun wid har shi aguh mash up like crackers plus she’s going to be older than what she is now, ah hope she an har family bury suma dah money de!!

1. she neva up in di first place because wid all dat money mi did expect she fi do nuff works to har face

10. So har business wasn’t making money legitly and was losing her home suh she decide fi ramp wid IRS….before this lady tek up a second job or find sumting smaller she decide to spend her retirement days in prison,she nuh know not to mess with IRS???Mi not sorry for her one bit,wat she did was cruel

11. Met did you see the one that worked for the Sheriffs office making base pay $45,000 yearly helping with the breathilizer fi di drunkards dem.Now she decide she want extra money as well and buy 10 identity from under cover agents fi taxes,now dis beech ago mek ova 100 cases thrown out with these drunk drivers cause she handled it

12. I cant believe she was living such a lie. Posing with politicians and yet in real life you are a big thief. Damn shame but nothing last forever. We can only pretend and fool people for so long. Truth will always prevail.

13. im not surprised most people who are UP there are thieves how dem get there is always by bandoolo means.. her time just up she lived well i suppose … she’s 60, her old ass will b alright in prison.

14. Well one positive is Big Bertha won’t b bothering her cause she fava big Bertha harself smh greed+fool fool = jail time

1. Lmaoo wid all that money she theif I would think she would fix up har old mash up face my god what she really spend all the cash on . Not even a decent cream or go the dermatologist go clear them up . Greed is a deadly sin no matter what they will always get caught this type of shot don’t last forever irs is the biggest theif you can’t scam them . Dem nuh ramp

15. Fi har house a nuh nuttn inna di neighborhood. Nuff land but is a old house. Nothing like Noel house. But dis tidbit a pose an moggle long time. As someone above said, she has hosted many political events at di yard. Charge on bag a money bout political donation…..har Bessie teach har fi Tief, but she neva learn fi flee.