WHEN SPICE DID OWE LEXX PERRY REWIND

MI DID TINK A 700 A 900 TILL SPICE BAWL IT DOWN AND HIM SEH 600………PAY DI MAN..VERY STRANGE HOW LEXX PERRY END UP CONTACT THE STAR LIKE HOW KARTEL LOOK ALIKE CONTACT THE STAR AND NOTHING CAME OF IT LOL. IS RED EYE CAUSE DIS..SPICE SAW EVERYBODY A WEAR LEXX PERRY AND AS USUAL WANTED TO BE IN THE KNOW..DI MAN SEH 600 ..PAY HIM..ITS THE SAME THING NUFFY SAID…EVERYBODY CANT BE LYING..PAY DI PEOPLE DEM

Attached is a story allegedly originally submitted to STAR Magazine and they reached out to Kavelle for her response who then reached out to LEXX people and was a screaming LUNATIC saying how they looking to extort Spice for FAME and MONEY and STAR saying they are hurting SPICE image with unsupported stories….BUT when i saw this on your “PINK WALL” http://jamaicangroupiemet.com/2012/07/luk-here.html and being a LADY SAW FAN I said NO SAH! She need a new planting cause her spice DRY!

The purpose of this email is to clarify the reason behind Me Lexx Perry shedding light on certain practices reggae artists have in regards to “Pro-Bono” or “Quid quo Pro” business dealings.

Shottas “Ah escort yuh ah try Escort Meh Biggs”

May 2009 I was introduced to Spice via a Fashion Show at Borough of Manhattan Community College. After her performance she said she wanted to meet the designers and I was escorted to her dressing room. When Spice saw my designs and I informed her that I also designed the for the OUCH Crew and the Dancehall Queen Clothing line in Montego Bay, Spice was weak over my style and designs and dismissed the other designers and only remained in contact with me. Upon meeting each other she immediately loved what Lexx Perry’s unique sense of style was and felt they could work together on  things she had in the pipeline including her anticipated Reggae Sumfest Performance. Shortly after because I am a fashion expert and had the hottest store in Brooklyn at that time Supernova Boutique, I introduced Spice to hot brands like Radii footwear to carry in her store and consulted her on the fashion retail business. One day she was in my store and while we were talking business, she brought up that Reggae Sumfest was coming up and for me to create a performance outfit similar to Britney Spears for her. I pulled up some images on the computer and Spice said she wants something different and referred to a gold outfit that Britney was wearing.

They collaborated on the look and Lexx made the performance piece. She insisted that the outfit must be shocking and outlandish. I made sure that Spice achieved the effect. I informed her that shocking colors are best effective and she agreed with me to do the outfit in Black and Hot Pink. It was 2 weeks to Sumfest. Spice said she would be back the next weekend to fit the outfit. She never came back. I spoke to her and she requested that I send the outfit down because Sumfest was the next week and she needs something to wear. I spoke to Spice directly and informed her that the outfit will cost $900 and that she needed to wear a corset, girdle or body suit to hide her belly. Spice told me that was okay and she will see when she gets the outfit I told her that I would send it down with my cousin that was flying down the next day. Spice picked up the outfit from my cousin’s workplace in Kingston.

C:\Users\nn23\Downloads\IMG00074.JPG

Dancehall Night 2009- Spice wore a piece that was a Michael Jackson influences jacket over the Lexx Perry outfit and performed in the outfit. She was interviewed by Chris Goldfinger BBC radio personalities and was quoted Ramesh designer as who designed her outfit. Majority of the photos after the event that was posted throughout the net was that of her in the Lexx Perry Outfit, and nowhere was his name mentioned as credit for designing the piece.

I did not hear from Spice until I reached out to her days after the performance and media blasts to clear the balance that was owed. When I spoke with her, I told her I saw a picture of her in the outfit and she said “Lexx the outfit made my belly look big.” (Considering at the time of the performance she was pregnant) I immediately asked her if she didn’t try on the outfit before the performance and why wouldn’t she have a tailor make adjustments down in Jamaica before she went on stage. Due to her dissatisfaction I said ok Spice just give me $600, which would cover materials and labor. She said ok when I reach New York, I will deal with you. That is the last communication I had with Spice. After the conversation I made several unsuccessful attempts to reach out the Spice for payment to no avail.

Fast-forward to 2012  I recently made a trip to Jamaica for some well needed R&R and upon my arrival I was flooded with requests and love for my eclectic fashion sense. Considering I wasn’t there on a business trip I wanted to still leave my mark on my native Jamaica Buff Bay I was forced to virtually sell the clothes off  my back to individuals who couldn’t wait for me to make my signature pieces for them. At that time it began to dawn on me that I had an opportunity to be a strong fashion force in Jamaica when I created a performance piece for Spice when her career was in the highest of her success and never got credit. I then began to tell the people who was commenting on his clothes that I did designs for American Hip Hop Celebrities as well as Reggae Artists such as Spice. They then began to ask me what outfit I did for the artists and that’s when the “BOMB’ was dropped, Unbeknownst to me when he mentioned to people he created the costume Spice wore for Reggae Sumfest 09 everyone said she noted herself for the creation of the outfit and only mentioned Ramesh as the designer for her performance that night. At this point I became INFURIATED and this is what has brought about me bringing this story to light.

Upon speaking with STAR magazine rep it was suggested to contact Spice Public Relations Rep to “iron out” exactly what transpired between  us. I enlisted his Manager/PR Rep to contact Kavella directly to “clear the air”. However it was clear the reception was that of resilience and total dissolution. Immediately Miss Christie came to defense mentioning there are several methods of contact to reach Spice via website booking agent etc. However, in Kavellas defense she was not privy to the business dealings Spice and I made, so contacting them would be pointless. At that point Kavella instructed me to “send me all documents supporting an invoice for services rendered”, because this sounds like an EXTORTION!’ “Why contact STAR MAGAZINE?”  The purpose of the call was a “courtesy call” to advise her PR people of the situation that transpired in 2009. I do not expect Kavella or BluePrint to be held responsible for business decisions artist they represent to held liable for. Realistically speaking how the relationship was going there was never any mention of invoice or introduction to PR persons or managers. It is also to my knowledge that typically within the Image Consulting Culture in Jamaica artists are rarely invoiced its majority verbal agreements.

My products are carried in over 60 stores worldwide and at the moment I was working heavily making pieces for real stars like Ciara, Keri Hilson, LL Cool Jay and  Missy Elliot and the list goes on.

MISSY EL.jpg
Keri.jpg
DIRTY MONEY.jpg
JACKI O.jpg

Every time I do an interview with Jamaican press, I always mention this situation, as the whole thing didn’t sit right with me. that on top of not paying me even one cent for service she couldn’t even give me a mention.

IF SHE DIDN’T LIKE THE OUTFIT WHY DID SHE WEAR IT. I DIDN’T FORCE HER TO WEAR MY WORK. She could have easily returned it back to my cousin or shipped it back to me. She knew what I wanted for the outfit before it was even shipped. If she couldn’t afford it, she shouldn’t have agreed to have the outfit shipped.

For the short time that we were in good standing, everything was very cool. When she stopped responding to my efforts to close the verbal agreements that we made, I felt like an idiot, because people always say Lexx don’t do it, she is going try to take advantage. I love and respect all the leading women of the dancehall. Even if I got my mention in the paper, at least I would have had some type of promotion that could have led to future business with others, to make up for the delinquency of her business ethics.  

14 thoughts on “WHEN SPICE DID OWE LEXX PERRY REWIND

1. What a wicked web we weave when we seek to decieve!!The extent of Splice’s raw evilness is on full display.She hatched a plot NOT to pay the Lexx yute.She knowingly lie that is Ramesh wear created it so that later when Lexx wanted his rightful money,she could dismiss him n claim he was trying to extort her.

Surely then Ramesh would come talk that he didn’t Mek it, but splice was yet again one more evil step ahead by downplaying his role afterwards n tekking more credit claiming work she never did!!The extent of how devious,spiteful,contemptuous and bitter Splice can be ,knows no limits.Despicable much…pay di yute with interest yuh too bomboclat damn disgusting !

#Grace is a DISGRACE

1. Lexx Perry does GREAT work. He is detailed and his products last a LIFETIME. She’s a bitch for not paying him.

1. But fi no pay and then deny the man credit to his work mi nuh know how she do what she do but deliverance is an option

2. I have absolutely no more words to describe Spice. She’s indeed a user. She took also 2 dresses from designer Carmichael and she still haven’t paid. I told him to blast her in the media and he haven’t as yet. People need to stop supporting spice.

3. I know Lexx and he is definitely not in neeeeed of this money but he deserves to be credited and PAID. SPICE obviously hasn’t realize the bridge she burned there. Lex’s network reaches way way way beyond the dancehall circle and I am sure he will be around when she comes tumbling back down.

4. A das why ppl nuh waah be beautifully dark because a dah gal yah cause dung tuh har heart black…bitch fi duh betta man atleast a dem yah kina ppl reach cause dem step pan others fi get rise.

5. So Spice really squeeze up her pregnant belly inna dat leftover material? Pay the people what you owe them. Life is funny. It’s this type of behaviour that block blessings Spice. Why people must work for free? Be very careful before you stop get bookings.