CHRONIXX ON KARTEL

Chronixx has responded to his critics in a lengthy Instagram post titled “whey yuh know bout pressure” after being accused of disrespecting Vybz Kartel.

The roots reggae singer received heavy backlash from social media users for a comment he made about the jailed dancehall deejay.

Chronixx was speaking with Noisey about crime and Jamaican music when he said Vybz Kartel over time had become cannibalistic through his music. Take a listen.

CHRONIXX

Though the majority of the comments showed support for Vybz Kartel, there were a few persons who supported Chronixx.

One viewer posted “this is a very intelligent analysis of the impact that dark mind dancehall artistes have on the Jamaican society. Their degradation of self, murderous messages, unhealthy sexual practices and the promotion of the fast life cannot go unnoticed.”

While another stated, “Chronixx, don’t go there with that bull. The man in jail, give the man a break, do your thing. I am 50 and I have been going to dance before you were born. Deejays like Echo Slackness and Yellow Man used to sing slackness long before Kartel.”

Chronixx in his lengthy post said “for all true supporters of Vybz Kartel as a true talent… you have all right in the world. Put every other element aside, Vybz Kartel as a student of the music and our culture is an undeniable and exceptional talent who has proven himself to be a fearless creative soul on this earth.”

This is the second time Chronixx has come under heavy criticisms by social media users. Last year he was attacked on social media for his controversial ‘waste man’ statement that was directed at United States President Barack Obama.

13 thoughts on “CHRONIXX ON KARTEL

1. I wish people would come off chronixx case. A man can a really defend kartel ? I have enjoyed many Kartel songs but you cannot deny the adverse social impact

2. I have to say I am impressed with chronixx’s insight. I myself always wondered why Kartel was so consumed with fleSh. This is the proper term being used. He is canibalistic. I am real and I approve of this message

3. The big question ,is he lying time and time again we look at the society and complain this chop up is friend fine and despose of his body then we glorify him if it was America his songs could not play but Jamaica it’s different no body seems to have a problem since they’re been entertain life is simply and for one man to be so evil an we put him up so high I wonder how much we have change as a nation we use to be full of morals and discipline but now these new generation glorify the wrong so much our nation is now known for the wrong we do .

4. Kartel is a great artis an di most influential artis of dis generation which means he cud have done way more good fi di culture an massive amount of weak minded ppl who seem to worship him as dere lord and savior kmft.

5. Mi affi agree with Chonixx. Kartel is so lyrical he could have done way more. But him want Chuck badness. An trust a mi a nuff debate mi used to get inna fi back Kartel back in the days.. But u have to know when enough is enough.

6. What is due to Ceasar should be given to Ceasar. But not even Ceasar should get more dan him deserve in dis world. Di man talented and powerful yes, but with that talent and power comes great responsibility, but this man has chosen to be selfish and arrogant, subsequently violent and heartless, and as a result has ended up where such people end up

7. I am a big Kartel fan. Or rather I like his music , how he uses language is amazing but the subject matter sometimes questionable as a art form though it is great.PPl have a right to speak out against him bcus he has proven himself to be a traitor to his society.

8. We know vybz kartel, his musical persona not adijah palmer who is a son, brother and father. One of the best lyricist. Freedom of speech is also a right. I don’t understand why ppl associate kartel with the violence that goes on in Jamaica. Before he was born there was violence and he’s locked up now an everyday i read the observer or gleaner somebody is murdered. A lot of veteran deejays when kartel was a child would deejay about violent things hence why some were boycotted. Ppl have a lot of bad things to say about his music yet you still listen an in the same breath glorify American rappers who rap about cooking cocaine an selling drugs in trap houses, some also rap about killing too

9. You answered your own question, he took it to a greater level. He also started mixing music with demonic fractions. If you do not feel his energy u r already trapped.

10. “Mi granny say from mi a likkle boy she see the mark of the beast inna mi eye” kartel is talented but very toxic. Chronix is right. How can you say you want to better Jamaica but yet you pollute the youth. The next generation are so week that anything this man says is taken a gospel

11. Right now, mi nuh rate how Chronixx dealt with this. Initially, he rightfully go eeen on Kartel and then he back pedaled like a clown. Especially since him have people out deh a defend him and thing…