THE BOLT!

The legendary Usain St Leo Bolt said goodbye to the National Stadium in fine style, when he left the rest of the field in his wake in the 100m Salute To A Legend race at the JN Grand Prix this evening.

Bolt clocked 10.03 ahead of Javaughn Minzie, second in 10.14, and Nickel Ashmeade third in 10.17 seconds.

Bolt never looked like being beaten on the night he got an emotional send off in front of a packed house at the National Stadium and as he lit up the track, a magnificent fireworks display followed for the man who lit up track and field around the world for the last 17 years.

Like he has done so many times before, Usain Bolt crossed the finish line in front, as he closed the book in what was his final race on local soil at Saturday’s JN Racers Grand Prix at the National Stadium.

But not before his usual theatrics at the start.

A ‘To di worl’ pose as he was being introduced, Mo farah darting on the infield, GoPro camera in hand to get his vantage point of the historic moment; it was the sort of end everyone expected and the fireworks that met his 10.03 seconds win at the finish line was symbolic of the most exciting career in track and field.

Javaughn Minzie was second in 10.15 with Nickel Ashmeade running third in 10.18.

“I really appreciate you guys for coming out and supporting me. After my friend’s death it was really hard for me, I have never been through something like this, I had to take some time but I knew what I had to do and I knew Germaine (Mason) would want me to do this. This was special,” said Bolt after his event.

“There are no words, from World Juniors the support that I have been getting from Jamaica has been remarkable. I could not have done this without my parents, my friends, my best friend NJ, I want to thank Jamaica, I never expected this. It’s big to see everybody turn out, it shows that they appreciated what I did and it was a honour for me,” Bolt added.

It wouldn’t be a Bolt 100m without a poor start and so-so first phase, but as he has done over the years, the big Jamaican took control of the field and powered home, returning to kiss the stadium track before addressing the crowd.

Yohan Blake got his share of the limelight with a 9.97 seconds win in his 100m event leading from start to finish to get the better of Akani Simbine, 10.00 and Keston Bledman, 10.22.

“It has been going really good for me. Usain told me before I came out here, ‘Blake stay patient’ and that’s what I did,” said Blake.

Wayde van Niekerk set a world leading time of 19.84 seconds while winning the men’s 200m event.

The South African 400m world record holder was in complete control, ahead of Rasheed Dwyer, who was second in 20.11 seconds.

Fellow Jamaican Warren Weir placed third in 20.18 seconds. His Racers Track Club Teammate, Zharnel Hughes of Great Britain was fourth in 20.22 seconds.

World champion Danielle Williams, 12.81 was second in the 100m hurdles behind Sharika Nelvis, 12.78 with Sally Pearson, 12.83 running third.

Demish Gaye continued his fine form with a 44.73 seconds run in the men’s 400m. Lalonde Gordon was second in 45.18, while Machel Cedenio took third place in 45.57 seconds.

Farah delighted the crowd by crossing the line first and with a signature Bolt pose as he won the men’s 3000m in 7:41.20 ahead of Pat Tierman, 7:41.62 and Jamaica’s Kemoy Campbell, 7:41.87.

Willy Tarbei pulled off one of the talking points of the night when he pipped world record holder David Rudisha on the line to win the Men’s 800m.

Tarbei finished in 1:44.86 ahead of his Kenyan teammate Rudisha, who clocked 1:44.90 seconds. USA’s Erik Sowinski took third in 1:45.27 seconds. Jamaicans Chadoye Dawson, Daniel Glave and Sadiki White, were fifth, sixth and seventh respectively.

Shamier Little won the women’s 400m in 54.21 ahead of Dalilah Muhammad, 54.59 and Ristananna Tracey, 54.61.

Shanieka Thomas-Ricketts produced a stadium record, 14.31m to win the triple jump event.

Christian Taylor took the male equivalent in 17.20m with Allyson Felix running strongly for the women’s 400m win with a time of 50.52.

World Junior champion Jaheel Hyde turned a good performance to finish second in the men’s 400m.

Hyde, who ran a personal best 48.52 at the Jamaica International Invitational on May 20 also at the National Stadium, finished second in 48.82. The race was won by Quincy Downing of the US in 48.13. Jonny Dutch of the US was third in 49.00 while fourth went to Jamaica’s Roxroy Cato in 49.43.

“I am pleased with my performances so far this season as I am running much better than last year, as I am consistently running 48 seconds, compared to last year. I am healthy and I am looking forward to trials as I think I am on the right path”, Hyde said

23 thoughts on “THE BOLT!

1. Thank you Sir Usain Bolt for the many years of sterling service to the country. You have been at the top of your craft for more than nine years. Splendid service to self and country. I salute you Usain. We watched you grow from a boy to man, and you are like family. Your charitable ways and your antics have always come across as genuine, no pretence. God bless you. Much respect. Hail the legend. Proud a yu caan dung.

2. Off topic.. Met come here you couldn’t pinch me and tell me say papcaan a date whit Trini woman? Paocaan put up two picture and from dem roast him.. Him doe put up a next picture. Ppl must leave them to do what they want to so even though they are fans that actually help build his career. Look at tiger wood on Simpson me a wonder if paocaan understand when she talk or a exposer him a look mek him sweet, when dem man ya get likkle money them go back go invest it in a the white community.

3. Heroes get remembered but legend never dies extremely proud of you we all Jamaicans are we salute you proud jamaican

4. Really cute picture doing the rounds of Usain and Kasi partying last night and also kissing Kasi yesterday at the stadium….crowds hanging onto him and surrounded by a sea of people but takes time to kiss his girl. I like the braids on her, definitely suits her.

Blessed Sunday to one and all.

1. Ok Kasi u get a likkle knowings and owning. I’ll call the clowns,you book the elephants and the baton twirlers,a parade in ur honor is needed. What price pride?

5. Really cute picture doing the rounds of Usain and Kasi partying last night and also kissing Kasi yesterday at the stadium….crowds hanging onto him and surrounded by a sea of people but takes time to kiss his girl. I like the braids on her, definitely suits her.

6. Really cute picture doing the rounds of Usain and Kasi partying last night and also kissing Kasi yesterday at the stadium….crowds hanging onto him and surrounded by a sea of people but takes time to kiss his girl. I like the braids on her, definitely suits her.

7. I will always respect him as an athlete and for never embarrassing
    Jamaica by using banned substances. Even when that jealous badmind american drug addict did come for him, Bolt shamed him and all pose up with Obama…ouch. Hopefully, Bolt is scoping out real raw talent to fill his shoes and to make Jamaica proud again.

8. That kiss reminded me of when his career was just taking off…the hug and kiss shared by him and mizicann… ain’t nothing special.

1. Whether he was kissing his ex or current girlfriend, his mother or even his pet dog, it simply shows that with all the attention around at that moment, he remembers to kiss that special person in his life. To each their own but regardless of the recipient of the kiss, I think it is very special.

9. Yes gabby u gi weh uself… many times u talk about not responding to anonymous bUT yet u come on posting as an anonymous person …lol…what a big joke…Joke is on u girl!!! Have a fantabulous Sunday!

1. I rarely respond to negative comments so this is a one off. I attempted to post a comment under my real name but the website kept throwing me out when I tried to type my name, I tried it a second time and the same thing happened. I thought I was banned, Met !!!! I know how my comments upset the masses here. So on my third attempt I tried Anon and it went through. I did not realise that my posts went through, hence the duplications. I’m not quite sure what kind of point you are trying to make but you are way off the mark.

10. Anyway gabby, this is all entertainment for me and u r right, we r all entitled to our own opinion….have a blessed Sunday!

11. Yes we saw the pic gabriel aka kasi… sadiki was also with them partying lol wonder if they went home n had a threesome usain, kasi and sadiki lmao oh and the hairdo is cool kasib but kinda regular braids on a regular browning.. congrats usain u are awesome on the track but a gyal clown inna real life!

12. Who di f cares who he kiss, do a survey of the wealthy people in the world and see if u nuh find out them either, gay, bisexual, sleeping with animals, taking coke, unhappy, very freaky, very lonely, full a trust issues, paranoid. When u become famous n popular one or more of those I listed out reach those 98% of the time. Very few wealthy n rich are Christians n most a dem die lonely. So men him lib him life, bolt is a freak suh him can kiss anybody or anything. Where was his brother by the way, I never see sadiki there, or he was elsewhere. Sadiki need fi member dem a half brother n a by father side. Wen uno born from the same womb das different but wen a father uno related by das no damm big deal.

1. Keli, are you saying that because Sadiki and Bolt is half brothers that’s it’s ok for Kasi to f**k them both? You dirty, filthy hoes is what is wrong with this country. Would you say the same thing if it was a ghetto girl or someone not as famous? No you would not, you would be one of the persons calling that person all sorts of names but because Bolt is Rich and Kasi is your friend or family then suddenly it’s ok to f**k two brothers. No wonder foreigners says Jamaica women will do anything for money, you hoes keep proving them right everyday.

13. hats off to a legend… i’m so proud of him and that he’s brand Jamaica, everytime i see him i feel proud and a bawl like a my pickney, always beaming with joy whenever he took to the track! continue to do great things Mr. Bolt you are very much appreciated for the great things that you done for this country!!! *raising the Jamaican flag in honour of a legend*

14. As a people, us Jamaicans will forever be in debt to you Mr. Usain Bolt. As great as we know him to be, I contend that his greatness is yet to be fully realized. Like Pele, Ali, Jessie Owens, et al, this man is a once in a life time athlete. Thank you Mr. Bolt.

15. Anonymous 21, I say them a half brother because they are not close anymore, I was not referring to not seeing sadiki there, obviously u can blood cleeth read but have a big f**king comprehension problem dutty stinking gal. What di f**k did u read, bitch go suck u muma n f**k off asshole. If u have comprehension issues don’t bc read n try comment, fuking dum dum.