JAMAICAN ATHLETE HELD ON SHOPLIFTING CHARGES

A member of the Jamaican all-schools team to the annual end of season tournament in South Florida is to appear before a Dade County judge this morning after he was caught shoplifting in a store in the US state on Sunday.

The 19-year-old grade 13 student of a Corporate Area school was charged for shoplifting, a misdemeanour under the Florida legal code, a senior member of the delegation confirmed to the Jamaica Observer last night.

The delegation of 20 players plus officials is expected back today but the player had made arrangements to spend the rest of the holidays with relatives in the USA, it was said.

It was heard that the player and several other members of the team had gone to the store and were leaving when the discovery was made that one of them had an item, a piece of clothing, that was not paid for.

He was held by store security and the police called and he was taken to a police station where he was processed and released into the custody of Inter-secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA) officials.

The ISSA official told the Observer that today’s appearance in court “will be a formality” where the player will sign documents agreeing to community service which he will be able to do in Jamaica.

It was said that on completion of the community service the player, if he wanted, could return to the court to get the charge expunged from his record.

7 thoughts on “JAMAICAN ATHLETE HELD ON SHOPLIFTING CHARGES

1. He is young and dumb and will move on from this. I cannot even imagine his humiliation at this stage. Sometimes what seems like a good idea at the time proves otherwise. Young man take this as a learning lesson and make a commitment to yourself to never do this again. I am not going to throw insults your way because I am sure you are throwing them at yourself already and perhaps hearing it form those close to you.

2. 19 yrs old is an adult. Too redyeye and teef.. U get a chance to represent yourself and country at a high level and the prospect of a college coach seeing you and giving you a scholarship and this is what you do. A so unnu walk and kill ppl fe them things that them work hard to achieve.

3. Must be a good player to be chosen to rep the country. And this is what he does.smh only hope this doesn’t mess up his chances of a scholarship.

4. I see the sorrow and pain in your eyes lttle black Prince. I won’t bash you at all. Things aren’t not always what they seem. Take this as a lesson, and learn from it. Praying that you forgive yourself first, all things will fall in place.

5. Uno too damn judgmental! Life is about making mistakes, using it as a learning lesson not to happen again, and move on. I bet some ah uno ah some crimpling material pucci gyal weh cyaa walk past a cemetery.

Yute! get up, dust off yourself and continue making momma proud. Soon you’ll be able to afford all the things your young mind is yearning for.

Patience is the key, and you’re definitely moving in the right direction.