DAMION CRAWFORD SEH HIM CONCERNED BOUT THE GAME

Concerned not for the Player but for the Game:
My campaign during the last election for the People’s National Party was fuelled solely by my conviction that the PNP is better for the country’s future. I had no expectation of personal benefits nor did I seek to negotiate for same in the form of positions or promises. This is the same motive I assign to voters. Regardless of the party they vote for, they are seeking to elect as Government the set of individuals with the ideas and approaches they perceive to be best for their country, Jamaica. This motive of an improved Jamaica does not end with an election victory or loss. Whether or not one’s party is victorious, the campaign for the victory leading up to an election should transition to a campaign for outcomes subsequent to an election.
This transition from party campaign to country campaign and, indeed, from party support to country support is easily understood when one accepts that by natural design, democracy has two components; (1) the game of politics and (2) the business of Government. Simply put, the success of a nation is dependent on finding equilibrium between the two, or better yet prioritizing the business of Government over the game of politics. It is my opinion that Jamaica’s current position is largely due to the constant prioritizing of the game of politics over the business of governance, notwithstanding the fact that in the game one team wins and one team loses but in the business of governance we are either all losers or all winners. In governance, six out of ten times one is faced with a decision which requires analysis of the political implications versus the national impact and I have seen the negatives that this has caused.

"Independence _ Part 1_Damion Crawford (2015)

"Independence" – Part 1- Watch and Share…

Posted by Damion Crawford on Monday, March 14, 2016

I remember when, as Minister, I tried to attract all the major international reggae shows to host branded events in Jamaica with the intention to cement Jamaica’s position as the unquestioned home of reggae. Of course, in my mind it’s the unquestioned home but assertions have been made that France and even Japan are the “new homes of reggae” with Jamaica being relegated simply to the ‘birthplace of reggae’. I engaged the Reggae Sun Skas and the Rottotam Reggae festivals of the world reaching as far as Rottotam forming a company in Jamaica, drafting a proposal and visiting the Ministry for discussions. Then, as word got out, there was an article in the paper stating that the Government was willing to sponsor “white men” while local promoters were being ignored. The political implications of this rumour taking root caused for the efforts to die a quick and painful death much to my disappointment. I was disappointed for the country because I was aware of the billions of dollars Nashville earns from being the unequivocal home of country music, what Trinidad makes from being the unequivocal home of soca and what New Orleans makes for being the unquestioned home of the blues.
As a second example, I remember visiting South Korea and being invited for an interview on the most popular entertainment show Infinite Challenge. To my surprise, three days after the interview I had over 600 south Korean followers which fuelled my intentions to have Infinity Challenge filming a show in Jamaica. I also remember being fearful to use the cell phone to make calls to South Korea due to the whole phone bill scandal. The long and short is that despite the political risk I made many calls to South Korea and eventually the show agreed to do filming in Jamaica and paid their own way as well. Subsequently there have been dramatic increases in both Asian visitation and Asian intent to choose Jamaica for their future vacations.
It is with this eye one should analyse the naming of a cabinet by a newly elected Government. What is the effective size of a cabinet? The truth is there is no single answer. It is my opinion that the cabinet should be as big as is necessary while being as small as possible. It should depend more, in my opinion, on the priorities of the Government and the required talent pool rather than being based on saving .006% of the budget.
Let us look at the cabinet as a meal. The priority consideration for a meal is that it includes specific food groups to provide the essential nutrients. The secondary consideration is that it is affordable. Now, let’s assume the reverse that the meal’s first priority is cost, and second nutrients. In this case the purchaser buys the cheapest meal but lacks the necessary nutrients. As a result, he becomes ill and is forced to spend more on healthcare than he would have spent on the meal with the essential nutrients. This is the ultimate example of the saying “penny wise and pound foolish”.
I hold no grief for the fact that Mr. Holness has named a cabinet with two less members than Mrs Simpson Miller did. If that is the number he deems capable to carry out the Government’s mandate, fine. However, the fact that Mr. Holness found it necessary to place it in his speech as an example of greater commitment to austerity drives fear in me that he might be more focused on the game of politics than the business of government.
Let us for a minute look at the fact that the JLP Cabinet has at least 2 Ministers over 50 and about 6 Ministers over sixty which I personally have no problem with, as age be it young or old is not a disqualifier in my opinion. However, faced with the reality that even by nature’s design there will be a need for ministerial transition, shouldn’t Mr. Holness have named two or three more younger Junior Ministers with the objective of exposing them to the procedures of Government, so that at the time of transition they would be sufficiently experienced to make a smooth transition, especially since these individuals would only be paid about $70,000 more than their Member of Parliament salary? Is it that for a pat on the back the new PM has left us with a cadre of unexposed future legislators? ‪#‎ThinkOnTheseThings‬.
Of course savings are good but if savings were the only consideration why not name a 5 member cabinet (devil’s advocate). In the context of a Government whose budget was over 645 billion for the year, last year, the saving of 24 million is equivalent to you being told that the cost of an item is $645,000 and when you ask for a discount you are told ok I can take off $24. In response your’e likely to ask “$24,000?”and would be shocked to hear “no $24 dollars.”
Of course I accept that every little makes a muckle, but it’s not every muckle that deserves a celebration. If at the end of the year Mr. Holness and his team wants to itemize dollar by dollar how they saved a billion then I would offer my kudos. But I surely hope that he will not continue to say ‘cooperation’ in one turn, and ‘last lick’ in the next.
In closing I just want to remind readers that it is dangerous to be critical before first thinking critically.
Damion Crawford (Citizen)
https://www.facebook.com/Damion.O.Crawford/videos/1215203971837067/?pnref=story

35 thoughts on “DAMION CRAWFORD SEH HIM CONCERNED BOUT THE GAME

1. Happy Monday Met.
    This is another KMT moment for this rasta. Him attempting to boost that comment about size and cost of the current cabinet.
    Btw, what him a do a S.Korea fi de pon radio? Didn’t we part ways wid dem base on them free zone slave/sweat shop labor practices?

2. Boy when people are so ip in their own asses!
    Crawford, the itemized budget won’t be at the end of yhe year. It started as soon as the admin gained full access to what’s left in the peoples “threadbag”. you didn’t see the news about the $6.9 B whey can’t be accounted for? 😀
    You remind me of rumpelstiliskin.
    If you were schooled in public policy/admin you would know budgeting is paramount.

3. ” In closing I want…” Hon. Holness to budget in an excellent economist that’s
    farrrrrrrrr remove from anything Jamaican. Preferably one who specialize in social and labor issues because those are the 2 nagging issues we have in my opinion.

1. Me say de expectations are huge and dem a behave like when young baby want feeding NOW 😀 or when you carry de likkle wretch dem down the cereal or toy aisles and dem want it NOW 😀 😀
        I hope Hon. Holness don’t behave like label whores by doing things fi impress anybody, because these devils a chat from throw him off course.
        :kr mock de dread comes to mind, all Stichie voice when him say “dread! Now what yu selling?”

4. People who don’t want to learn anything always dominating the comments.PP for example always have so much to say but I am sure no one has ever learned anything from what she often posted.
    Here is a man with exposure to government and governing teaching us something and as usual the empty barrels are first on the scene.
    How about saying nothing?
    Think about it next time.

1. Me tell you don’t address me.
      Attention you looking and won’t be getting. Regulars not coming here to see regulars at war.
      Nopes.

2. How can anyone learn anything from Phantom Phoenix when her comments are impalpable and makes absolutely no sense? She is an empty vessel…all bark, no bite! To reiterate, she is quite dumb, a buffoon of the highest level. That is why she chose to label herself a Phantom (Ghost).

5. Duppy Bat Gay or Jay or wah u want fi name. We dont want to hear nothing from no PNP, The country need a change it is as simple as that… so give the man time let him do what he doing then we can start the criticising.

6. Give man time to do what ? You acting like 80% of Jamaicans voted and give this dude the ok to do anything.He barely got the votes of 24% of Jamaicans eligible to vote.Andrew have not promised or plan to do any spectacular or different.In fact he must be quite surprised that lunatic followers are expecting him to work miracles.
    Jamaica is poor and have very limited resources.
    Jamaica don’t need any change,we need to continue on the path to creating a successful economy.Very few countries are successful without exploiting other countries or using natural resources;it is then a uphill struggle for us.

1. U wrong there so just like every day u comment.jamaica has alota resources and cause u prime minister couldn’t see she sell it out to people……when people listen to u they lose hope in jamaica.

7. PussC you no immune! from February 25 you stay quiet and like a ultimate bitch you want fi come try a gang up tactic! bitch on no motherphucking planet you nor you tribe can test me…ONLINE OR OFFLINE! Me known fi back up me bark pon multiple levels!
    mi rather to be a empty vessel than a loaded cum bucket like you.
    You a rass coward because if a bitch neva bark today you neva know you fi come test me? Go choke pon a cock an lo me mongrel bitches! You done know i don’t give a iota a phuck! come juice me mek me really empty out!
    You a common assault but you deserve a hi hello dus out since you love come yah come seek attention. Next week me ago need you fi come cork me hole as usual since you is a backup fi who wan tek set pon me…go chuck off back and rayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy up unda yu man or gal fi de week bitch.

8. Yow Gay or Jay or wah u want fi name, nobody cares about voter % is only what to come people looking forward to. Reality is Andrew Holness is the Prime Minister for Jamica, if u dont like that chuck off! Any human been who decides not to address the people of the country because of a personal apology to them, they must NOT be leader of this country. Country needs a Prime Minister not a God.

9. Mi seh PP it quiet like a wounded dog!! Unu tek dis rass ting too far! I remember how his comments used to flood the wall! Make no mistake FLO00Od the wall! A who resurect it? Unu too salty man! PNP mi seh but truth is truth Damion ratings a drop daily! The visions people like myself had for him are no longer present!((( NEXT)) Dem still in them feelings!

10. Seriously people, is there a need for the personal attacks? When the ones participate in that regard–inclusive of myself–you/we are belittling yourselves/ourselves. There is no need to vituperate; focus on the issues–let’s debate the issues as cogently as possible…

11. After reading and watching the video clip, I can’t imagine how an objective persons could possibly have any issues with this man’s outlined principles. Yes, there are instances where he prefered the PNP’s way of doing business and at the same time–especially, he went to great lengths to scold the present-day PNP party. Relative to the principles of the PNP party, he pretty much related the party’s members to the status of derelicts.
    I will resign to the fact that some individuals will never be honest brokers. Within reason, I don’t care what the man have or might have said prior, when individuals posts are made, in lieu of the usual non sequiturs, just discuss the presented issues/content. Sometimes, I wonder how some of the ones function in a professional environment, where objective analysis is a requisite.

1. Damion a two mouth cutlass too and stuck on defending his argument from 26/02…common tribalist traits.
      Professional environment is not the same as informal online forums, just like it’s impossible to have genuine conversations and opinions with strangers online before they either attempt to dominate or show that they can’t be trusted. Sad, but factal.

12. PP u need no one to defend u but I think the time has come to tell you to STAND ur ground.To date nobody never have to come pon yah n tell yuh fi wash off ur heart wid jelly water. The sad reality is that some ppl have to dim other ppl’s light so dem can get a chance fi shine.Some ppl prefer to try to steal ur limelight or feed off Ur reflection to get notice.
    Met is fulltime u tell some ppl to look Inna demselves and say this little light of mine,im gonna let it shine,let it shine,let it frigging blouse n skirt shine!!i for one don’t mind Pp,tinan!simplicity,lalibela,G,saranwrap,bammy,Real,WNpP,NRWM,marie commenting all 50times pon rapid!Jay stick to being a serious joker cuz troublemaker nuh fit u boss!

13. Yardaaay big up yuhself! That trouble mekker comment made my evening! JAy big up yuhself to! And Calm Nile!! :hope

14. Any win a win Andrew Holness is the Prime Minister of Jamaica ,like it or not so all who dont like it go and tek some sleeping pill and dont wake .so all the comdread it full time u all get over it ..Omar Davis drop dun and plenty more leave fi drop dun too unuo is a set a teef and dunce just like dem dunce head leader it bun dem ..dem cant get no more money fi teef abayyyyyyyyyyyy

15. My statement applies to all–I was not targeting an actual individuals. I saw a lot that brought me displeasure. Individuals will always disagree; however, in my opinion, individuals need to maintain a level of decorum that commensurate with the respect that you desire–command yourselves in that regard. After all, are we not civilized and seemingly intelligent?
    The good old book states that the Leopard cannot change its spots. We are who we are and our words are definitely reflective of whom we are–a just so mi see di ting.
    If we are not willing to evaluate the issues/contents as they are presented–in lieu of subscribing to pre-conceived notion–then there is no need for the different references. Again, a just so mi si di ting. Genuine conversations are had in the social realm all the time. I work in a technical/technology capacity and mediums like this help up out all the time.
    Even when a plethora of facts state that individuals like myself are not so-called tribalistic, individuals still filibuster true debate by accusing us of being tribalistic or partisan. This is the case when facts are inconveniently against their ideological leaning.
    Nothing I resent more than dissenting individuals who are not able to use facts to cogently articulate why they are in opposition. I have since reconciled to the fact that we will always be at an impasse–as the ones are tethered to preconceived notion. Said notions will be held until Shiloh commeth.

1. :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak. Verse and chapter epilogue preface and table a contents full a throw wud?