ONE OF THE STUDENTS KILLED IN FLORIDA SHOOTING MOTHER WAS JAMAICAN

RJR News has been informed that one of the 17 victims of Wednesday’s deadly shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida is of Jamaican parentage.

She has been identified as 17 year old Helena Ramsay.

Her mother is Jamaican and her father Trinidadian.

A woman identifying herself as Helena’s cousin, Fena Cooper, posted a message on Facebook saying: “Helena, we miss you dearly and are so incredibly sorry that your life was cut short. You didn’t deserve this. We love you so much and will miss you greatly.”

Another cousin, Jamie Page, wrote that Helena was “a genuine, beautiful, and smart human being who had so much potential and the brightest future.”

The killings in the affluent Miami suburb of Parkland have raised concerns about potential failures in school security and stirred the ongoing U.S. debate about gun rights, which are protected by the Second Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.

Leaders including U.S. President Donald Trump have linked mental illness to Wednesday’s violence, suggesting that it was the public’s responsibility to warn officials of such dangers.

3 thoughts on “ONE OF THE STUDENTS KILLED IN FLORIDA SHOOTING MOTHER WAS JAMAICAN

1. Jamaica needs to put out a travel advisory to our citizens about living in the US. every likkle ting dem quick fi put it out pon we. We need fi do the same, cause up deh nuh safe.

2. Phuck unuh an unuh mental illness bs whenever it comes to a damn white person or persons taking innocent people lives… because if it was any other MUSLIMS, black etc y’all would quick fi label Dem terrorists….sleep in peace Angel