MAN WAR PAN FACEBOOK LEAVES YOUNG GIRL WITH JAMAICAN PARENTS DEAD

Tatyanna Lewis’ friends tried to talk her out of fighting and so did her boyfriend, Tyshaun Page, whom 18-year-old Lewis had been dating off and on for about four years. During one of the off times when the couple spent two months apart, Page fathered a child with Chynna Stapleton, 24.

But the fight, which started as a Facebook feud over Page, turned deadly late Friday night when Stapleton rammed her Jeep into Lewis, pinned her against a tree and then backed up to run her over again, according to prosecutors in court Monday where Stapleton, charged with murder, was ordered held without bail.

Lewis’ best friend Jazz Clarke, 17, explained that Tatyanna and Ty eventually got back together and Ty told her he had a baby on the way. It wasn’t necessarily easy, but Tatyanna accepted the child because it was Tyshaun’s.

“She always told me she don’t want to be part of that, the baby mama drama. She don’t want nothing to do with that,” she said.

Last week, friends say, Lewis grew increasingly tired of the social media taunts and disrespect from Stapleton. Clarke said she and other friends kept telling her to stop wasting energy on it.

Lewis, the daughter of a Chicago police officer, was in a nursing program at North Shore Hospital in Evanston, was acting as a caretaker for both her aunt and grandma and making plans to travel to her native Jamaica this summer.

And, she got the guy. Page, 20, was talking about marriage — last year he bought her a ring.

ats.

Lewis sent Clarke screenshots of what she wanted to write to Stapleton. By Friday night, Lewis had enough of words and wanted to fight.

She and Stapleton agreed to link, or meet up and fight. They kept posting messages on social media about where they’d meet, which ended up being in front of Page’s house near 114th Place and South May Street in the Morgan Park neighborhood, officials said.

Clarke last spoke to her best friend on FaceTime at 11:06 p.m. Friday. A friend with Lewis paused the FaceTime call. Then Lewis began a Facebook Live stream that showed her punching Stapleton repeatedly, according to Clarke, who saw the streaming video and said Lewis chose not to post the footage to her Facebook page.

When the livestream cut out, it seemed like Lewis was fine.

Right after that, the friend with Lewis called Clarke, screaming, crying and begging Clarke to come help. It was 11:17 p.m. and Clarke said she could never have imagined what happened in those 11 minutes.

Tyshaun Page, 20, boyfriend of Tatyanna Lewis, an 18-year-old woman who was killed after being repeatedly rammed into a tree by another woman, talks about the incident on May 15, 2017, in the Morgan Park neighborhood. (Alyssa Pointer/ Chicago Tribune)
After the fight broke up, a bloodied Stapleton had gotten into her 2002 Jeep Liberty with a 13-year-old in the back seat, Cook County prosecutors said during the bond hearing Monday.

Lewis kicked a passenger-side door as Stapleton was trying to pull away, and witnesses then heard Stapleton yell, “I’ve got something for you,” Assistant State’s Attorney Jamie Santini said.

Stapleton made a sharp turn, drove the Jeep over the curb and onto lawns on May Street, where witnesses saw her “barreling down on them,” Santini said.

Lewis tripped and fell as she tried to run from the Jeep, prosecutors said. Stapleton hit her with the Jeep and pinned her against a nearby tree, then put the car into reverse, Santini said.

Lewis was stuck to the front end of the Jeep, and as Stapleton reversed the car, she dragged Lewis along until Lewis was pulled under, according to prosecutors. Stapleton then stopped, shifted into drive and ran Lewis over with both the front and rear wheels of the Jeep.

At 11:27 p.m., Lewis was pronounced dead.

A Saturday autopsy found that Lewis died of multiple blunt force injuries, according to the medical examiner’s office, which ruled her death a homicide.

Stapleton fled after hitting Lewis, leaving leaked fluids and car parts in her wake, prosecutors said.

Chicago police pulled her over about a mile and a half away, officials said. Officers noticed extensive damage to the Jeep and that Stapleton’s face was bleeding. They also saw tree bark on the front end of the car, Santini said.

The 13-year-old in the back seat was physically unharmed, prosecutors said. The teen’s relationship with Stapleton or Lewis was not immediately known.

Stapleton has no criminal history, her lawyer, Christopher Anderson, an assistant public defender, said in court. He said that Stapleton was provoked by Lewis’ “provocative language” online and in person. Anderson also said witnesses saw Stapleton was beaten up at the scene.

Judge Maria Kuriakos Ciesil noted, however, that the fistfight was over by the time Stapleton had gotten in the car.

“Not only did you hit her, you dragged her,” the judge said to Stapleton. “All the while you’ve got a 13-year-old in the back seat. … You are a danger to yourself and society.”

Onlookers in the gallery pounded on the glass separating them from the courtroom as Stapleton was led away after the hearing, drawing rebukes from sheriff’s deputies.

Stapleton’s father, 46-year-old Jesse Stapleton, declined to comment.

“She’s not a monster,” he said of his daughter. “That’s all I’ve got to say.”

Kuriakos Ciesil made her opinions known from the bench. “It’s really sad that it’s always women fighting over men. Ridiculous,” she said.

But Page insists the women weren’t fighting over him. He said it happened because “Taty was tired of being picked on.”

Neither of the women were friends on Facebook, but they could see what the other one was saying, according to Clarke. Some comments were s*xually graphic and others were just cruel.

A post on Lewis’ Facebook page — her last — at 8:12 p.m. Friday said: “His (baby mama) say she pulling up I’m on the block right now please don’t send me off.” The post has been shared more than 850 times.

Page said once he realized what Stapleton was doing on the night of the fight, it was too late for him to intervene. He said if he had just insisted that Lewis go inside or get out of there, she would’ve listened. But it was too late.

“I couldn’t even say ‘watch out,’ I couldn’t say nothing,” Page said. “I turned back around and she was already to … you know.”

Clarke said Lewis wanted to be a nurse and the pair talked about joining the Army later this year. The two teenagers both came from Jamaican families so Clarke said Lewis called themselves “Jamericans.”

They were both proud to have jobs after school, to have worked to buy cars. When she wasn’t trying to pursue modeling, Lewis was the kind of friend who would text “I love you,” or “You’re beautiful” out of the blue, Clarke said.

Lewis was the baby of her family and the only girl, with three big brothers, Clarke said.

Clarke was grounded over the weekend and after a recent move to the North Side of the city, she couldn’t get out to meet Lewis on Friday.

“I feel as if I was there we would never even have went over there because I would’ve told her, like, it’s not worth it, we should do something else,” Clarke said. “Because I got a bad feeling about that.”

19 thoughts on “MAN WAR PAN FACEBOOK LEAVES YOUNG GIRL WITH JAMAICAN PARENTS DEAD

1. Firstly I wish to express the sadness at the loss of such young life, may she rest in peace.

But there is a lesson to be learnt here. She won the fight but lost her life, how tragic is that. She is no longer here to enjoy her life, the other woman will go to prison undoubtedly for a long time. Whilst he the man will be free to have another woman at any such time that he chooses.

Social media hyping and warring can end up with terrible consequences.

2. One dead one gone a jail. New pum pum to him ting. Mi caan believe dat inna big, big, bug 2017 women are still fighting ova man. The drama started on FB, but di two a dem a follow up di argument. They both wanted the war, now dem si sey war a nuh good ting. Dem lucky, mi nuh sorry fi nun a dem.

3. This is extremely sad, RIP, youmg life gone so soon over a man, the other life will be wasted in prison, all for a man, so not worth it at all.

4. If the man have a first love it makes no sense to pick him up and get pregnant for him because he will eventually return to that first love once she want him back and leave you lonely, broken hearted and bitter. These bitches love to play rebound then get mad when they are rejected. That girl very stupid too you way too young to be fighting over a man now ur life lost , she’s headinv to prison and he is free to have this same situation happen over and over again. If its more that you can handle MOVE ON LEAVE “THEM” alone smh she didn’t even “live” very sad

5. This is so sad, I shook my head the whole time while reading this. A young woman with her whole life ahead of her. She worked an had aspirations of becoming a nurse, sad. Father God please comfort her parents and love ones, RIP.

6. Far to often women accept things that they are whole heartedly not really willing to accept…and I think that was part of the reason for the fight here! Lewis got her man back but the jeering and taunting of JEALOUS Stapleton. Learn to WALK AWAY from people or situations that will cost your PEACE and sometimes your LIFE!

7. 8:12—- 8+1+2=11
    850—– 8+5=13

IT COULDN’T BE MORE CLEAR
    please don’t send me off.”

MI SPEECHLESS

8. Sad. Sad. So dad is a cop she might have felt she extra bad n can defend any talk. both at fault but the law don’t care a person die so as u see judge naw tek di self defense argument. baby mom will go to jail…. Both are 2 blame. She say babymom fi pull up n baby mom pullup n reverse… bet u him did a tell di two a dem say him naw deal with the other.. Same night dem a fight di man him probably did up unda next pum pum. Being so young u can see how it hard fi move on it takes a lesson fi woman leave a man something big affi happen.. Dats y u see man cheat woman say man beat woman stay.. But it’s sad that this lesson cost 1 death n 1 prison

1. Right I was thinking the same thing. She’s not fully innocent here either. She asked for a fight. N it just so happens that it ended badly. I just wish both of them could have just walked away instead. Women need to start team up and beat the man dem.

9. Let me sum this up real quick. A 20 yro guy is in an on again off again relationship with an 18 yro old girl for the last 4 yrs. During an off period of two months he out there raw digging a 24 yro lady who subsequently became pregnant (Dwayne Wade & Gabrielle Union story). Home boy gets back with his girlfriend and this causes beef between both women. They do not have each other on fb but could see what each other posted. They got embroiled in a deep argument and agreed to meet up for a fight (Peter & Matt). They met us for a fight and they both ended up being losers. One lost her life, the other lost her freedom. At the end of the day, was it worth it. These ladies (I use the term loosely) had no business being on the internet. They got worked up over what each other was posting. Neither of them knew how to block and delete. Sad but it was entirely avoidable.

10. Met to how mi head a spin while reading this mi not even know where to begin smh. The article is poorly written Enuh everything just seem so dash een and nuh put together….A child lost their mother, a family lost their children and everybody a mourn. One down to death and one gone to the system. This is just crazy