ELIJAH CUMMINGS DIES

Democratic congressman from Maryland, Elijah Cummings who gained national attention for his principled stands on politically charged issues in the House, his calming effect on anti-police riots in Baltimore, and his forceful opposition to the presidency of Donald Trump, died Oct. 17 at a hospice center in Baltimore. He was 68.

The cause was “complications concerning long-standing health challenges,” his office said in a statement. Mr. Cummings was chairman of the House Oversight and Reform Committee and a leading figure in the Trump impeachment inquiry and had been out of his office for weeks while recovering from an unspecified medical procedure.

Born to a family of Southern sharecroppers and Baptist preachers, Mr. Cummings grew up in the racially fractured Baltimore of the 1950s and 1960s. At 11, he helped integrate a local swimming pool while being attacked with bottles and rocks. “Perry Mason,” the popular TV series about a fictional defense lawyer, inspired him to enter the legal profession.

AD

A white mob attacked Elijah Cummings for integrating a swimming pool. He was 11.

“Many young men in my neighborhood were going to reform school,” he told the East Texas Review. “Though I didn’t completely know what reform school was, I knew that Perry Mason won a lot of cases. I also thought that these young men probably needed lawyers.”

‘It was like a gut punch’: Reactions pour in after Cummings’s death
Following the news of Rep. Elijah E. Cummings’s (D-Md.) death on Oct. 17, politicians, television hosts and community leaders paid tribute to the civil rights cham (Amber Ferguson/The Washington Post)
In the Maryland House of Delegates, he became the youngest chairman of the Legislative Black Caucus and the first African American to serve as speaker pro tem, the member who presides in the speaker’s absence.

In 1996, he won the seat in the U.S. House of Representatives that Kweisi Mfume (D) vacated to become NAACP president. Mr. Cummings eventually served as chairman of the Congressional Black Caucus and as ranking Democrat and then chairman of what became the House Oversight and Reform Committee.

‘A giant of integrity and knowledge has fallen’: Congress reacts to the death of Rep. Elijah Cummings

He drew national attention as Secretary of State Hillary Clinton’s chief defender during 2015 congressional hearings into her handling of the attack three years earlier on U.S. government facilities in Benghazi, Libya. The attack killed U.S. Ambassador J. Christopher Stevens and three other Americans.

AD

He was “the quintessential speaking-truth-to-power representative,” said Herbert C. Smith, a political science professor at McDaniel College in Westminster, Md. “Cummings has never shied from a very forceful give-and-take.”

The death of Freddie Gray
Baltimore’s plight informed Mr. Cummings’s life and work on Capitol Hill, a connection exemplified by his response to the death of 25-year-old Freddie Gray in April 2015 and the explosion of outrage that came after it.

Gray died of injuries suffered while riding, improperly secured, in a police van after he was arrested for carrying a knife, in his pocket, that police said was illegal. His death ignited rioting in Baltimore and elevated tensions nationally over perceived racism and excessive violence in law enforcement.

Speaking at the funeral, Mr. Cummings, who lived near where Gray was arrested, bemoaned the presence of media to chronicle Gray’s death without celebrating his life.

AD

“Did you see him? Did you see him?” Mr. Cummings asked in his booming baritone. The church exploded with applause, and civil rights activist Jesse L. Jackson sat, rapt, behind him. “Did you see him?”

“I’ve often said, our children are the living messages we send to a future we will never see,” he said, his voice rising. “But now our children are sending us to a future they will never see! There’s something wrong with that picture!”

When looting began, hours after the funeral, Mr. Cummings rushed, bullhorn in hand, to a troubled West Baltimore neighborhood, where he worked to restore order and to assure residents that authorities were taking the case seriously. (Six officers would be charged in Gray’s death, although prosecutors failed to secure a conviction against any of them.)

Bullhorn in hand, Rep. Cummings works to heal his beloved Baltimore

Amid the unrest, he and a dozen other residents marched, arm in arm, through the streets, singing “This Little Light of Mine.”

AD

Mr. Cummings was known for showing the same kind of commitment in the House. The bullhorn he wielded in West Baltimore was emblazoned with a gold label that read, “The gentleman will not yield.” It was a gift from his Democratic colleagues, bestowed after Rep. Darrell Issa (R-Calif.) silenced Mr. Cummings’s microphone at a 2014 hearing into complaints that the Internal Revenue Service had unfairly targeted conservative nonprofit groups.

The next year, while serving on the House Select Committee on Benghazi, he sparred with Chairman Trey Gowdy (R-S.C.) during hearings Republicans convened to examine Clinton’s role in the Benghazi debacle.

When Gowdy interrogated Clinton about Libya-related emails sent from a longtime confidant of hers, Sidney Blumenthal, Mr. Cummings interjected: “Gentleman, yield! Gentleman, yield! You have made several inaccurate statements.”

AD

Talking to reporters in the hallway later, Mr. Cummings said his primary purpose was not to defend Clinton but to seek “the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.”

“Let the world see it,” he said.

The experience didn’t appear to sour Gowdy on Mr. Cummings.

“It’s not about politics to him; he says what he believes,” Gowdy told the Hill newspaper. “And you can tell the ones who are saying it because it was in a memo they got that morning, and you can tell the ones who it’s coming from their soul. And with Mr. Cummings, it’s coming from his soul.”

Dealing With Trump
Cummings defends unleashing subpoenas over Trump security clearances
House Oversight chairman Elijah Cummings (D-Md.) urged Congress April 2 to support issuing subpoenas over Trump administration security clearances. (The Washington Post)
The first two years of the Trump administration, 2017 and 2018, were agonizing for Mr. Cummings, who was battling ill health, including complications of heart surgery, as well as political frustration.

Mr. Cummings said his efforts to work with Trump and members the GOP majority in the House were fruitless. He said that at the luncheon after Trump’s inauguration and during other encounters, he urged the president to pursue policies that could unite the country and burnish his legacy. The congressman said that after a few promising meetings, he stopped hearing from Trump.

AD

“Perhaps if I knew then what I know now, I wouldn’t have had a lot of hope,” Mr. Cummings later remarked. “He is a man who quite often calls the truth a lie and calls a lie the truth.”

As ranking Democrat on the Oversight Committee, Mr. Cummings became a leading voice against the Trump administration’s efforts to add a citizenship question to the 2020 Census, a change that critics contended would discourage participation by documented and undocumented immigrants alike.

He was also a forceful opponent of an immigration policy that separated thousands of children from their parents after they illegally crossed the southern U.S. border. He described the Trump White House as inhumane in its use of “child internment camps.”

In turn, the president went on a Twitter tirade against Mr. Cummings and described his majority black Baltimore district as a “disgusting, rat and rodent infested mess” and suggested the congressman focus his efforts on cleaning up “this very dangerous & filthy place.”

AD

Mr. Cummings’ response was not to dignify the attack, instead telling an audience at the National Press Club in Washington: “Those at the highest levels of government must stop invoking fear, using racist language and encouraging reprehensible behavior. As a country, we finally must say that enough is enough. That we are done with the hateful rhetoric.”

After Democrats won control of the House in the November 2018 midterm elections, Mr. Cummings was elevated to chairman of the Oversight Committee, a position that he used to spearhead probes into security clearances issued by the White House over the objections of career officials and payments made during the 2016 campaign to silence women who claimed to have had affairs with Trump.

Mr. Cummings had a combative streak, but he was adept at calming volatile situations, such as the sharp exchange between Rep. Mark Meadows (R-N.C.) and Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D-Mich.) during a hearing in February 2019.

AD

The Oversight Committee was taking testimony from Michael Cohen, Trump’s former personal lawyer, and Tlaib accused Meadows of pulling a “racist” stunt by having a black woman, an administration employee, stand behind him. Meadows demanded that her words be stricken from the record.

Mr. Cummings called Meadows “one of my best friends” and prompted Tlaib to say that she was not calling Meadows a racist. By the next day, the conservative Meadows and liberal freshman Tlaib were hugging in public.

“Interaction, man,” Mr. Cummings said by way of explanation. “Human interaction, that’s all.”

7 thoughts on “ELIJAH CUMMINGS DIES

1. RIP MR CUMMINGS….Caan tell me sey ano dem kill him off. Him did too principled fi Donalda Dump and di res a dem

2. RIP BECAUSE I HAVE RESPECT FOR THE DEAD. CUMMINGS WAS A SCAMMER. HE RECEIVED OVER MILLIONS DOLLARS FOR THE PAST 3 DECADES TO FIX UP THE CITY OF BALTIMORE. SINCE TRUMP CALLED HIM OUT, HE GOT QUIET. THEY SAID HE WAS SICK BEFORE, I KNOW THE STRESS GOT THE BEST OF HIM. HE WAS QUESTION ON WHAT HE DID WIH THE MONEY HE RECEIVED FROM THE GOVERNMENT OVER THE YEARS. THE PEOPLE OF BALTIMORE STARTED SEEING THE TRUE SIDE OF THINGS. THEY WERE GOING TO VOTE FOR TRUMP AND VOTE HIM OUT OF CONGRESS. THEY HAD A TOWN MEETING AND SHARPTON WAS TALKING ON HIS BEHALF AND THE PEOPLE OF BALTIMORE RAN OFF SHARPTON. FYI: SHARPTON HAD RECEIVED MONEY FROM TRUMP YEARS AGO AND DIDNT USE IT FOR THE BLACK CAUSE. THAT’S WHY TRUMP CALLED HIM A CROOK

I KNOW THIS BECAUSE MY MOTHER AND I HAD BOUGHT 2 PROPERTIES(ROW HOUSE) BACK IN 2001 AND THE NEIGHBORHOOD STILL WAS BULLSHIT. THEY HAD A PROGRAM TO INVEST IN THE ROW HOUSES BECAUSE IT WAS SUPPOSE TO BE AN UP AND COMING LIKE HARLEM. BUT CUMMINGS NEVER INVESTED IN THE CITY OF BALTIMORE. WE LOST OUT BECAUSE NO ONE WANTED TO MOVE THERE….EVEN THE SECTION 8 PEOPLE.

1. Sharpton, Jesse Jackson and a few other so-call civil rights leaders basically use the position to shake down corporate america and use the funds to support the lavish lifestyle. Most of the funds they received went into their pockets, sending their kids to private boarding schools and the best universities. Black folks saw little to no benefits from these dollars.

3. Trump is really looking out for the American people, dont matter what color you are he has created many good paying jobs for all…
    The Dems are using the black population, theynare being played and yes many black dems are corrupt to the bone thats why judgement a tek them bombo claught..

Dat Mi Seh

4. Elijah Cummings was walking with a walker in recent times, yet refuse to step down and died in Office. He has been in Office since 1996…..23 years! The guy was 68 years old and even when he was at deaths door, he refuse to demit office. Sad……

5. Sharpton, Jesse Jackson and a few other so-call civil rights leaders basically use the position to shake down corporate america and use the funds to support the lavish lifestyle. Most of the funds they received went into their pockets, sending their kids to private boarding schools and the best universities. Black folks saw little to no benefits from these dollars.