COMEY FATHER

J. Brien Comey is lifelong Republican and a former councilman in Allendale, the quiet Bergen County borough where Comey grew up. And now that his son doesn’t have to answer to Trump, he’s not holding back his harsh opinion about the president.

“I never was crazy about Trump,” J. Brien Comey told Bergen Record columnist Mike Kelly. “I’m convinced that he’s nuts. I thought he belonged in an institution. He was crazy before he became president. Now he’s really crazy.”

The 86-year-old Comey told the Record that despite voting a straight GOP line in last November’s election, he did not cast a vote for president.

“I just couldn’t vote for Trump,” he said.

Comey’s father’s comments come after a New York Times report on Friday revealed a leaked White House memo where Trump told Russian Officials that the former FBI director was “crazy” and “a real nut job.”

“I faced great pressure because of Russia,” Trump reportedly told Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov and Ambassador to the U.S. Sergey Kislyak. “That’s taken off.”

The White House has said the firing was unrelated to the FBI’s Russia investigation, though officials did not deny the Times report that Trump was critical of Comey to the Russians the day after he fired him. The investigation into Russian meddling in the 2016 presidential election has reportedly identified a current White House official as a significant person of interest.

Comey’s father, who still lives in the family house the FBI director grew up in, told the newspaper that his son didn’t even call to let him know Trump had fired him.

“He and I have an unwritten secret agreement that I don’t talk about his job,” J. Brien Comey said. “It’s just a father-son relationship. We never talk about what he does. I read it in the papers.”

Comey’s father wasn’t the only local resident to speak out in defense of his son.

“There’s nobody in Washington that I respect more for his integrity,” former Mayor Vincent Barra, a Republican, said of Jim Comey. “I think it’s unfortunate that he got caught in this whirlwind of Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump.”

4 thoughts on “COMEY FATHER

1. His integrity faltered when he covered up for Hillary’s emails unlawful practice… Fact….

1. Bullshit…Fact…

Unlawful under who fah law? Republicans?

Go to the State Department IT supervisors if unu have an issue…Fact!

He inserted himself by disclosing something he thought was necessary in maintaining integrity…If he didn’t it still would be a problem.

DISTRACTIONS…FACT

Get over it!

2. I see Comedy as a man who was trying to hedge his bet by reopening Hilary’s case, thereby putting the final nail in her coffin, all in the name of trying to appear objective, like he wasn’t a lifelong republican. Then when he realised that Chump won, he panicked and tried to undo the damage done by again trying to appear objective in starting an investigation against Chump.

If nothing else though, I’ve learned from Comey to be meticulous about making a record of my dealings with certain people.