OLD PEOPLE BUS A FIGHT A GOLDEN AGE HOME

A Golden Age Home resident, who confessed to hitting his room-mate with a piece of wood, is to stand trial next month.When the matter was called up in the Kingston and St Andrew Parish Court on Friday, Delroy McKenzie admitted to hitting his room-mate, but said he was defending a female roommate.

McKenzie pleaded not guilty to malicious destruction of property.

The court was told that on May 17, McKenzie used a piece of wood to hit the complainant all over his body. The court was also told that the complainant used his hand to block the blows.

When the matter was called up, the complainant, clutching a paddle walker, gingerly made his way inside the courtroom with his left had in a cast.

The complainant told the court that when he returned from the hospital his compact disc player was destroyed.

“Why you hit him?” Chief Parish Judge Judith Pusey inquired.

Sponsored Links
Try Not Gasp When You Find Out Who Anderson Cooper’s Partner Is
IFLMyLife
25 Moments Captured Before Disaster Occurred
Auto Overload
“Seven of us were sleeping into one room. The rain was falling; I saw him dragging a lady into the room. The woman was begging him to stop,” McKenzie replied to Pusey.
“Him say me cannot tell him nothing,” McKenzie said, “I use the board to hit him.”

The judge, after hearing his explanation, asked him if the woman is willing to come to court and speak on his behalf.

“I don’t know,” he said, noting that she has mental challenges.

The judge advised him that if the woman is able to speak on his behalf, he could be acquitted of the charges.

A June 9 trial date was subsequently set.

Fake soldier cons would-be JDF recruits

A man, who pretended to be a soldier and swindled close to $70,000 from two men desperate to join the Jamaica Defence Force (JDF), was remanded when he appeared in the Kingston and St Andrew Parish Court.

A mention date was set on Friday after Aquino “Soljie” Adams pleaded guilty to two counts of obtaining money by means of false pretence.

Adams reportedly pretended to be a corporal employed by the JDF and took $42,000 from one complainant and $25,000 from another.

The court was told that he has a similar matter and that the file was incomplete.

A June 15 mention date was subsequently set.

Man steals bike after his is stolen

A man who confessed to stealing a motorcycle out of “stupidity” is to know his fate tomorrow.

Clayon Smith, 22, pleaded “guilty with explanation” to a charge of larceny of motor vehicle when he appeared in the Kingston and St Andrew Parish Court on Friday.

Smith admitted in court that he stole the motorcycle after his motorcycle was stolen.

The court was told that the complainant parked his motorcycle at the FLOW office on Half-Way-Tree Road in St Andrew and went inside to conduct business. When he returned he saw the accused man riding off with his bike.

When he appeared in court, Chief Parish Judge Judith Pusey asked the accused man to explain why he should not go to jail.

“I recently bought a motorcycle and it was stolen. I saw it and I stole it,” Smith replied to Pusey.

“You know how much trouble you are in?” Pusey asked.

“When I realised the stupidity, I came off and left it,” Smith replied.

“I think you should go to jail for it. Stealing is stealing,” Pusey uttered prior to remanding him.

A May 29, sentencing date was subsequently set.

Women smuggle weed to assist daughters

Two mothers who confessed to dealing in ganja were slapped with prison sentences when they appeared in the Kingston and St Andrew Parish Court on Friday.

Terrian Edwards, a mother of three, and Tamika Small, who has one child, were sentenced to 18 and 12 months respectively.

The women were also slapped with fines amounting to $91,000.

Small was arrested and charged with possession of ganja, dealing in ganja, and taking steps preparatory to exporting ganja after the drug was found in her suitcase when she checked in to board a flight to Barbados.

The court was told that three rectangular parcels of ganja were found in her luggage.

The court further heard that Small also confessed to having ganja in a condom.

Under caution, Small reportedly told the police that Edwards gave her the drug.

Edwards was later arrested and charged.

Prior to sentencing, Chief Parish Judge Judith Pusey asked the women if there were any reasons why they should not go to jail.

Edwards, who was quick to apologise to the court, said she has three children, ages nine, 15 and 16.

Edwards explained to the court that she had three outstanding school fees to pay and that her daughter, who is currently doing Caribbean Secondary Examination Certificate subjects, would not be able to collect her certificate if the monies are not paid.

Small, who had a similar explanation, told the court that she did it to support her family

3 thoughts on “OLD PEOPLE BUS A FIGHT A GOLDEN AGE HOME

1. I. Senior get clap

I hope the senior citizen get off the battery charge. That ole man dragging the woman just get ole doing what him use to.

II. Drug mules

Oonu still no learn not to go Barbados with drugs?! So when they reach and get a Myrie treatment dem complainn about being abuse…damn clowns.

2. I believe yuh grandpa. .u defended the lady’s honor so no jail time.

Bike yute is a real eediot..Oj Simpson went to teef back his own things that were stolen from him..just like ur bike..he is serving 3oyrs nuff!

3. A which good hole granny dat a mek di man dem fight :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak den a whey him a drag har go cho…. Dem naaa learns from di drug dealings yea. But mi did see sumting else eno but mi nuh memba. Oh mi go back go look a neva noting.