MAN PROMISE TO PAY $350 TO SEE NEXT MAN P*NIS- JAMAICA COURTHOUSE

COURT-CARTOON-SUN-5-JULY-Optimized

A Kingston labourer who is accused of robbing a security officer of $3,000 at knife-point claimed he did not steal from the guard but that the guard offered him $350 to show him his penis.

Troy Davis, 20, of Harbour Street in Kingston, made the claim to the police when he was held shortly after the alleged robbery, and repeated it when he appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate’s Court last Friday before Senior Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey.

But Davis, before he was prompted by the prosecutor to repeat what he had told the police, informed the magistrate that he and the complainant had a disagreement.

“This man have a dispute over $350 and him run go to the station and report that mi rob him of $3,000,” Davis said.

But the guard told the court that he was not aware of what Davis was saying.

“I was on my way home from work and this man pounced upon me and demanded my money,” the guard reported.

RM Pusey then asked him, “So, you did not owe him $350?”

“No ma’am,” the guard quickly answered.

“You ever saw him before?” the magistrate probed further.

“It’s the first I’m seeing him,” the guard said in response.

It was at that point that the prosecutor, Hansurd Lawson, asked Davis if he remembered what he had told the police.

Davis said “Yes”, and told the court that the guard assaulted him for $350 and told him to show him his penis.

The prosecutor then reminded him that his exact words to the police under caution were, “Offica, a pay him seh him waan pay mi fi see me h…”

The magistrate then asked Davis if he was going to trial and he said “Yes”. As result, he was remanded and the matter was set for trial in the night court on July 24, on a charge of robbery with aggravation.

According to the police report, on June 19, about 11:30 am, the complainant was on his way home along Peters Lane in Kingston when the accused held him up with a knife and demanded his money.

It is alleged that the accused asked the complainant how much money he had and was informed by the complainant that he had $3,000 in $100 notes.

The accused, who was not pleased, reportedly told the complainant not to “play” him, before taking the money.

The complainant, after losing his money, ran to the police station and reported the matter. Within an hour the police held the accused, who was pointed out by the complainant.

It is further alleged that Davis, when he was cautioned, also told the police, “Offica, a neva $3,000, a $350 me tek.”

Davis was reportedly held with eight $100 notes and four $50 notes in his pocket.

Angry man slashes ex-lover’s clothes, wig

A man who was hauled before the court for cutting up his ex-lover’s clothes and false hair was forced to pay over $6,000 to the woman for her goods.

Alrick Coley, a 44-year-old labourer of South Camp Road in Kingston, was arrested and charged with malicious destruction of property after he went to the complainant’s home and used a sharp tool to cut her shorts, brassiere, blouse, slippers, and wig.

It is also reported that Coley threw water on the complainant’s bed and poured out her flour, cornmeal, and salt in a pot with water.

On Friday when Coley appeared in court, when asked if he was guilty, he responded by saying, “A mi babymada.”

He was quickly reprimanded by the magistrate who told him that was not what she had asked.

Coley subsequently admitted to destroying the complainant’s goods and was ordered to pay her $6,000, after she told the court that the items cost $5,000.

The magistrate then told Coley: “You may go, but don’t try it again.”

It was never disclosed in court or in the complainant’s statement why Coley destroyed her clothes.

Woman to pay for slashing lover’s car tyres

A woman who went to the workplace of her child’s father and destroyed his four car tyres was ordered to pay for them after she told the court that the complainant was willing to stand the loss.

The 37-year-old woman, Nicola Spencer, of Park Lane in Kingston, was taken into custody and charged with malicious destruction of property after she was caught on camera slashing the complainant’s car tyres.

On Thursday when Spencer appeared in court, she told RM Judith Pusey that the complainant — who was absent — had told her that he was willing to call the tyres a loss because she was the mother of his child.

But the magistrate was not in agreement.

“I don’t share his view because if he had cut up your tyres everybody would expect me to punish him,” she said.

“You women believe that because you are woman you can do certain things and get away, and if the men do likewise they are to go to prison,” RM Pusey added.

“I don’t see any gender in malicious destruction of property, so you have to pay or stay,” the magistrate advised Spencer.

She was then instructed to return to court on July 19 with the money to compensate the complainant for his tyres, valued at $18,500.

Woman reportedly attacked by twin brothers

Twin brothers, who suffer from speech and mental disabilities, were hauled before the court on allegations that they attacked their sister-in-law with knives and burst her head with a stone.

The twins — Carlos Campbell, otherwise called ‘Eee’, and Carl Campbell, otherwise called ‘Ah’, both 37 — reportedly attacked the complainant for stealing their money.

The alleged attack occurred on Tower Street in downtown Kingston in June.

According to a police report, the complainant was on her way to a shop when she passed the twins who were both cursing. While she was walking, a little boy reportedly shouted out to her that the brothers were coming at her with knives.

It is reported that Carl approached her and said to her, “Mi a go push me knife inna yuh”; while Carlos allegedly told her, “Big p…. gal, yuh and yuh man rob me money.”

It is further reported that Carlos used a stone to hit her in the head, causing it to bleed, then ran away with his brother.

The matter was reported and both accused were arrested and charged with unlawful wounding and assault at common-law.

On Thursday when they appeared in court, attorney Zaphia Beckford, who is representing Carl, told the court that the incident arose out of an incident with their brother, whom the twin had loaned $128,000.

Beckford said that the twins were attacked by their brother and in the process they threw a stone, which caught the complainant.

But the complainant denied that version of the events and told the court that her partner did not borrow any money from the twins.

“This come up afta mi go foreign and come back and dem a seh dem brother rob dem money and buy mi visa and plane ticket fi send mi a foreign, and that is all it is about,” she said.

The complainant also told the court that her partner has always helped and encouraged the twins.

“They live with their brother and they give… trouble in the community, and he encouraged them to buy a car and to start sell some bag juice and help them to get the car,” she said.

But while she was talking one of the twins accused her of lying.

The case was subsequently rescheduled for mention on August 17.

Attorney Ryan Carty is representing Carlos.

Meat seasoning mistake?

A woman who claimed she mistakenly walked out of a supermarket with two packs of powdered seasonings in her pockets was ordered to pay $5,000 or spend six months in prison.

Jacqueline Miller was arrested and charged with simple larceny on June 21 after she went to a supermarket in Barbican in Kingston and left without paying for the two small packets of powdered seasonings, which she had placed in her pockets.

On Thursday when Miller appeared in court, she pleaded guilty, but told RM Judith Pusey that she had not intentionally walked out of the store with the seasonings.

“I went to the supermarket to purchase some things and I was talking on my phone. So by talking and talking when I was finished I pushed down my phone in my pocket and did not realise that I had the two seasoning in my hand,” she said.

Miller told the magistrate that it was after she had paid for the other items and left the store that a security guard made her aware of the fact that she had the seasonings in her pocket.

“It’s a misunderstanding,” she told the court.

But the magistrate said: “You know that everyone who is charged for that come in here with the same reason.”

Miller then told the magistrate that after she realised that she had walked out with the seasonings she offered to pay for them, as she had just purchased $1,700 worth of goods.

Miller was subsequently instructed to pay $5,000 or serve six months in prison.

0 thoughts on “MAN PROMISE TO PAY $350 TO SEE NEXT MAN P*NIS- JAMAICA COURTHOUSE

1. On Friday when Coley appeared in court, when asked if he was guilty, he responded by saying, “A mi babymada.” ….. :ngakak