DEAR MET- ADVENTIST QUESTION

dear-met1

I find myself asking the question “Why can’t Seventh Day Adventist” wear jewelry? I grew up a SDA and was taught that we don’t wear jewelry, we don’t wear pants to church, we don’t wear makeup and so on, and so on. I’ve never been told the exact reason as to why this is so. Now…when I was a child I did as I was told even though at 14 I got my ears pierced and got a beating for it. I would really like to know the reason why, but I’m hesitant to ask it at church because I feel I will be “religioned” instead of shown facts where we shouldn’t. Now…I don’t want to go to church in jewelry, because I personally don’t feel comfortable doing so, but when I’m not in church, I would like to, without feeling like I’m going to be scorned if I see a brethren from church in the street with my jewelry on. I am a GOD fearing woman that is still TRYING and begging GOD to make me better but I feel SDA wants me to be perfect. I’ve gone to other churches but always find my way back to SDA. I know your viewers are from far and wide and all walks if life, so I’m hoping someone can give me some insight. Thanks… Sllimz

0 thoughts on “DEAR MET- ADVENTIST QUESTION

1. I DONT UNDERSTAND HOW YOU BEEN GOING TO A SDA CHURCH SINCE YOU A CHILD AND HAVE NOT BEEN TAUGHT THERE TEACHINGS ON JEWELRY……..HERE ARE A FEW BIBLE VERSES YOU CAN LOOK UP,
    1 Pet 3:3 which reads,
    “Whose adorning let it not be that outward adorning of plaiting the hair, and of wearing of gold, or of putting on of apparel…”
    1 Tim 2:9 that says,
    “In like manner also, that women adorn themselves in modest apparel, with shamefacedness and sobriety; not with broided hair, or gold, or pearls, or costly array…”
    Deuteronomy 22:5 – The woman shall not wear that which pertaineth unto a man, neither shall a man put on a woman’s garment: for all that do so [are] abomination unto the LORD thy God.

2. Hi Met & All

Dear Sliimz nowhere in the bible does it say you can’t do those things. It’s when the preacher/teachers with ulterior motives try and make a doctrine out of it.

1Tim 2:9, & 1 Pet 3:3 may seem to bun out gold but if we read in context, then no woman should have broidered hair? Broidered is old english for plaited hair. Yet we know that a woman supposed to have her hair covered in the church & when she reads the Bible & prays, so it nuh matter what kinda hairstyle a woman has. It also says wear no costly apparel. The weak in faith would therefore say I can’t look good for the Most High so I’ll wear rags. Foolishness, the understanding of these scriptures is if these things take precedence over you, especially on HIS sabbath day, then they are not for you. BUT as long as you understand that when you come to your assembly you are coming before the Father & not man, then you can look good for your heavenly Father, who gave us his things.

For strong spiritual food & NOT man’s doctrine check out zionofjah.com

It is man’s doctrine that says you can’t wear jewllery, wear pants, broiderd hair etc.

Bless

3. Hello Sender, the SDA prohibit these things because they follow the old law of the bible instead of the new which took effect when Jesus was nailed to the cross. The new law/testament just tells us to dress modestly. SDA has it al wrong starting with “keeping the sabbath” (which they’re not really doing anyway. Please check out the debate at the link below which proves SDA is not in compliance with the entire word of God. P.S., nor is this zionofjah smaddie.
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=UKqGoF1HMI0&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DUKqGoF1HMI0

4. GROWING UP IN A SDA HOME I WAS THOUGHT ABOUT THE “NOT WEARING JEWELRY” ITS STATED IN THE BIBLE HUN DAT WE MUST NOT ADORN OUR SELF…BUT DOES DAT MEAN WE UST LOOK SHABBY ? NO! MAKE UP CAN BE WORN BUT NOT AN EXESS WHERE U GONNA DRAW ATTENTION TO UR SELF! I DOH KNOW WHY PPLE TINK SEH DA OLD TESTAMENT WAS PUT AWAY WEN JESUS WAS NAILED TO THE CROSS!! JESUS SAID DAT HE IS THE SAME TODAY AND FOREVER MORE HENCE AND THEREFORE WHATEVER HE SAYS STILL STAND TILL HIM CUM!