GOOD JOB MOM

A mom’s commitment to her disabled child

Despite the challenges that Patricia Welsh faces from having a child with a disability, she continues to be a committed mother.Being a mother is not an easy task, and for Patricia Welsh she has to work twice as hard to take care of her five children, one of whom suffers from autism. She said that at the age of three her son, Jareeke Buram was diagnosed with autisim, after she became concerned about his inability to begin speaking coherently.

She, however, confides that it is not an easy job being a mother to a child with a disability.

“Him hard fi deal with, like when you talk to him bout something him wi just filter you out and gwaan go do weh him feel like and all a that. You have to know how to deal with him but honestly, him hard. You have to try to study him to know when him hungry and when him want certain things,” Welsh said.

Though Jareeke is 12 years old, he still does not function as an able-bodied child his age, and his mother said that he still has to be treated like a baby. He also has to wear diapers and, despite being potty-trained, does not always resort to utilising that skill.

“This minute you see him a do that, he will do it for like this month and next month, him gone back to peeing on himself, on the bed, and all of those stuff.

She added that because of his autism, many times he throws tantrums and becomes violent while doing so. However, she has found a way to deal with that.

“Him will mash up everything you got, him destroyful like that. but you see love, when you love him up, him calm down, but if you act aggressive with him he keeps on getting aggressive and angry. but if you see him getting out of hand you got to rub him down and play with him.”
Welsh mentioned that due to her son’s condition it has put a lot of strain on her health, as she finds it difficult to cope sometimes.

“That causes stress because now I developed a nerves problem. I have to be taking medication, pressure tablets because of my nerves, and that’s a part of it. but I’m not saying that’s the full because it nuh pretty fi deal with, but I just have to make up my mind and say you know what, that’s it.”

Welsh said that some persons aren’t sympathetic and don’t seem to understand his condition, therefore they jeer both of them and make distasteful remarks.

“People style mi and style him, but me don’t pay them nuh mind, mi mek them talk. Them call him handicap, they use all type of words to try and get you out, and a say a you ’cause him fi stay suh, but me nuh watch anybody and weh dem have fi seh.”

She stated that she is unable to send Jareeke to school because of the high cost of private institutions. She added that when she had attempted to find a school for him the cost of the school fee, which was $50,000, was too much for her. Because of this she has tried to homeschool him.

“When you teach him, him try fi do what you say but as mi seh, if him do it for this month, then next month him change again. Him don’t settle. Him can count from one to 20, actually he has gone to 21,22 so he is going up now, and he can say his ABCs. He sings a lot … there is no song on the TV or radio that he doesn’t know. He sings every song from start till the end, he is good like that, and if I don’t tell you that he has autism you cannot know,” Welsh said.

Despite being a single mother, Welsh said that she does try to make ends meet. she has attempted odd jobs such as doing hair and nails, and currently she has opened a bar to gain income to take care of her children. However, that has restrictions, because Jareeke needs to be watched constantly, which makes her afraid to leave him with other people.

“Leaving him with someone who can’t deal with him the way that I can deal with him, it don’t make any sense. The other day I leave him with somebody, and when I leave him I was not even five minutes away and them mek car lick him down. So it’s hard to be out without him” Welsh said.

She stated that the car accident resulted in an injury and doctors said that he might have cracked his skull, which has caused further struggles for her because he has to do a CT scan that she cannot even afford.

She said that she has to do everything on her own because his father isn’t around and she gets minimum help from family members.

Due to this she has sought the help of organisations such as 3D Projects, which provides counselling and advice, and she also receives money from the Government’s PATH programme which she said is not much, but for which she remains thankful.

5 thoughts on “GOOD JOB MOM

1. Autistic children are usually very artistic. My lil bro cannot read music but he can play any song on the piano. I hope that this lady meets the right people in life to assist her because the road a head will be very challenging. God bless her and her son.

2. Every thing she said it’s facts. I work with a child, just like him, she’s 7 years old. Her development is like a 1 year old. Kids like him brings out the best in you, makes you have tolerance appreciate life give God thanks for his grace and mercy, because it’s only that will carry u through. I always say god never makes a mistake, every child is a blessing from him. One thing I know for certain wen u have a child like him it always brings a strain on the family r end up in divorce. God brings you this far, he will not let go of your hand, just believe keep the faith.

3. This is absolutely not meant to judge this mom. She has done what some moms with nornal children don’t do – stick around and take care of her children.

However, I’m not seeing where it says he received early intervention, unless it was left out of the article. Given he’s now 12 I don’t know what’s available to him. However, just in case there are other parents reading this facing the same struggle, know this:

1) Autism is on a spectrum – mild, moderate & severe. That is, all autistic children are not the same.

2) Early intervention is critical to enabling your child to become as functional as possible. Two to three years old is the best time to catch a child with special needs and start addressing it.

3) Don’t bother with the denial business. The child not talking or following basic commands etc, get the child assessed.

4) Prof Samms-Vaughn is the leading authority on these assessments in Jamaica and will do a comprehensive assessment, which is needed, however, she’s expensive.

If you are short on cash, contact the Early Stimulation Programme (ESP) (876-922-5585) through the Ministry of Labour. ESP also have a school that caters to special needs children under the patronage of the Digicel Foundation that gives it a lot of help. ESP also have satalite offices outside of Kingston and shadows (assigned counsellors that teaches parents how to teach the child) that helps the family.

There is also 3D that also receives held from the Digicel Foundation. It has a school, but I don’t know much about it.

5) The options are there so check them & don’t waste time with people who brush your fears about your child aside. Talk to people who can advise you. Act early. Don’t delay.

6) Love and enjoy your child! Find ways to do so. With early intervention, you’d be surprised what that child becomes capable of from being diagnosed at 2 until they are 10.