GO GET IT

If, like many, you doubt the existence of fairy tales, and perhaps have never even won a raffle, then this mind-boggling tale out of Clear Springs in the lush parish of Portland may just change your mind.

Twenty-one-year-old Tevin Steele, photographed last year March by the Jamaica Observer North & East crew diligently chopping jelly coconuts for his customers at his stall, was scouted by Saint International boss Deiwght Peters in December 2016, and last Tuesday was booked exclusively for the Yves Saint Laurent show in Paris, France.

Now that, in the super competitive, billion-dollar industry of fashion, is a debut worthy of note!

Steele follows in the footsteps of fellow Saint model Jenese Roper, who also made her international debut last September for Saint Laurent.

“I felt really amazing and just loved the look and feel of the clothes, especially how I looked in the suit… it all felt like a dream,” Steele told the Observer from Paris, minutes after the show. “I always wanted to do something special in my life, but this is amazing. My mom told me to do my best and I know I did.”

Pretty amazing indeed for the former Manchioneal All-Age School, Bath Junior High and Seaforth High School student who has, for the past four years, worked alongside his mother Magarieta Belafonte at the jelly shop.

A telephone call to his mom early yesterday afternoon was met with much elation. “I’m looking at my son in the Observer and feel so proud,” shared the soft-spoken Belafonte, who is related on her father’s (Rudolph George Belafonte) side to the iconic humanitarian, singer, actor and political activist Harry Belafonte.

What’s next for Steele?

“Well, I return home today from Paris and will leave the rest in God’s hands,” he shared.

Peters, who has demonstrated an uncanny knack for spotting talent, reckons that Steele has “what it takes to make it to the top”.

Peters, we suspect, has other plans. If leaving Jamaica for the very first time to land a spot on the coveted Saint Laurent runway is anything to go by, Steele’s dream is likely to continue.

19 thoughts on “GO GET IT

1. This is amazing, so happy for both him and his mom, they discovered Djimon Hounsou homeless on the street in Paris. This is the beginning of a new career, wonderful. So nice to hear happy positive things happening for Jamaican people.

2. Looooove this, Peters does have an eye for talent. Be humble and wait your turn, don’t follow the hype and the crowd.

3. OOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!! I AM SOOOOO HAPPY AND EXCITED!!!!! I LITERALLY HAVE GOOSE BUMPS ALL OVER AND AS USUAL, I AM CRYING; LIKE A DAMN FOOL!!!!! I AM SOOOOOOOOOO HAPPY FOR THIS YOUNG MAN, OOOOOHH MY GOD!!!!! THIS HAS TRULY, TRULY MADE MY DAY! GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME; ALL THE TIME, GOD IS GOOD! I AM BEYOND HAPPY, MAN! *TROY FROM SWAMP PEOPLE’S VOICE*: “YESSSSS, INDEED!!!!!”

4. I am so happy for him. Seller today, star tomorrow. I do not mean to preach, but mi tired fi tell mi niece dung a Jamaica sey shi fi duh wey shi can duh fi survive. Nuh work nuh demeaning, shi nuh waan work a KFC, Burger King, Tastee etc. Suh mi can bet sey shi wudda neva dey a nuh stall a help out. Yet diss likkle bredda dee a sell jelly wid him madda an seet dey. My niece sey shi a guh shame if har equally unemployed friends dem si har a work inna fast food place. Di humblest calf indeed suck di most milk.

5. Oh my gosh, this is so exciting!
    Good luck brother, make the best of this unforeseen blessing “Hand clap *finger snaps*. #PROUD #LOVE #CUTIEPIE

6. PRO you badmind wha pen Dwight no want u or saka saka u and u cant go france a beeeyyyyy, u negative cockdice u go thief shit mey fly arrest u

7. Mi happy fi him and Pro don’t come with that bout Dwight, him unlike the other is known for keeping him dutty life to himself! Him mek sure fi him model dem educated and nobody nah tek dem fi fool and him nah f**k dem off!

Di man hav an eye for these people he keeps finding, all of them end u in big campaigns/catwalks for the biggest names in fashion!

8. This is such great news. So happy & proud of this young man, may God open plenty more doors of opportunity for him & his family. Stay humble, positive & trust the creator while striving for greatness.

9. Congrats young man,what an experience! The runways if Paris from your humble beginnings in Portland? Hope more doors open for you,much success and be blessed.