GANGSTER TURNS HIS LIFE AROUND

John Doe (not his real name) came from an affluent family. He attended a prestigious high school and was an A student. But he was lured into a life of crime and only got out after he faced a near-death experience.

“I was shot eight times and I survived. If it wasn’t for the work of God, I wouldn’t be here today,” Doe shared in an interview with the Jamaica Observer.

It was after completing high school 15 years ago that he got involved in criminal activities.

“I wasn’t really into any gang per se. I just defended my family and my friends and the community that I lived [in]. I also did some robberies and turned the money over to people who didn’t have much to live on. I never killed anyone, but there have been instances where I had to defend myself. There was a time that I went to jail on suspicion of murder, but I was later released,” he stated.

Doe witnessed his older brother being killed and carried that anger for many years.

“When my brother was killed I wanted revenge. When I was in high school my uncle was killed by gunmen. Then those same men killed my aunt. She was a good person who had a wholesale business and children attending university. Just talking about it brings tears to my eyes … 16 shots them pump into her,” he recalled.

He also remembers clearly the night he was shot.

“I was on Facebook and I met this girl. She gave me her number and I left my house to get some phone credit to send to her. While I was on the road, my mother called me and asked me to pick up one of my sisters who was at work. While on my way, I stopped to link a cousin of mine and a man just sneak up behind me and started firing shots. He had two guns in his hand and he was just firing away. My cousin was also shot and he died on the spot. I got eight shots. My legs couldn’t move,” said Doe.

He spent nine months in hospital, unable to do anything for himself.

“I was wearing pampers while I was in hospital. I couldn’t even walk. I wanted to be healed and at the same time I wanted revenge. I had put in a lot of work in the criminal world and I had the contacts. All I had to do was to make a few phone calls and the guy who did this to me would be history. Several times I got calls from persons asking me if I wanted them to take him out, but I told them it was okay. Trust me, I was planning on doing some real vicious things.”

But then something miraculous happened.

“I got a spiritual awakening on my hospital bed. Through this process I found Jesus and I gave my life to the Lord,” Doe confessed.

Released from hospital three years ago, Doe, who once worked as a welder, has been ministering to the youth across Jamaica, sharing much of his experience with them. He is also pursuing a career as a gospel recording artiste.

“I decided that I had to do something. I wanted to share my experiences with youths from the inner city who don’t have positive influences around them. So I started a journey to give motivational talks in Kingston, Clarendon and in Montego Bay. I have also recorded a few gospel songs and performed at gospel events. I know that God has a plan for me and I am a work in progress,” he said.

Asked if he had any regrets in running a new life, he said: “None whatsoever. I wouldn’t go back to the past”.

5 thoughts on “GANGSTER TURNS HIS LIFE AROUND

1. boss mi hear u n all bout new chapter,leaf or whatever..but u need to confess those crimes yuh committed to the police and not just Jesus.Let me assure you that the God you serve is a God of Justice,hence HE would want justice and Thy will to be done.

It would be a major injustice for you to start your new life without atoning in prison for the wrongs you’ve done.Best of luck hombre.

1. You know me LUBB yu :peluk and this Jihn Doe lead turning should be in a damn cell.

I can’t get over this ““I wasn’t really into any gang per se. I just defended my family and my friends and the community that I lived [in].” Him come from “affluent family” and him and members if it just salt so-so so?

1. More love to you PP for keeping it real n always being able to read between dem deceptive lines n wade through the murky waters of some of the things dem try run by pinkwallers on HERE.

I love the clarity u bring in calling dem out.Clear as day sey a shot di bwoi did a buss..reporter should have asked him to expound pon What n how he meant n went about protecting his family?? Maybe he used assorted candles n read verses from the Egyptian book of the dead :angel :selamat

2. Something about this post. Its crazy cause …. I cant explain it and maybe if i explain its gonna sound crazy. But i’m supposed to see this… Its now confirmed.