COUPLE HAVE TRIPLETS AFTER TROUBLE GETTING PREGNANT

Joy, Joy, Joy – Couple Celebrates First Christmas With Triplets After Fertilisation Treatment

Bridget Thompson-Dunkley has a lot to celebrate today because after 13 years of trying to have a child and hosting several fundraising initiatives to finance in vitro fertilisation (IVF) treatment, she has finally given birth to triplets.

Thompson-Dunkley and her husband Christopher are looking forward to spending their first Christmas with their now four-month-old babies, although their usual fun activities have been replaced by the joy of taking care of three bundles of joy.

“You know when they say joy to the world the Lord has come? It is joy to us because our triplets have come. It is a happy time,” she beamed.

The 37-year-old high-school teacher actually got pregnant with four babies after completing several rounds of IVF treatment at the Hugh Wynter Fertility Management Unit at the University Hospital of the West Indies, Mona. She delivered three girls and one boy; however, one of the girls was stillborn.

“I had to give it a go. I had to give it a try because I don’t want, at the end of the day, I didn’t try enough or I didn’t give it all that I had because I really wanted babies,” she said.

Thompson-Dunkley was ridiculed by others because she was unable to produce a child after several years of marriage. She also had to deal with her own yearning to become a mother, and tried different avenues to accomplish this dream.

“I had on-the-side jobs and I did fish fries. I tried to raise the money because it is something that I really wanted,” said Thompson-Dunkley, who explained that Christopher was very supportive throughout the whole process.

“It is hard to find the words to tell you exactly how I feel, because you have been wanting to have these children for years and years and years, and it is like you were made to be a mom and you are not getting there, and you watch other people and they get married after you and they get pregnant before you, or they are not married and they pregnant, they are teenyboppers and they get pregnant,” said Thompson-Dunkley.

The three babies – Amelia-Rose, Amanda-Kay and Jordan – are very energetic and caring for them is costly, but the parents have been willing to go the extra mile to ensure that they are provided for.

Christopher is a driver, and in addition to teaching, Thompson-Dunkley operates a clothing boutique from their house and just recently published a book.

100 Diapers A Week

The babies require more than 100 diapers each week, and a tin of formula can barely last two days, but Thompson-Dunkley wakes up every morning giving thanks.

“I am so overwhelmed right now with emotions for them. I look at them every day and I kiss them and I tell them I love them because it is just pouring out of me,” she said.

Although Christopher has a 22-year-old daughter, he had forgotten what it was like to take care of a newborn. Like his wife, he is excited about having triplets.

“It has been nice to see them strive. I can’t wait for them to hold their bottle,” he said.

Both advise couples who are desirous of having children to never give up on their dream. Thompson-Dunkley also wants people in the general society to desist from ridiculing those who are unable to have children.

“It is very hurtful when you are trying to get pregnant and people are saying you are a ‘mule’. If you could do something about it, you would,” she said.

3 thoughts on “COUPLE HAVE TRIPLETS AFTER TROUBLE GETTING PREGNANT

1. “…or they are not married and they pregnant.” Soooo what! Me stop read her story from deh so. If nuff a we parents did a wait to get married to have kids nuff we wouldn’t be here.

1. She did not say anything was wrong with it, she was just trying to explain how she felt I believe- don’t think she was ridiculing anyone for being preggo before marriage