AMBITION UPPPPPPPPP

Youngster builds house from wiping windshields

Having had the chance to complete high school, Jamar Christie said he returned to Kingston with the hopes of getting a job. But this was not to be.

However, this did not deter him from trying his best to make something of his life. Having been a windshield cleaner for the past three years, he said that he has been able to build his one-bedroom house.

“Mi spend about $30,000 fi mi house weh me have a Majesty Gardens. Mi can’t afford no other house. Mi just come out yah and hustle some money, cook some food and the man dem help me build the room,” the 21-year-old man said.

Christie told THE STAR that he has made attempts to get other jobs in the Corporate Area, but he had not gotten any positive feedback.

NO RESPONSE
“Mi put in rEsumE a wharf, a factory and me nah get no call, and me just decide to do this in order not to do bad things. A bare empty promises people come wid when dem seh dem have job fi wi, ’cause all now wi out yah can’t get no call,” he said.

Even though he did not have a mother or father to provide for him, he said that he got help from his aunt, who took care of him while he was in Kingston. He explained after finishing high school and returning to Kingston, he was introduced to cleaning windshields by a friend.

“My madda run weh and me fadda deh country, so mi used to stay wid mi auntie inna Majesty Gardens. When mi just come back and nothing nah gwaan, mi siddung one day and mi friend seh him a go mek me start a thing and me follow him. From then, me a do this till today,” he said.

He said the streets is not the best place to be, but it is what puts food on his table.

“More while, me out yah from six inna the morning until six the night. Sometimes mi a sleep and mi just a kick me foot dem to how dem hot from the day’s work. To work out yah, you haffi strong because sometime people come out here wid dem stress and waa tek it out pan yuh. So when yuh see dem people deh, yuh just know seh yuh fi walk far,” he said.

Christie, who does not have any children as yet, said that is something he is not ready for anytime soon.

“Me nuh want no child yet because mi nuh want dem come inna poverty like me. Mi want betta for them, so me nuh ready yet,” he said.

6 thoughts on “AMBITION UPPPPPPPPP

1. Big up yuh self. Keep trying and don’t give up. Sad to say, that with an address like Majesty Gardens (Back To ) most employers tend to shy away from hiring those individuals. as Etana seh ” Wrong Area Code”

2. Well done young man. May God continue to bless and guide your path. You could be out there robbing and scamming like some but you chose the high road. You are a smart youth. Hope you get the break you deserve one day.

3. God bless you young man because alot of people look down on such work. You are making an honest dollar, GOOD JOB. Jamaica would be better off if more people adopted your attitude and your will to work.I AM PROUD OF YOU

4. Congratulations young man! At least yuh have a place to call home but more importantly you made it happen. Nothing but respect to you!