WTF AFRICA-HUSBAND SEH WIFE TONGUE CAUSTIC

She has a caustic tongue, tore my clothes any time we fought —Husband

Oja Oba/ Mapo Court C Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan,Oyo State has ended the 13-year-old relationship between a woman, Opeyemi Bakare, and her husband, Kolawole Bakare.

Opeyemi, who brought a divorce suit against her husband, alleged that he had no trust in her. She also accused him of battery and threat to life.

The plaintiff told the court she no more loved her husband and therefore prayed that it put an end to their union and grant her custody of their three children whom she alleged, he cared less about.

She further appealed to the court to make him responsible for their upkeep and education.

Kolawole did not admit to claim.

“My lord, Kolawole is bent on cutting my life short. He has constantly threatened to get rid of me.

I pray this honourable court stops our marriage before he makes real his threat.

“My husband derives pleasure in beating me. He never ceases to fight me. He descends on me with punches and beat me to a pulp.

“Despite being faithful and committed to our marriage my husband refused to trust me. He accused me of infidelity and presented me as cheap before our children and the extended family members.

“It is true that I had many male admirers who sought to date me but I always rebuffed their love advances.

“My lord, one of the things I did to discourage my admirers from calling me on phone and pestering me to go into a relationship with them was to give them my husband’s phone number instead of mine. Any time they called, they expect to hear my voice but were always shocked to hear a male’s voice. My husband has on many occasions threatened to get them arrested by the police for ‘toasting’ his wife, “she stated.

The plaintiff added that:”Kolawole has no respect for my parents, my mother in particular. Any time she makes an attempt at mediating in our differences, he will shout on her and address her rudely.

“I have constantly shown my displeasure at his misbehaviour but he has shown no sign of remorse. Rather than change, Kolawole took to fighting and beating me the more. He neglected me and failed to show any responsibility towards me and our children.

“My lord, I decided to go into a relationship with one of my admirers since my husband failed to display any affection towards me. My lover not only dots on me, but he also meets my financial needs.

“I kept my affair a secret from my husband but this was only for a while.

“Kolawole of recent got a wind of what was happening and went irate. He poured petrol on me and would have set me on fire.

“My lord, I don’t love him anymore. I appeal to this court to separate us and grant me custody of our three children. I further pray the court to make him responsible for their upkeep, “Opeyemi said.

Giving his evidence Kolawole stated that:”My lord, I don’t admit to claim. I’m not ready to divorce my wife. If you separate us our children will suffer.

“Opeyemi is stubborn and difficult to please. I gave her and our children N500 on daily basis as feeding allowance and this aside filling the home with foodstuff.

“Rather than appreciate me, she would fight me and turn our home upside down. Opeyemi was in the habit of tearing my clothes into shreds any time we fight. As a result of this, I go about almost naked.

“She also has a caustic tongue and was in the habit of cursing and using unprintable words at me, thus ridiculing me.

“My lord, Opeyemi went into an illicit relationship with a particular man, damming all the consequences. She of recent packed her belongings from my house and has finally moved in with her lover, “the defendant stated.

Giving his judgment after he had heard both parties, the court president, Chief Ademola Odunade, dissolved their union and awarded custody of their three children to the plaintiff.

The defendant was ordered to give the plaintiff N15, 000 monthly through the court as their children’s feeding allowance.

He was also mandated to be responsible for their education and health care among other needs.

Both were advised to maintain peace.